Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 02:35:06 AM

Title: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 02:35:06 AM
Hello....Although I am active on some candle message boards, this is my first time here and I need help!!!    My problem is:  There's a red circle on the avast! a-ball icon in my system tray and when I click on it, the error message appears saying "the AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error".  I followed through on the Help screen and everything seems in order pertaining to the RPC....any suggestions? ???

Thank you in advance.

Kathleen
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: CharleyO on November 09, 2009, 03:12:37 AM
***

Welcome to the forums, ktm.   :)

What anti-virus did you use on your computer before avast?

How did your remove the old anti-virus?


***
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 03:18:26 AM
Hello and thank you for responding.... 

My former Anti Virus software was CA Internet Security.  It was uninstalled on my computer when Avast was put on.

KTM
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: CharleyO on November 09, 2009, 03:28:51 AM
***

Yes, I know you removed it but how was it removed?

I ask this because what you are experiencing is usually the results of the remains of an old av. If you removed it with Add/remove Programs only, that is not enough. You will need to use a removal program from CA for complete removal.

Try using the CA download link at the site below. Scroll down the page until you come to CA and then click the download link just below the CA icon.
Be sure follow directions at the download site.

http://www.askvg.com/ultimate-collection-of-uninstallers-removal-tools-for-all-popular-anti-virus-software/


***
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 03:40:18 AM
I just read exactly what you said on another post about having the remains of a previous av on the computer and that it can create problems....so, I will do as you suggested and go to the site recommended..... and see what happens from there.  Thank you CharleyO 

I may be back............lol   Only kidding, I will be back because I have learned so much since signing on to this forum.  Thank you again
KTM
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 03:50:46 AM
See I'm back already..... ;)   I have another question....on the Collection of Uninstaller website it states the following: Just run the uninstaller's EXE file and follow the instructions. Restart your system and you are ready to install your new anti-virus software

So, does this mean that I will have to uninstall Avast prior to running the CA uninstall file or can I leave Avast as is and run the uninstall file?

KTM
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: CharleyO on November 09, 2009, 03:52:39 AM
***

Yes, please come back as you will also need to do a repair of avast once you have used the CA removal tool.

To repair avast :

Control panel > Add/remove programs > click once on avast to select it > click on Change/Remove > scroll down the left pane and click on repair > click OK> follow directions


***
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 04:11:48 AM

Hello,
I went as far as loading the program to uninstall CA on my computer and then when I went to open the file it stated that I would have to authorize a CA support team person to gain control of my computer through remote access in order to resolve this issue.... I can't say that I am comfortable with this, so I cancelled out of the program....  Is there no other program that I can use without having to give someone remote access?

KTM
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 09, 2009, 04:52:34 AM
I downloaded the CA uninstaller and tried it myself, and yes, what you say is correct (as you know), it offers to have a CA tech take remote control of your PC.
I understand your reservation. I'd have a reservation myself, though it probably is quite kosher and OK.
(You just don't want a stranger, no matter how professional, going through your computer settings, do you?)
Anyway, it's up to you if you want to do that, there are a few things we can try first.

I'd try the Avira registry cleaner. The 7th tool here. (http://www.avira.com/en/support/support_downloads.html)
download it to your desktop, extract all contents to the desktop. (You'll need to use a zip program. You probably have a version of Winzip installed, which will unzip the contents of the folder for you.)

Once all are extracted, double-click the file shaped like a red and white umbrella. Select "configuration", and un-tick the HKEY-current user" box.
Then click "scan for keys". It will take a minute or two.
There are likely to be 6 entries found for Avast. (don't touch those.)
If any are found for any other AV, please post the result here (there is no easy way to copy and paste the result, sorry, you'll have to type it out), or take a screenshot and post that, please.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 09, 2009, 04:57:19 AM
BTW, there are other steps can be taken if this one doesn't do the job.
Might just take a little longer. ;)
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: CharleyO on November 09, 2009, 05:48:40 AM
***

Hi ktm -

Sorry about the CA uninstall link I gave. I had no idea about the CA support team person needing to gain control of my computer through remote access.   :(


Thanks for the additional help, Tarq.   :)


***
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 05:49:12 AM
Hello,

Thank you for your comments and suggestions.  I will look a bit more into this tomorrow night and will come back and let you know the results....  This really is an amazing board, I have learned so much tonight just reading all the different posts...thanks again for your help.

KTM
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 05:53:09 AM
Hello CharleyO...  That's fine....I'm sure that there are some individuals out there that may not have a problem using that site, but I guess I'm a bit cautious....sometimes to a fault!!!   LOL

KTM

Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 09, 2009, 05:58:49 AM
Not necessarily a bad thing.
'Specially with 'pooters.
Glad you got my pm.  ;)
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 09, 2009, 06:06:19 AM
Yes I did, and thank you...I am definitely a newbie!!

I'm actually anxious to work on my computer tomorrow night and see if I can get this resolved...until then, goodnight.
KTM
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 02:50:36 AM
Hello Tarq,

I downloaded the Avira registry cleaner and the entries shown below were displayed after I opened the red and white umbrella shaped file.  I have not done anything as of yet.....waiting your instructions!!! :)  I noticed that I did not have 6 entries for Avast, but the entry below each Avast entry looked like it was associated with the Avast entry, but whatever that is worth...I really have no clue, only guessing here.  Not sure about the first entry....could that be another antivirus program?

HKEY_Local_Machine\software\classes\cybdefcom.officeantivirus
HKEY_Local_Machine\system\controlset001\services\avast! antivirus
HKEY_Local_Machine\system\controlset001\services\eventlog\antivirus
HKey_Local_Machine\system\controlset002\services\avast! antivirus
HKEY_Local_Machine\system\controlset002\services\eventlog\antivirus
HKey_Local_Machine\system\controlset003\services\avast! antivirus
HKEY_Local_Machine\system\controlset003\services\eventlog\antivirus
HKEY_Local_Machine\system\currentcontrolset\services\avast! antivirus
HKEY_Local_Machine\system\currentcontrolset\services\eventlog\antivirus

KTM....(No, this is not another entry on my computer!!! LOL)
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 03:19:58 AM
The only one of those that looks like it should not be there is No. 1, cybdefcom.officeantivirus.
This is quite possibly the reason for the problem.
Do you recall ever having installed CyberDefender abtivirus (or internet security)? Or anything from CyberDefender?

Please look in you control panel>add/remove programs to see if such a beast is installed. While you're in there, see if CA Antivirus has an entry. (Do you still have the installer file for that?)
Also please look and see if there is an entry for "MyIdentityDefender Toolbar".

Do nothing else, right now.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: DavidR on November 10, 2009, 03:31:10 AM
This one as far as I'm aware has nothing to do with avast:
HKEY_Local_Machine\software\classes\cybdefcom.officeantivirus

This one I'm guessing is Cyber Defender, which is confirmed by this google searches, http://www.google.com/search?q=cybdefcom.officeantivirus (http://www.google.com/search?q=cybdefcom.officeantivirus) and http://www.google.com/search?q=CyberDefender (http://www.google.com/search?q=CyberDefender). Which doesn't get a good ranking by WOT http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/cyberdefender.com (http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/cyberdefender.com) and http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/03/cyberdefender-want-your-money-back.html (http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/03/cyberdefender-want-your-money-back.html) but they may have cleaned up their act, http://blog.stopbadware.org/2009/04/17/cyberdefender-removed-from-active-alerts-list (http://blog.stopbadware.org/2009/04/17/cyberdefender-removed-from-active-alerts-list).

However, check and see it has been uninstalled in add remove programs and the entry should be removed using the avira registry cleaner...

The others of which there are only two avast entries, but they are replicated across the current user and other controlsets, which is normal.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 03:45:59 AM
Hi...

I just checked and there is nothing in the add/remove programs for Cyber Defender or My Identity Defender Toolbar.   There is Norton Ghost though.  Will the Norton Ghost interfere with avast?

My husband just reminded me that the CA Antivirus was on my old computer and we never put it on this computer, which is fairly new.  Well, that would explain why there is nothing for CA on this computer....  sorry about that!
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 03:49:05 AM
OK, cool.
Run the Avira reg cleaner again, same as before, and this time tick only that first entry, then have the cleaner remove it.
Reboot.
Do you still have the RPC error?
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 03:50:22 AM
PS, Norton Ghost should be OK, provided that's the only Norton program installed. (Check in "add/remove programs" for any other Norton/Symantec programs.)
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 04:01:20 AM
I only see Norton Ghose in the add/remove programs.

I have not run Avira at all yet because I thought you wanted me to inform you of what was displayed in the "umbrella like" file first....so, yes I still am getting the RPC error.

I will run it now, but tick only the first entry.  OK?
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 04:04:33 AM
Yes, run it, exactly the same as before, but this time clean that one entry.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 04:08:57 AM
Ok, maybe I'm confused here....when I opend the "umbrella like" file tonight the entries I previously typed came onto the screen.  All the entries listed that did not have avast antivirus in the entry were already ticked off.  So, are you saying that now I just tick off the first entry and then what...?  The tabs at the bottom of the screen say:  Configuration, Clear List, Delete and Exit.

By the way, thank you for your patience.....
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 04:29:09 AM
Make sure all the entries do not have a tick in them, except that first one titled
HKEY_Local_Machine\software\classes\cybdefcom.officeantivirus.
Tick the box beside that one.
Then press the "delete" button. Close the Avira application, (and any other open programs) and reboot.

Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 04:44:18 AM
Ok....  Just was not sure if I should be using the delete, but I will try it now and reboot.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 04:54:24 AM
Deleted the first entry only and rebooted.....the same red box appears when I come on-line stating that an error has occurred while attempting to update...click here for more info.  When I click on the message it states the same RPC Error message.....  :(  So, what would be the next plan?
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 05:03:33 AM
The next plan is to go back to add/remove programs (are you using Windows XP?) and select Avast antivirus, click "change or remove, and from the selection that will then appear, scroll down and select "repair".
Hopefully this will do it.

There's one or two more things that can be done. One of them involves a search through the system files to find any Cyberdefender remnants. (Do you remember ever installing this?)

Another thing will be to install and scan with MBAM in case this is malware related.

Then there are a couple of more tools....just to let you know where you're at. No need to do any of the others, yet. Hopefully the Avast repair will do it.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 05:15:28 AM
Sounds like a plan....I will go in and repair and then see what happens from there.

Yes I am using Window XP and no we never loaded Cyberdefender on here...but we had this computer built, so could it have been on here and we didn't know it?

I'm going to go and "repair" and then I'll be back......
Thanks again...
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 05:38:03 AM
When I clicked on the Change or Remove icon in the add/remove program I received the following error message: 

avast! A Setiface error has occurred:  536870929  Try to reinstall or contact supprt
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 05:58:53 AM
OK, there's another part to the "repair" plan, which is a full reinstall from scratch.

-Download the Avast unisntall utility (aswClear.exe), get it here. (http://www.avast.com/eng/avast-uninstall-utility.html)
-Download the full setup file for Avast home (setupeng.exe -36.99MB) from halfway down this page (http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html), 2nd download below the words Free registration. Or click THIS (http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupeng.exe) for a direct download.
-Disconnect from the net.
-Locate (possibly in your email folder) the license key to Avast home. If it is in your email folder, no need to copy it, just know where you can copy it from.
-Right click the Avast ball in the system tray (lower right) and select "Program settings>troubleshooting" and disable the Avast self defense module.
-Go to the control panel add/remove programs, and uninstall Avast. Reboot. If there were any indicated/perceived problems uninstalling, reboot into safe mode. (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial61.html)
-Run the file aswClear.exe. Reboot/reboot into normal, as appropriate.
-Install Avast again from the file linked above, setupeng.exe. (You may want to skip the boot scan that I think offers to run as part of the setup, if you are reasonably sure you're malware-free. It can take an hour or more.)
-Reconnect to the net, get updates.
-Post back, please.

Hope this works. But there's more if it doesn't.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 10, 2009, 06:11:11 AM
LOL LOL....I'm sitting here laughing to myself.... and the cats, as I read all that you have just posted....that will have to be tomorrow nights project!!!  It's a good thing I don't have candles to make!!   :)  Man you guys are busy on here.  I feel terrible taking up so much time, but I suppose my problem is as important as the next persons and it's a great learning experience for me.

I will post back, but before I sign off, can you answer one more question...what do you mean when you say "if you are reasonably sure you're malware-free"...what exactly does that mean?
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 10, 2009, 07:20:22 AM
In answer to your question, if you have malware, (virus, trojans, worms etc) there are usually symptoms such as web searches and addresses redirected, applications not working, error messages, popups on the desktop - often warning of a spyware infestation, noticeable computer slowdowns etc.
This doesn't seem to be the case with you, the Avast error appears to be the only problem, so it's likely you don't have (significant) malware.

If re-installing doesn't work, that's something we'll have to address next.

It's no problem offering this help, it's a hobby, and a way to help pay Alwil back for the use of this excellent software. It takes me maybe two to ten minutes to research stuff concerning the "average" problem, and another 2-5 minutes to collate it into a post.
The procedure posted above would probably take me about 20minutes to carry out; perhaps you should allow about an hour, because you'll be less certain, and wanting to check each step etc, maybe have a few questions. That's OK.

You'll be a semi-whiz when we've finished.

Now,something worth checking first: have you registered your Avast Home?
Failure to do so will prevent it getting updates. Info and registration form here. (http://www.avast.com/eng/home-registration.php)
Registration is free, my experience is that it is totally safe to use your home email address when registering, and the key will be posted to you within 24hr, usually immediately.

Lack of registration should not in itself cause the error you're having, but it's worth checking.
If you haven't registered, do that first. When you get the key emailed (if you haven't yet) copy the license key (by highlighting only the key, and pressing control and c, then right-click the tray icon, select "about Avast", click "License key", place the cursor in the field provided, press control and v, then click OK.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 03:19:44 AM
Hello...

Yes my avast is registered...did this a few months back.  I don't seem to have any problems other then the RPC Error, but I did notice over this past weekend that I had a problem when forwarding a message on my e-mail. I use Outlook Express. The message would not forward unless I kept the subject lines (To: From: Subject...etc) that appear at the top of the letterhead when you forward a message....  I have never had this problem before.

Anyhow...I researched tonight how to open in Safe Mode and I will attempt to uninstall shortly...
I'm a bit apprehensive.... :-\but I'll give it a try.
Will let you know how I do later...
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 11, 2009, 03:53:50 AM
Don't be apprehensive.
Be very very scared.

(Just joking.)
Chances are you will not have to run the tool in safe mode.
If you have nay questions, just ask away.

Just make sure you have all the tools needed before going offline. You may want to copy and print instructions as appropriate, or at least save them in notepad to the desktop for easy reference.
Going offline is simply so you are not exposed to the internet without an AV active.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 04:44:04 AM
I have down loaded both the aswclear.exe and the setupeng.exe program and they are on my desktop, but I have not run them.  I then went to the add/remove program and I get that same message from last night.........avast! A Setiface error has occurred:  536870929   

So, what would be my next step.....looking at what I printed out last night, I don't run either of the above programs until after I uninstall avast...correct?  If that is the case, how do get past the error message?
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 11, 2009, 04:52:58 AM
If you are unable to uninstall Avast via "add/remove programs", (did you disable the self defense module, first?)
then reboot into safe and then run aswClear.exe, then continue with the rest of the procedure.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 05:00:17 AM
Yes I disabled the self defense module...

So, what I should do next is disconect from the net, reboot in safe, run aswClear.exe and then do I go back to add/remove and try to uninstall Avast all the while I am in safe mode?  Do I run setupeng.exe in safe mode as well?
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 05:03:03 AM
Hey, I'm listed as a Jr. Member now............... ;D  But I have not even made it through my first problem and already I've advanced my self!!!   Too Funny!!  So, does that mean that I'm almost ready to help other people....lol lol  (Yes, I am only kidding!!!)
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 11, 2009, 05:13:39 AM
Not quite, but close.
Yes, do disconnect.
Running aswClear.exe in safe mode should fully uninstall all components. (Including anything in quarantine, which will be deleted=harmless.)
Then reboot into normal mode, and run the setup file. Then reboot as prompted to complete the setup. If you answer yes to the boot scan (which used to be but may not now be  part of the setup process) expect the reboot to take a long time, as the computer is scanned before Windows is loaded.
As soon as Avast is indicated as being present, by the icon in the system tray, you can reconnect to the net.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 11, 2009, 05:14:33 AM
Some users almost get to senior stage before the first problem is fixed.  ;D
Those are pretty heavy duty problems though. (Usually.)
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 05:18:13 AM


LOL...just read your last message!!  Well lets hope that I'm not one of the senior ones....and too think that I considered myself a quick learner!!!

Hopefully I will be able to get back from the "safe mode" and let you know the results....
Ok......I feel like I'm taking a plunge here, but Here I go...
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 06:18:20 AM
Ok...well I uninstalled in safe mode and rebooted....it came all the way to my desktop and then I receive the following message.

 Windows No Disk   Exception Processing Message  C0000013   Parameters 75B6BF7C 4

I can not cancel out of this, nor does it allow me to continue. It freezes up the computer, although windows boots, it's still asking for a disk.  Task Manager can not close it either.   Right now I am writing to you on my spare computer.   

All I did in Safe mode was uninstall.....
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 07:34:08 AM
Hello Tarq,
Well I finally made it back on my computer and it was scary!!!!  LOL   While I was on the other computer writing my message to you, my husband was able to free up my computer and run the setupeng.exe program.  I was a tad worried that the previous error message would still be there when it was done loading, but after about a half hour it completed and NO ERROR Message....and NO RPC error.  I was so thrilled....but down deep a bit disappointed because I wanted to do it on my own!!!!! :) When it comes to computers, I think I test my husband's patience......lol  He says I move to quick!!!  The end result is that the problem I believe is fixed and now I can explore Avast since it is working....  The only thing Tarq is that there was no place to load my Reg. Key number.  When I click on "About Avast" it shows a Key #, but it's not the number that I had previously had...so how do I go about putting my original key # in?

I can't thank you enough for all your long distance help....for a hobby, you do an awesome job here!!
By the way, my husband is from your neck of the world....Perth, AU.  We use to go back every year, but have not been there the past two years...one day we will make New Zealand.  I hear it's gorgeous....

Thank you again and I will check back to see about the Registration Key...
Good Night
KTM
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 11, 2009, 09:01:36 AM
Whew.
I had to do something else for a while, after your previous message about needing a disk, then my wife needed to use the computer. I was just about to start troubleshooting this error message when your last post arrived, which must've been a relief.

The error is often reported/posted about, and it appears that many things can cause it, one of the likely ones in your case is that Windows is "set" to look for a disk (or similar) and it can be caused by using a flash drive, and unplugging it without using the "safely remove hardware" option - the icon in the system tray for that is pictured below.
The answer (if this is the case) is to plug the device in, wait till Windows recognizes it, and use "safely remove hardware" to stop it before removing. Hope that helps/is applicable...there are many other reported causes, including hardware problems, I'd estimeate that given the procedure the computer has been through it is looking for something that is programed to start with Windows that was removed, and that is possibly Avast. Now it's been installed I hope the problem is resolved, please advise if it recurs.

The license key you have with your new installation will self-expire in (IIRC) 60 days. At (or prior to) that point, that key can be removed and your original inserted.

I've been to Perth once..just the transit lounge at the airport, on the way to BKK, about 26years ago. Looked nice! Certainly a place high on the desirable to live list, if I couldn't live in NZ. Only problem (for me) with NZ is it's a bit cold at times, and the sun (when it happens) is harsh, because of the ozone hole (which is real, and very noticeable. We have sunburn times in the summer of around 10minutes. Any longer in the sun, you get burned. Badly.)

So I hope this is all fixed and stays that way. If it isn't, post back here. If you have any other questions or problems that appear unrelated, start a new topic in the forum.
This forum just rocks. I've learned heaps here, and that is partly why it has become a hobby.
Glad to have helped you.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 05:23:06 PM
Me again.....

I'm not sure if my previous registration Key is valid for one or two years, where would I go to find this information out?

And on a side note, Tarq I understand "cold", we live in Maine and although some winters are cold, others are brutal with much snow!!
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: Tarq57 on November 11, 2009, 09:39:40 PM
A key to the Home version is valid for 14months.
I believe the download you have is the fully featured trial of the pro version. (That'll be nice, you can schedule scans and do a little more with it than you can the Home version.)
So when that expires you can just enter your existing home registration, which will need to be re-registered 14months after you got that key, or purchase the pro, as you prefer.
Title: Re: RPC Error
Post by: KTM on November 11, 2009, 10:54:37 PM
Great....Thanks Again!
Kathleen