Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Vlk on May 31, 2004, 09:32:35 AM

Title: Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on May 31, 2004, 09:32:35 AM
Hi all,

we're looking for users of AMD64 (Athlon64 or Opteron) machines. Are there any? Preferably with Windows XP loaded. We'd like to test something.


:)

Thanks!

Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Emdis on May 31, 2004, 08:48:52 PM
I am one of them ! (AMD 64 3000) By the way I'm using Win XP home. Let me know if I can help ;)
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on May 31, 2004, 09:12:13 PM
Is this English or French version of Windows XP Home?

The thing is, we'd need to do some tests with WinXP SP2 (now in the release-candidate phase) running under AMD64... :-\

I don't know if you'd be willing to download/install it (it's unsupported by Microsoft). Here's more info: www.microsoft.com/SP2Preview . It's not available in French.


Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Emdis on May 31, 2004, 09:18:42 PM
I use the french version as this version was pre-installed when I bought my computer (it's a laptop).
Don't worry about the language, it's not a problem at all, I will read a little bit about possible annoyances with the SP2 and let you know if I install it or not.

Regards ;)
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on May 31, 2004, 09:20:27 PM
Well I think it won't install on French Windows anyway (but I may be wrong)...

BTW it's a notebook? :o How much does it weight??


Anyway thanks a lot for your help.
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Emdis on May 31, 2004, 09:54:54 PM
It's weights around 3.7 kgs, not very light unfortunately but that's not that bad.

I think that as you said it's not possible to install the english sp2 on my win xp :( , nevertheless I'm gonna download it and give it a try.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: .: Mac :. on June 01, 2004, 07:53:41 AM
Vlk What do you need to test? (Just Curious)


Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 01, 2004, 08:05:54 AM
Well current version of avast AFAIK doesn't work under XPSP2+AMD64. We've done some changes and need to test them now...
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: .: Mac :. on June 01, 2004, 08:08:00 AM
Oh Well Good Luck My Processor is Athalon XP not 64  :( :-[
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: JL on June 01, 2004, 06:19:27 PM
I have  an AMD 64 FX-51 w/ XP pro sp2. I'd be willing to help ya'll out. Gotta get a few files figured out first.... damn trojans. Least I could do after the help I've recieved here.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 01, 2004, 07:20:31 PM
JL you have such a config? Your help would be very welcome then!

BTW do you have avast isntalled now? Does it work (I doubt it  ;)).

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: JL on June 01, 2004, 07:23:32 PM
Yes, I have that config. Yes, I have avast installed. Not sure if it works right....lol
I'll reply again soon as I get this @$%# fixed.......lol
Then I'll be happy to help  ;D
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 01, 2004, 07:26:32 PM
Just a quick question: do you have the /NOEXECUTE parameter set in \boot.ini? SP2 setup (at least the latest version of SP2) sets this flag...

I'm 99% confident that with this flag set (which should be the default), avast won't work -- namely, will return error 42003 ("Internal Program Error") for each and every tested file... (I'm not sure if that would also apply to the boot-time scan).


Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: JL on June 01, 2004, 08:33:17 PM
How do I go about that?
I know little about those sort of things. Been out of computing for about 4 yrs and never really understood those things to begin with.
Sorry... I'm just a dumb carpenter, but I learn.....eventually......lol.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 01, 2004, 10:03:31 PM
No problem, I'll try to rephrase it a bit. ;)

Can you start Notepad and open the file "C:\boot.ini" and paste its contents here...?

The file may not be "visible" by default but if you just type C:\boot.ini in the Open File dialog, it should open fine...

Thanks a lot for your help,
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Lisandro on June 03, 2004, 05:21:47 AM
Vlk, just a suggestion: make this thread 'sticky' for a while...
Forum activity is sending it to bottom  ;)

Btw, I don't have an AMD64  :'(
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: .: Mac :. on June 03, 2004, 06:08:55 AM
Quote
I don't have an AMD64
What do you have then? P4 3.0 Ghz?
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Lisandro on June 03, 2004, 03:54:00 PM
Almost there: P4 2.8 Ghz  :)
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 04, 2004, 04:38:27 PM
Unfortunately, it seems that JL gave up so we're still looking for someone... Anyone?

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: JL on June 05, 2004, 01:13:27 AM
Nope I'm here. was down a couple days......my problem is solved but my connection gets fixed tomorrow morning. Whew.... been a pain in the arse.
So what can I do for ya Vlk?
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 05, 2004, 10:41:06 AM
Hi JL, I'm glad your back. :)
To start, I'd need you to do what I described in one of my previous posts -- http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=4834;start=msg35099#msg35099 (the one at the bottom).


Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 05, 2004, 07:23:38 PM
Allright, let's try once more. :) What I'd like you to do is:

Start Notepad and open the file "C:\boot.ini" in it; then copy its contents and paste its here, on the forum. I hope its clear now.

A glitch: The file may not be "visible" by default but if you just type C:\boot.ini in the Open File dialog (in Notepad), it should open fine...

:)

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: JL on June 06, 2004, 10:30:15 AM
[boot loader]
timeout=3
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect


that what ya want? that is all my boot .ini  shows
Sorry I'm tech illiterate....lol
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 06, 2004, 10:44:04 AM
And you're positive that it's a AMD64 machine, right?
(Windows should say so if you go to Control Panel -> System, on the first page ("General") -- the "Computer section)

And you really do have WinXP Sp2, right? Can you post a screenshot of that window? I've attached mine...


Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Nomadin on June 11, 2004, 07:11:35 PM
You have another one here.  

AMD FX-51 with Windows XP-SP1 at the moment.  My XP is the US English version.  I have the RC of SP2 downloaded, but I was lining up all of my utilities since the last time I tried this SP it killed NOD32.  I actually came here looking for an alternative to NOD 32 that will work with the new service pack and be more cost effective.

When I get home from work,  I will uninstall NOD32 and then install SP2.   After that I will install the current version of Avast and let you know what happens.  

It seems to me that I did try this when RC1 of SP2 came out and I received errors.  I know I tried a couple of alternative AV program, but I am not 100% certain that Avast was one of them.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 11, 2004, 09:39:30 PM
Oh, excellent. Thanks for your help.

The latest version (4.1.412) contains special handling of the AMD/XPSP2 scenario but as I said, it hasn't been tested. Therefore I really apreciate your offer.

Thanks again
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Nomadin on June 11, 2004, 11:51:05 PM
We have lift-off!  Everything went without a single problem!  My version shows 4.1.412 and I have scanned the full computer!

I will continue to play around and let you know if I encounter any problems.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 12, 2004, 12:20:15 AM
And do you have the /noexecute option set in boot.ini?

Also, is the "DEP" turned on for all programs (to find out follow the procedure depicted here: http://www.zive.cz/Files/Obrazky/2004/6/computex/transmeta10.jpg )

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Nomadin on June 12, 2004, 02:21:43 AM
I hope this preview works the way I hope:

Try this...

(http://home.woh.rr.com/jashome/images/shot.jpg)
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 12, 2004, 11:24:03 AM
Super! Thanks a lot! Seems promising.

I wonder if an older version of avast (prior to 412) would work on your machine. But I doubt it -- I have seen them not workin'.

I'm slightly afraid to ask but anyway -- maybe you'll be in the right mood one day -- but it'd be extremely helpful if you could try the previous version on your machine and verified that it really did not work. Then update to 412 and re-verify that it does work.


The symptom of the malfunction should be as follows: you start avast, select any folder to scan (or entire disk) and when the results window appears, you should see ALL files flagged as "Unable To Scan: Internal Program Error."

Version 396 can be downloaded here: http://www2.asw.cz/~vlk/setupeng.exe .


Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Nomadin on June 12, 2004, 11:45:23 AM
I am afraid that I missed the problem after the first scan.   :(

I noticed an error, but I thought that it was system files that were in use.  Not an unusual problem during a scan.  I just re-ran the scan and received the error on ALL files.   :'(

Every file gives me an: "Unable To Scan: Internal Program Error."

Sorry I did not catch it on my initial run.  That was very careless of me.  NOD32 actual gave really nasty errors on reboot and that is more what I thought would happen with Avast.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 12, 2004, 12:12:12 PM
OK, thanks... ;)
I think I'll need to get an AMD64 machine anyway. The Athlon64FX's seem to be out of stock here but the regular 64's will do fine as well... (they're not as fast as P4's but playing with Win64 will be fun).

Thanks for your help!
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Nomadin on June 13, 2004, 01:59:28 PM
I rolled back to SP1 and now everything seems fine.  This is one of those really annoying troubleshooting tasks.  Good luck!
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: RICHIERICH on June 27, 2004, 04:12:02 AM
AMD 64 3400+ here as well...I have both xp pro and windows 64 bit xp loaded on it.

But I do not have Avast installed on either in case that is a prerequisite.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on June 27, 2004, 12:03:55 PM
Do you have SP2 (beta/rc) installed on the 32-bit XP machine?
Anyway I believe I should be geting my own AMD64 machine during the next week so your help will no longer be necessary.

Anyway thanks a lot for your help. ;)
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: esteckis on July 15, 2004, 03:33:46 AM
Yes I have an AMD 3000 64 bit on my e-machines laptop and am running XPSP1. I am currently using your Avast with no problem.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: william1066 on July 19, 2004, 05:17:33 PM
I am running an AMD 64 with XP.
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on July 19, 2004, 10:30:11 PM
XP SP2? We only need SP2 users...

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: phillybass on July 21, 2004, 10:54:52 PM
i'm using and 3000+ with windows xp home in english
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Tieros on July 25, 2004, 05:50:17 AM
I have an Athlon64 3500+ (socket 939), running WindowsXP SP2 RC2, and I'm running Avast Pro!

My boot loader does have the /noexecute flag, and DEP is enabled.

I just tried running a boot-time scan, and every file returns a 41200 error.

I then loaded Antivirus, selected c:\windows, and tried to scan. Every file returns the internal error you mentioned.

Are there any other tests/configurations you would like me to run?
Title: Re:Looking for AMD64 users
Post by: Vlk on July 29, 2004, 02:05:39 PM
Thanks. I now have an AMD64 machine too so I probably won't be needing any help anymore.

Thanks a lot anyway. Really apreciate it. ;)