Avast WEBforum

Other => General Topics => Topic started by: tuepi on May 11, 2009, 12:15:53 PM

Title: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: tuepi on May 11, 2009, 12:15:53 PM
I want to setup a network for all my computers. I looked up things in google but there not what I want.

Heres what I have.

A modem (or router?) in one bedroom which is connected to the wall in an internet cable plug with that computer. Then 4 Computers coming off it - 2 Vista, 2 xp. One with the router is XP.

All the guides were saying to plug in a cable which I don't have. --- But it's been set up before by default but Computers have been wiped and stuff and don't do that anymore. So I don't need a cable do I?


Title: Re: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: .: Mac :. on May 11, 2009, 05:50:19 PM
What kind of internet connection do you have? Cable, DSL, WiMax or Fiber? And is your current router acting as the modem for your internet service?
Title: Re: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: DavidR on May 11, 2009, 08:20:32 PM
You could check out this, http://www.computer-juice.com/forums/f47/tutorial-setup-wireless-network-15546/ (http://www.computer-juice.com/forums/f47/tutorial-setup-wireless-network-15546/) and http://www.onguardonline.gov/topics/wireless-security.aspx (http://www.onguardonline.gov/topics/wireless-security.aspx).
Title: Re: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: bob3160 on May 12, 2009, 12:32:26 AM
I've been using Network Magic for a few years. The pro version isn't free but it's worked for me.
More information available at:
http://www.purenetworks.com/product/essentials.php (http://www.purenetworks.com/product/essentials.php)
Title: Re: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: tuepi on May 12, 2009, 07:10:23 AM
I have an ADSL connection

What kind of internet connection do you have? Cable, DSL, WiMax or Fiber? And is your current router acting as the modem for your internet service?

And whats the difference between a modem and a router? =o. Nevermind Looked it up. It acts as both I guess - It's connected to the wall and we get the internet.

Thanks for the program bob. But i'd rather have it last forever =P

David - If mine acts as both is there anything I need to do with connecting the modem to the router?
Title: Re: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: FreewheelinFrank on May 12, 2009, 12:05:38 PM
If you have a modem, you will need to plug one computer into it then share that connection via that computer.

If you have a router, all your computers will connect via that router, either wired or wireless, and the router will either plug into the modem, or it will have a built-in modem.

From what you describe I think you have an ADSL modem router.

If you have cables, you need to connect each computer to the router.

If any of the computers has a wireless card, you will be able to connect wirelessly if the router is a wireless router.
Title: Re: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: YoKenny on May 12, 2009, 12:17:39 PM
Husk, who manufactures the modem and what is is its model no.?
Title: Re: How can I set up a wireless network?
Post by: DavidR on May 12, 2009, 04:08:02 PM
<snip>
David - If mine acts as both is there anything I need to do with connecting the modem to the router?

It doesn't matter if they do both or not, what is important is if it clearly states that the hardware firewall provides outbound protection (most don't) or you need to make provisions to protect against unauthorised outbound connections.

The XP firewall provides zero outbound protection, so you would need a third party firewall.

The Vista firewall does but is disabled by default. You could also enable the outbound protection of the Vista firewall, but it isn't very friendly, is rule based and you have to create the rules. - Vista Firewall Control, check out this topic for some user friendly help for the Vista Firewall, Outbound protection, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=30234.0 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=30234.0)