Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: webwiz on April 14, 2004, 08:21:55 PM

Title: Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: webwiz on April 14, 2004, 08:21:55 PM
??? Hi, I have had months of great trouble free use out of my PC thanks to Avast! Avast has worked efficiently and I have great confidence in it. However, within the last week I started receiving A red pop-up notice stating the auto update feature had failed due to an error.  The usual blue pop-up notice for a successfull update is not happening. ::)  So I then attempted to manually update but this doesn't work either. Actually nothing happens at all when I try to manually update. How do I fix this? If anyone can help I would be most gratefull.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Steele on April 14, 2004, 09:07:03 PM
How do you connect to the internet?
Have you checked one of the following options?

DSL?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Steele on April 14, 2004, 09:08:20 PM
Can you try updating within the settings window?
The server could just be unavailable...  ???
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: cjtc on April 15, 2004, 04:19:28 AM
Are you using any personal firewall software?

If so, are the IP addresses of the update servers in the allowed list, or are they being blocked?

From a DOS prompt, can you
ping download1.avast.com
ping download2.avast.com
ping download3.avast.com
ping download4.avast.com
ping download5.avast.com
ping download6.avast.com
ping download7.avast.com

Do you get any losses?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on April 15, 2004, 06:43:40 AM
Same problem here, and this is the second time it has happened.  All is well for months, then all of a sudden, no updates.

I have a cable modem, permanent connection.

No firewall software is running and I can ping the download sites from dos prompt.

I think the last time this happened I had to uninstall and reinstall avast.  I would like to avoid having to do that every 2 months.  Is there another solution?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: shgoh on April 15, 2004, 07:43:44 AM
are you guys using any proxies?...try checking that out...

from the update(basic) pic shown by steele above..go to details...this might help
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: jrukim on April 15, 2004, 12:09:48 PM
With a similar problem when booting the system. I have a cable connection and the last task on XP startup is a kind of a "shake hand" with ISP  that last 10 / 25 s.
Sometimes avast tries the update before the "shake hand"  has finished and a pop error connection to the server appears. However when, after that,   I try a manual update all will be ok.
Is there a way to increase the delay time to check for updates on startup ?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Vlk on April 15, 2004, 12:27:04 PM
jrukim, are you using the 'Always connected' setting? Try turning it off...

Vlk
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: shgoh on April 15, 2004, 12:38:23 PM
you can also try to configure the avast.ini file located at C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA

under the section [InetWD]

change the value of AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds...the default is 30 sec...maybe you can change it to 60 sec...

you might have to add it in if it's not there..

hope this helps
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: jrukim on April 15, 2004, 01:14:57 PM
shgoh:
Tks for your suggestion but on avast.ini I do not have the option "AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds". I only have : "UseRAS=0" and "AssumeAlwaysConnect=1".

I am trying now  the Vlk suggesting turning off the "Always connect" setting and see if it works ok

Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: shgoh on April 15, 2004, 01:18:23 PM
turning off "always connected" should work... ;)

but then another alternative is to add AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=60 or slightly more.. under the section [InetWD] in the avast.ini
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on April 15, 2004, 03:28:56 PM
Nothing has worked so far.  I cannot get into the proxy settings (nothing happens when I hit the button), but I never did anything to those settings anyway.

The last virus update was April 6th.  Since then I always get the red popup box saying that I could not connect.  All other internet applications are working fine, so my connection is good.  

Any more ideas?

Thanks.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: kubecj on April 16, 2004, 02:03:12 AM
If you can't get in proxy settings, it usually means that avast.setup process is already running. It shouldn't be, though.

Kill it, and try to update again. Do you have 4.1.357?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on April 16, 2004, 04:01:03 AM
Nothing has worked so far.

After all, if you need more information about the avast4.ini file, take a look here:
http://www.avast.com/forum/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=1647
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on April 16, 2004, 07:17:09 AM
There is no process listed that looks anything like avast setup... is there another name that it might be running under?  If not, then that is not the problem.

And yes, I'm running the latest version.

I would remove and reinstall, but I'd rather determine the underlying problem and have the solution made available here or at least make tech support aware of the problem so a bug-fix can be issued.

Are there any known conflicts with other software that could cause a problem like this one?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on April 17, 2004, 04:00:25 AM
Are there any known conflicts with other software that could cause a problem like this one?

Settings of:

1. Firewall
2. Proxy filter
3. Browser (scripts)

I bet on the first one...  ::)
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on April 17, 2004, 05:12:50 AM
As I already said, I'm not running a firewall.  No proxy either.  As far as browswer scripts, don't know.  Can you give me an example?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on April 19, 2004, 04:06:22 AM
In Internet Explorer:

Tools > Internet Options > Advanced
Did you change any setting there?

On the Security and Privacy tabs, are all well configurated?
Sorry, I'm not the best one to solve 'connection' troubles. I have one in the past but the majority of the times they were related to those 3 poits I've posted before.  :-\
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on April 19, 2004, 06:02:43 AM
Nope.  Didn't mess with those either.  As I said, one day it simply decided not to connect to the avast servers anymore.  This happened 2 times now, and both times I had to remove and reinstall avast to get it working again.  I sure don't understand it, but it sounds like a bug in avast to me (or a confict with other software).   All other internet applicaions including browser and email were working fine.  Oh, well.  I reinstalled so it is working now.  If it happens again, I'll post again.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: juttpunjabi on April 19, 2004, 05:22:01 PM
HI ALL;

THE UNREGISTERED PROGRAM WILL ONLY UPDATE FOR 60 DAYS.

HAVE YOU REGISTERED YOUR COPY OF AVAST?
HAVE YOU PUT IN THE SERIAL NUMBER EMAILED TO YOU?

 8)
JuttPunjabi.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on April 20, 2004, 04:12:09 AM
juttpunjabi, just a matter of 'protocol': please, avoid the CAPS... Seem you are yealing.
You're right, after 60 days, the user must register to update.  ;)
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on April 20, 2004, 05:43:19 AM
That's not it either.  I registered right away and put the registration code in each time that I reinstall.  Maybe that is the glich though.  Perhaps it is accepting the registration code but not removing the upgrade limitation.  60 days sounds about right for the frequency of this issue.  I'll know better if/when it happens again since I posted here shortly after the problem started.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Vlk on April 20, 2004, 08:14:10 AM
It's not the license (almost sure). You'd get an 'invalid license' dialog...

What you might try, though: try updating avast from the Control Panel. I.e. go to Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Change, and there select avast antivirus. Push the button and you'll see a window with a couple of choices in it - one of which is 'Update'. Try using this -- it may work...

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on April 20, 2004, 02:36:57 PM
 :)  Tried that too.  When it was not functioning properly, after selecting "change" no options were available.  It simply said that the software had been updated (or whatever) and that was it.  It didn't actually do anything.  There has to be a glich in this version of avast, because while this problem was ocurring, I couldn't access the proxy settings, the "change" feature in the setup utility, or the manual update features.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on April 20, 2004, 05:04:08 PM
:)  Tried that too.  When it was not functioning properly, after selecting "change" no options were available.  It simply said that the software had been updated (or whatever) and that was it.  It didn't actually do anything.  There has to be a glich in this version of avast, because while this problem was ocurring, I couldn't access the proxy settings, the "change" feature in the setup utility, or the manual update features.

If I'm not wrong, you cannot access the 'proxy settings' while using the setup utility (change, update, repair, etc.). You cannot reach it even you are manually updating the program/virus database. You must 'finish' or close the operation, go to proxy settings to change it and then start the operation again. Hope this help.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: webwiz on April 30, 2004, 12:23:04 PM
It's not the license (almost sure). You'd get an 'invalid license' dialog...

What you might try, though: try updating avast from the Control Panel. I.e. go to Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> Change, and there select avast antivirus. Push the button and you'll see a window with a couple of choices in it - one of which is 'Update'. Try using this -- it may work...

Thanks
Vlk

 :)Hi, I have been away for a few weeks and not able to check the forum or reply. However, I have read all the suggestions and tried the various remedies, but nothing works as yet.
My problem is alsmost identical to 'themadczar's problem, although I connect using a 56k modem and use Zone Alarm firewall software. I have used Zone Alarm from before installing Avast. My edition is the latest version and I cannot access proxy settings either, nor can I manually update.

However, this last suggestion gave me an interesting result. I accessed 'control panel' - 'Add/Remove Program' option and selected avast.
I received an error message, of which I have included a screenshot. Also there is no setup utility running that I can find.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: greenfire on April 30, 2004, 07:06:38 PM
Same problems here .. updates stopped on April 26, tried all the various suggestions so far.  There is no sign of activity when clicking the manual update buttons - no message window saying update took xx seconds to complete, etc.

program: 4.1.389  vps: 0418-0

When trying Add/Remove avast I get this error dialog box  "A setiface error has occurred:2 Try to reinstall or contact support, please"

And this is in the log file:

30.04.2004 12:31:11   BOX1\name   3332   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 00000002.  
30.04.2004 13:01:19   BOX1\name   1468   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 00000002.  
30.04.2004 13:01:23   BOX1\name   1468   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0x00000426, dwRes is 00000002.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on May 01, 2004, 12:32:47 AM
webwiz, did you really installed avast into that folder?
C:\Program~1\AlwilSof\Avast4
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: techie101returns on May 01, 2004, 06:21:06 AM
tmc,

The only time I have heard of a problem similarto yours is when the user had a previous antivirus installed which was not properly removed.

The error did not show itself until a particular buld of Avast was installed.,  Why this happened?  Never found out.

What OS are you using?  Depending on OS, you can do an Avast Repair instead of a compete install.

Review the Log Viewer contents by right clicking on the A ball in the tray.

Look over each category for errors.

Another file you can look at is the Avast setup log which you will find in the Avast Data folder.

Techie
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Raven1 on May 02, 2004, 12:19:18 AM
I just had the same problem w/updating. I fixed it by going to avast! Update(basic),  proxy settings,  check the auto 'use internet explorer defaults', hit the 'check connection' button, and update  again. Seems to have worked. Hope this helps. ::)
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: greenfire on May 02, 2004, 02:47:19 AM
When I click the proxy settings nothing happens, no pushed button image - no new dialog box.  Any option to update the connection settings/update vps or update the program itself just dont work.  But all the other options do. Very strange.  
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: greenfire on May 02, 2004, 04:45:21 AM
All fixed, dug around some in the forums and found the renaming *.ovr to *.dll fix - didn't work for me.  Had to do option #2 - reinstall of the newest version of the program .

Would still like to know why it happens though
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on May 03, 2004, 04:19:15 AM
When I click the proxy settings nothing happens, no pushed button image - no new dialog box.

This specific problems occurs when you try to access the proxy settings while you are updating... You can't do this at that time. Finish the manual update process to change the proxy settings. If you use a proxy filter, will be better if you manually fill that properties then use the 'automatic' detection.

Hope this help.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on June 18, 2004, 05:47:34 AM
Here we go again.  2 months after I last had this problem (I checked the dates of my last post about this), the auto update is failing again.  If there is no permanent solution to this problem, then I'm going to have to switch to a different antivirus software.  I'm not going to uninstall and reinstall Avast every 2 months to keep it working properly.  Anyone have any ideas for me here?  I am running XP pro, no firewall, and I haven't changed any settings recently.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on June 19, 2004, 12:22:59 AM
If there is no permanent solution to this problem, then I'm going to have to switch to a different antivirus software.

Well, for the majority of the users there isn't any trouble and you say that your is 'permanent'  ???

If you post more and try to describe your problem we will be here trying to help you...
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on June 19, 2004, 12:33:44 AM
OK.  Here is the problem.  Every 2 months (perhaps exactly 2 months) the update feature fails.  Cannot update automatically or manually.  So far, after trying everything suggested in response to my posts 2 months ago, the only thing that has fixed the problem is to remove and reinstall avast.  And that only seems to fix the problem until another 2 months go by.  What other information do you need?  I will tell you anything you want to know about my system or settings, but I don't know what you need to know.  I can tell you that this it is not related to my internet connection or connection settings.  The problem is something with avast itself or a conflict with another program (and as to the latter, there should not be any conflicts with existing software that manifest every 2 months until reinstalling avast.)
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: techie101returns on June 19, 2004, 04:43:02 AM
themadczar,

Would you please send me the Avast setup.log found in the Avast folder/Avast/Data.
Advise me of a date that your tried to update and it failed, or attempt an update prior to sending the log.

Also, look into the log viewer to see if any error message or critical error has been logged.

Send log via IM.  I will look it over.  I don't think anyone has asked to see it here yet.

Techie
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: themadczar on June 19, 2004, 05:12:25 AM
I would be glad to.  As a matter of fact, I just tried to do so.  Unfortunately, when I hit send, I get a "page cannot be displayed" message.  If you have another means or if the im begins working again, I'll get it to you.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Jazhawk on June 19, 2004, 03:02:03 PM
I'm having the same problem as you themadczar.  Recently I'm getting update errors all of a sudden.  Never had this problem before but now I do.  I've checked my settings as was suggested and found that neither dialup or perm connection was checked.  Not sure how it became unchecked but I checked perm connection this morning.  

I'll let you know if the problem goes away.

-Jazhawk
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: techie101returns on June 19, 2004, 04:42:00 PM
It is hard sometimes to pinpoint the cause of a problem.
In a computer, when one of those tiny bits and bytes gets lost or corrupted, things go awry.

At times, the best we can do to correct the situation is replace a file, or reinstall.

If a way can be found to reproduce the problem consistently then we can come up with some kind of long term fix.

I will do my best.  When more information is gained as to what might be causing the problem, the Avast Team will be informed, and hopefully a fix in the next version.

Techie
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Jazhawk on June 19, 2004, 04:45:36 PM
Techie

If it helps, the message I get says something about the server being down.  Seems it's been down for at least a week.  I'll see if I can get some better information and post it.

-Jazhawk
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: techie101returns on June 19, 2004, 04:58:59 PM
Jaz,

Server down message usually indicates that a connection between Avast and the Avast server could not be made.

This can be caused by a number of factors:
Server busy
Connection lost or interrupted
Connection blocked (Firewall or Proxy filter)
Setup file corrupted

If you are using a firewall or proxy filter,let me know.
Also, turn off all popup blockers and cookie filters.....then retry.

For those using Windows XP, remember that it has an internal firewall which can interfere (although it should not). Turn it off and retry.

Have you tried an Avast repair yet?
Is this the first time you noticed the problem?
Ever attempted a new install of Avast? (not that I am recommending it at this point.....just want to know)

Techie
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Jazhawk on June 19, 2004, 05:04:32 PM
Jaz,

Server down message usually indicates that a connection between Avast and the Avast server could not be made.

This can be caused by a number of factors:
Server busy
Connection lost or interrupted
Connection blocked (Firewall or Proxy filter)
Setup file corrupted

If you are using a firewall or proxy filter,let me know.
Also, turn off all popup blockers and cookie filters.....then retry.

For those using Windows XP, remember that it has an internal firewall which can interfere (although it should not). Turn it off and retry.

Have you tried an Avast repair yet?
Is this the first time you noticed the problem?
Ever attempted a new install of Avast? (not that I am recommending it at this point.....just want to know)

Techie

I have not tried Avast repair and yes it is the first time this has happened.

-Jazhawk
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: luigi on November 23, 2004, 10:51:47 PM
I have the same problem:

"Cannot connect to download11.avast.com:80" (the number varies). Never had this problem before but in the last 2 weeks it has always appeared.
However, i could update both the program and avs by right-clicking the avast ball on the systray.
I have cable modem and the "always on the net" option is unchecked.
I use Zone Alarm.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2004, 02:19:59 AM
Luigi, can you delay your automatic update with the value  AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=60 into avast4.ini file.

See 'Settings' on my signature.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: wewewe on November 24, 2004, 04:37:50 AM
hi, pls someone help me.
i cannot update my avast4 home.
even manual i also cannot update?
i have already re-install the program.
Even that, the program cannot update automatically.
there is a red box to tell me that there is a problem in the program.
what else can i do?
pls help.
thanks
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2004, 06:49:14 PM
i cannot update my avast4 home.
even manual i also cannot update?

Maybe your settings of:

1. Firewall
2. Proxy filter
3. Browser (scripts)

are blocking the update.
I bet on the first one...
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: wewewe on November 24, 2004, 07:08:18 PM
hi,
i dun think is my firewall,
cause i doesn't have a firewall.
Or isit the window Xp service pack 2 firewall?
How can i solve it, if it is the firewall?
Can u help me with it?
thanks alot
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2004, 07:45:52 PM
Or isit the window Xp service pack 2 firewall?

I don't think so...

Can u help me with it?

It's not easy as I can't immagine what is happening...
Can you browse, open a web page, send emails and you can't update avast, can't you? It's strange...
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: luigi on November 24, 2004, 10:37:20 PM
Hi,

Well, i cant find it, look:

http://web.interware.hu/admin1/avast4.ini
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Eddy on November 24, 2004, 10:48:11 PM
What is the exact error in Avast's log file?
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: luigi on November 24, 2004, 11:28:25 PM
http://web.interware.hu/admin1/avastlog.JPG
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: Eddy on November 24, 2004, 11:39:05 PM
There are multiple threads about "setiface", use the search option on htis board to find them. Let's see if one of them brings you a solution to the problem.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: luigi on November 24, 2004, 11:46:00 PM
I've tried repair fuction, we'll see.
Title: Re:Cannot Update Avast Automatically or Manually.
Post by: medport on November 25, 2004, 06:12:47 PM
It worked for me. Checked the No Proxy box. Unchecked the Use Internet Explorer defaults...in the settings/Update (Basic) window.
Thanks