Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Gene Johnson on June 02, 2004, 11:59:56 AM

Title: ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 02, 2004, 11:59:56 AM
After installing Avast!4 Build 4.1.396, ashServ has been running continuously at 20% CPU usage. When I turn off VRDB the usage stops. I know VRDG is to back up files, but this has been going on for several days now. Do I need to reinstall or is this normal? I just ran HouseCall and I show no virus problem. I also have ZoneAlarm, Ad-aware6.0, Spybot and Spyguard.  I uninstalled my PC-cillin before loading Avast!. Thanks for your assistance.

          Windows XP
          CPU Intel 1.8GHz
          Ram 256MB
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: DavidR on June 02, 2004, 02:12:47 PM
Hi Gene and welcome to the forums,

There are different ways to generate the VRDB, at idle, at screensaver and now. For some reason something is slowing down the scan it should only take a few minutes.

I would suggest that you close down all programs that you don't need (Spybot and Spyguard may have an effect, you could temp disable them) and select generate VDRB now.

Right click the i (VRDB) icon and select 'Generate VRDB Now!'

Let me know how you get on.

David
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 02, 2004, 04:20:13 PM
David:

If I disable VRDB generation and then click "Generate  VRDB Now", it runs for a minute or two at 50% usage and the drops off to idle. If I allow generate at idle and click "Generate VRDB Now", it runs at 50% for a minute or so then drops back to running at about 20% continuously.

What is the file name of the VRDB so I can check what is there?

I appreciate your assistance.

Gene
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: DavidR on June 02, 2004, 05:16:13 PM
Quote
What is the file name of the VRDB so I can check what is there?
I have no idea what the file name might be, but to check it out follow the information below.

If you right click the avast icon and select the, 'Start avast! Antivirus.'

When the simple user interface is displayed, you should be able to see Virus Recovery database (VRDB) and the date and time when it was last run. If you can see that it hasn't been run sucessfully or completed. If there is no date then you need to 'Generate VRDB Now.'

By default after you have run it once, it doesn't run for 21 days and then only according to the selection you made, 'Generate VDRB when computer is idle' would be your best bet.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 02, 2004, 07:01:10 PM
According to the Simple User Interface:
          Date of last scan: Not done yet
          Virus recovery database(VRDB): Not done yet

Since I have done both several times, I must assume I have a download error. Unless someone has a better idea I am going to:
          Uninstall Avast!4
          Disable my security programs temporarily
          Reinstall Avast!4
          Re-enable security programs



 
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: DavidR on June 02, 2004, 07:24:30 PM
That won't hurt, I ran a generate VRDB now and without doing anything other than minimising all windows, it took 5 minutes where ashserv was at between 33-57% and when complete back to zero.

For some reason something is slowing/stopping your generation.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: MikeBCda on June 02, 2004, 07:26:17 PM
Keep in mind, with regard to the scan date, that that only gets updated when you've run a "local drives" scan.  If you scan using "folders", the scan-date doesn't get updated even if you've selected the whole C (or whichever) drive.

Maybe that's something the Alwil team could look into for future versions, getting avast to treat a "folders" scan for the entire drive the same as a "local drives" scan.

Best,
Mike
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Lisandro on June 02, 2004, 08:59:26 PM
What is the file name of the VRDB so I can check what is there?

Gene, if I'm not wrong, probably, C:\Program files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Data\Avast4.mdb
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Lisandro on June 02, 2004, 09:01:34 PM
The scan-date doesn't get updated even if you've selected the whole C (or whichever) drive.

Mike, I'm not that sure, for me scanning the entire drive is the same as a "local drives" scan and the date is updated  :-\
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 02, 2004, 10:33:01 PM
Technical:

I found the Avast4.mdb file. It shows file was modified today and is 208Kb, but I don't know what program to use to open an .mdb file. Thanks to all in this thread, I am enjopying learning how to control my destiny on my computer. Keeping this puppy safe and clean is not easy and takes time, but appears to be worth the effort.

Gene
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: DavidR on June 02, 2004, 11:41:16 PM
Technical:

I found the Avast4.mdb file. It shows file was modified today and is 208Kb, but I don't know what program to use to open an .mdb file.

Gene

The mdb file is not a file that you would want to open, it is not a regular file where you can view text, it looks like it is a compiled/machine code file that you wouldn't want to corrupt.

David
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Lisandro on June 03, 2004, 12:46:26 AM
I don't know what program to use to open an .mdb file.

As David said, you may not have to open it but, if you really want, Microcrosf Access will do the job (mdb = microsoft database).
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 03, 2004, 06:18:58 AM
Well folks: I uninstalled and reinstalled Avast!4 Home and I still have the same problem as originally stated. AshServ runs at about 20% anytime the machine is idle. If I disable VRDB generation it stops. The simple Interface Screen still says
      Date of last scan: Not done yet
      Virus recovery database: Not done yet

I get a pop-up after completing a scan:
      Scan completed with error
      3=The system cannot find the path specified

Is there a solution to this problem, or do I need to get my security elsewhere.

Gene
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: .: Mac :. on June 03, 2004, 06:47:34 AM
Gene Im sure you will get a soultion as soon as the avast programmers see this. I will notify them.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: .: Mac :. on June 03, 2004, 06:49:26 AM
I sent a message to igor for you.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: igor on June 03, 2004, 10:06:48 AM
OK, a little clarification:
1. The VRDB data are stored in <avast>\Data\Integ\avast.int
2. One minute to (re)generate the VRDB seems to be way too short for me - after all, it has to check all the executable files on your harddisk.
3. You can check the <avast>\Data\avast4.ini file. In the [VRBD] section, there is the LastFile item during the VRDB generation; it's the last file processed during the hard disk sweep.

Quote
I get a pop-up after completing a scan:
Scan completed with error
3=The system cannot find the path specified

Do you have some kind of unformatted (or inaccessible) partition in your system?
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Henny on June 03, 2004, 12:22:39 PM
Hi,

Well, I have about the same problem here. I have Avast Home installed on 3 computers, but the only one running Win XP gets incredibly slow when Avast is doing his thing. Don't exactly know what it's doing, but the A-icon in the systemtray is spinning. Well, 'spinning' is a big word....it very slowly turns the A around in fractions of millimeters at a time. This takes about 3 to 6 minuts I guess, before it is finally done.

During those 3 to 6 minuts, I can't do anything with my computer. It is SO incredibly slow. Keyboard and mouse do respond, but very slowly too. I can type a couple of lines before I can see the characters appear on the screen. Some programs even generate "not responding" errors, which I ignore, because I know when Avast is done doing what he does, everything will turn back to normal.

Well, to make a long story short....it's beginning to annoy me.
Is there some way to fix this problem? Does it have something to do with Windows XP perhaps?
My computer is a P4 2Ghz with 1GB of memory.

Apart from this little problem, I just love avast and recomment it to anyone I know.

Thanks in advance for the advice.
Henny
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: igor on June 03, 2004, 01:29:02 PM
It doesn't sound like the same problem - the "a"-icon is not VRDB-related, it's just avast! scanning.
What exactly are your settings of the Standard Shield resident provider?
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Lisandro on June 03, 2004, 03:57:15 PM
Hello, Henny, like Igor said, your problem does not seem to be related to VRDB.

I can make a guess:
Did you install any other antivirus in your computer?
Do you use a firewall? Which one?

Wellcome to forums  ;)
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Henny on June 03, 2004, 05:36:51 PM
True, it's probably not a VRDB error, but I was refering to the topic header "ashServ.exe problem" and the fact that it uses up way to much CPU time/power. Sorry for the confiusion.

My settings of the Standard Shield resident provider are...basicly the way Avast installed itself. I didn't customize it in any way. Only checked the 'protect any emailaccount I will create in the future' box while installing.
Sensitivity is high. Anything else you want to know?

I have no other antivirus products installed. The one in the BIOS is switched off too. I use Sygate Personal Firewall. Settings of Avast and Sygate are all the same on all three computers. Only the XP computer has this problem.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 03, 2004, 06:15:26 PM
igor: I have no unformatted sector on my hard drive. The avast.int shows a 5MB file that was created when I downloaded/installed and updated an hour later. I cannot (conveniently) open/read it.

Everything seems to be running normal. Speed is fine. If I let VRDB run in the background nothing bad happens that I can see, it just takes up 20% CPU usage continuously. All security checks show no problems and I can find nothing out of the ordinary (with my limited knowledge) when I read the HijackThis log.

I have SBC DSL and problem occurs whether I am connected or not.

I appreciate the assistance, Gene
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 03, 2004, 07:04:05 PM
Igor: I checked the LastFile checked. It was dsdmo.dll, the Direct Sound Effects file in sys32. Gene
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Henny on June 03, 2004, 07:48:12 PM
You know what? I'll post my problem in a new post.
I don't want to take over Gene's topic. :)

edit: Done!
My problem resumes here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=4897

Goodluck Gene. I hope your problem will be solved soon as well :)
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 04, 2004, 08:59:13 AM
Can anyone tell me what
          Scan completed with error
          3=the system cannot find the path specified
means. It pops up every time I do a scan.

I printed out: Understanding avast4.ini file posted by Technical to check/adjust settings and noticed my file is different. Several items like:PopListen, SmtpListen, etc. are not in my file. Are you quoting a different version than avast4 Home?

Each time I generate a VRDB it stops at a different file, although always somewhere in system32.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: igor on June 04, 2004, 09:50:08 AM
Gene, I fixed a bug that may cause this "system cannot find the path specified" a few days ago. However, I would like to know what is the cause on your system... can you please post a description of all the partitions ("letters") you have on your system? I mean, something like:
A: diskette
C: local disk partition, system drive, NTFS
D: local disk partition, NTFS
E: CD-ROM
F: ZIP
...

Additionally, go to the program settings and turn on the creation of the Report file, please. Configure it to include "Hard errors, Soft errors and Skipped files" and run the scan again. When it's done, you can attach the report file here... it should tell us what object caused the problem...
Thanks!
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Gene Johnson on June 05, 2004, 01:08:55 AM
Igor: Thanks to your clues I have found a phantom E: disk drive. According to MY Computer I have 2 disk drives (C: and E:). According to Device Manager I only have 1 disk drive (C:). When I scan C: it scans fine. When I scan E: I get the "scan completed with error" message. I am working at another forum to try to get rid of the phantom drive. I hope this will solve problem. More to come......

Gene
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: Lisandro on June 05, 2004, 03:58:34 AM
Gene, happy that you are near of a solution...

Just to explain that my study about the avast4.ini file:

Not all the configurations are by default, you can add the lines of specific configurations.

You can add the settings for both Home and Professional version without any trouble. If you have Home, maybe some Professional features won't be activated but, after all, you won't harm your installation.

I'll post this information in that forum too as other users asked for it.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: igor on June 07, 2004, 10:04:54 AM
According to MY Computer I have 2 disk drives (C: and E:). According to Device Manager I only have 1 disk drive (C:). When I scan C: it scans fine. When I scan E: I get the "scan completed with error" message.

In the current version of avast!, there is a small bug regarding the error message. However, in the upcoming update the problem will be fixed - so it will be possible to avoid the error message by putting the whole partition into avast's list of exclutions (as E:). I know you probably don't want to have this partition at all, but there are some people experiencing the same problem e.g. with unformatted partitions they want to keep for some reason.
Title: Re:ashServ.exe problem
Post by: big_gie on June 08, 2004, 02:47:39 PM
I have the same "ashServ.exe CPU = 20%" problem...
In the simple interface, I get "last scan: never" and "last vpdb: never" but I scan my computer each 12AM and 12PM everyday...

I changed VRDB to "when screensaver" (it was "when idle") and it seems normal for now, maybe until the screen saver runs... :P

Also, I don't have a screensaver, only a "screen shutdown" after 10 minutes. Will VRDB run?

thanx