Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Bros on November 21, 2007, 02:23:44 AM

Title: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Bros on November 21, 2007, 02:23:44 AM
There have been found a major conflict with avast and comodo firewall 3 read more here:
http://forums.comodo.com/help_for_v3/bugreport_boottimestart_up_hang_when_using_avast_v3012_x32-t14876.0.html
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Cactusjack on November 24, 2007, 10:42:33 PM
 ???I install the new Comodo Firewall v3,but it"s going easy.
I have a other problem and that are the translation of the Firewall.
If i this Firewall must configurate then must i know what i am doing.
Yes you can running in the learning mode,but this are no what i prefer to do.
Are here somebody who knows how long time it cost before the Translation are ready of the new Comodo firewall.
I posted olso on the Forum of Comodo,but no one reacting.
Many Software are Englisch written,but whit a Firewall and technical terms must you becarefull.

I whas Lucky that i have 2 Comps and i saw the problems whitout translation,so i let me old Comodo running on 1 comp.(and 100% tanslated).
Have more people this problem???
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2007, 10:51:23 PM
Have more people this problem???
Everyone. The v3 is only in English (yet).
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Cactusjack on November 25, 2007, 10:13:27 AM
Have more people this problem???
Everyone. The v3 is only in English (yet).
Then comes Comodo to early whit this version.
If i see how Quickly NOD32 this Fixed whit a dutch translation and a-squared  dit it olso Quikly,then are Comodo on the wrong way.This product are not ready!!!!
And Avast users have more troubles then other marks.
I mean olso "The Bug Report".
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: skysecret on November 25, 2007, 11:46:38 AM
No conflict in XP . Comodo v3 is compatible with avast at my computer.

I guess vista os and comode V3 exit compatible problem.




Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Lisandro on November 25, 2007, 01:31:42 PM
This product are not ready!!!!
Although I'm a translator of avast, at on very early beginning I've offered myself to translate Comodo, I can't say a software is not ready just because it does not have internationalization.
It's translated by users for free. The product is free. Translate some softwares is a very time consuming operation. You should have more comprehension and patience. If you need help with Comodo, you can use their forum or technical email support and, also, have some patience. Free products and free support have some disadvantages.
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Rafel on November 25, 2007, 02:02:11 PM
Everybody know CFW have got a lot of bugs. When they will be fixed, it will be translated.
I've offered myself to translate to catalan, and with another boy to spanish of Spain.
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Lisandro on November 29, 2007, 11:11:02 PM
I've managed solving all problems with the staff of Comodo.
Wow... now I'm Comodo back again on Vista and XP (http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/8399/thumbsup4kk.gif)

My saga here (https://forums.comodo.com/bug_reports/network_driver_not_being_installed_solved-t15197.0.html;msg106619#msg106619).
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: nano0018 on November 30, 2007, 06:23:01 PM
No conflict in Windows XP . Comodo 3x is compatible with avast Home or Pro in another pc ;)
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: MikeBCda on November 30, 2007, 07:54:49 PM
No problems for me either, on XP.

The only quirk I've run into is -- whoops, two of them, both relating to avast:

There's two or three avast files (at least one of them a DLL, if I remember) that keep turning up in the "Pending Files" list.

And the Web Shield keeps showing up in the firewall log as blocked.  But it must be working properly, since the "scanned" count looks about right at any time. 

In both cases I typically find those after I've gone off-line, so I can't "submit" them for approval.  In the second case, too bad there wasn't a right-click context menu for the log so I could grant remembered permission right from there.

And in both cases they seem to be along the same lines as the "cosmetic" mouse-over problems in Comodo 2.4, look serious but don't actually affect anything improperly.

I think they changed too drastically from 2.4 when upgrading, and it (particularly the interface) seems a lot less user-friendly now, but hopefully everything's still working the way I want it to.  I've got both parts set for learn-in-safe mode, which is probably the best way to go.
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: crofty59 on December 01, 2007, 09:30:38 AM
Hi MikeBCda

I was just about to post the same as you have posted. ;D


Cheers Pete
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Cloussau on December 01, 2007, 10:26:52 AM
I guess vista os and comode V3 exit compatible problem.

have you found the hidden meaning of comode firewall  :o  ;D  In modern English use, the term has become a euphemism meaning toilet,
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Cactusjack on December 10, 2007, 04:19:49 PM
I have a few bugs in the new Comodo Firewall V3,and i let this know on the Comodo Forum.
Also about the translation and i get a few reactions.
I have Comodo V3 removed from me comp and very good cleaned.
So i install the version 2.4 and translated in Dutch.
But i Klick on "over" and what i see? The old version whit the data of the new one.
Now i ask,have i now a Safe Firewall? and how is it possible that i have the Old version running whit the new Data of Comodo V3 Firewall.
I did the same story on the the Comodo Forum (like i said) but i see in this case no reacting.
I have make a print of this.
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Rafel on December 10, 2007, 07:04:16 PM
Cactusjack:CFW isn't for win 2000 and still is not for Win 03, then if someone has got those OS, must use CFW 2.4.
CFW 2.4.185 is an updated version of the old 2.4 with an updated data.
Is still a safe FW. Don't worry.
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Rafel on December 10, 2007, 07:07:00 PM
I guess vista os and comode V3 exit compatible problem.

have you found the hidden meaning of comode firewall  :o  ;D  In modern English use, the term has become a euphemism meaning toilet,
And oA? what it means?? in modern english is crappy. ;)
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Lisandro on December 10, 2007, 09:09:56 PM
Cactus, messing two Comodo versions won't help for sure.
I suggest you keep the latest v3. But, if for any reason, you need to keep v2, do not update it ;)
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: Cactusjack on December 10, 2007, 10:58:17 PM
I left a print of the ComodoFirewall 2.4.185 in me post before this,en there you can see that the Firewall is running whit the Data of V3 but the print are removed.
And beside i use XPHome and XP Pro.
Before the update to the New Firewall going everything verrywell.
But then are there a message that a Update to version V3 are availeble.
And i take the new Firewall whit Bugs and no translation.
So i remove the New Firewall and did extreemly cleaning.
I use the link to the Comodo 2.4.185 but whit the wrong data,but it running fine.

I like now to know are these combination a danger for me 2 comps?
Thats all i want to know.
PS:I use Prevx2 and Prevx CSI and thats water and Fire,becouse bote use HIPS and the new Comodo too.
So you must change the settings,and Rednose on the Comodo Forum say me witch one.
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: polonus on December 10, 2007, 11:14:30 PM
Hi cactusjack,

Just upgraded to Comodo version 3.0 while the original Comodo version was still there (Win XP Home),
did not detect any upgrade problems. The trick here is that Comodo version 3 is much more strict and for some programs you have to allow install status else it alerts for every one and all dll's that are being changed during the process. As the firewall is set properly the absence of alerts is a comfort to the user. View active connections is a very welcome feature. I had a monitor program to do that that I had adopted to my personal likings using Resource Hacker, still use that to get a view of all my undergoing connections and save the logs for later inspection, like "Open Time, Close Time, Remote Address, Remote Hostname, Remote Port, Network Interface, Local Port, Service Type".
The only program that gave me some adjustments to make were the updates for Ad-Aware 2007, might to have to reinstall that to fit my new Comodo settings.

That's it basically,

polonus
Title: Re: Comodo firewall 3 conflicts
Post by: martosurf on December 11, 2007, 07:36:56 PM
If you're sure your PC is clean you can run Comodo 3 in Clean PC mode for a while and let the HIPS system meet your OS and applications and configure itself. Nevermind, activating some of the features set to off at install time could give extra protection.

I'm running avast! Pro latest (1098) and the only 'issue' I've found so far is those two or three files (avast.setup is one of them) that I can't add to My Own Safe files list -white list them- no matter what I do.

Also I would like to say I'm very pleased with this new version since is *much* lighter than previous 2.4 version and a *lot* more secure because it's new capabilities.