Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: rdsu on June 23, 2004, 03:31:25 AM

Title: Problems with my resolution...
Post by: rdsu on June 23, 2004, 03:31:25 AM
Hi,

I'm trying the avast! Home Edition and found problems with my resolution. I have to use the 1400x1050 resolution with 103dpi because the fonts are very small with the normal (96dpi).

Many programs have already thought about this...

See this images:
(http://student.dei.uc.pt/~umbelino/lixo/avast1.png)

(http://student.dei.uc.pt/~umbelino/lixo/avast2.png)
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: S.Z.Craftec on June 23, 2004, 01:38:04 PM
Are you using some Windows StyleXP theme or WindowBlinds to change appereance of your GUI (Graphical User Interface) in Windows ?

That could be answer to your problem...

Second thing, try changing font size in Windows in DISPLAY PROPERTIES / Appereance... make it NORMAL...

Hope this helps !

Cheers !
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: rdsu on June 23, 2004, 02:19:56 PM
Are you using some Windows StyleXP theme or WindowBlinds to change appereance of your GUI (Graphical User Interface) in Windows ?

That could be answer to your problem...

Second thing, try changing font size in Windows in DISPLAY PROPERTIES / Appereance... make it NORMAL...

Hope this helps !

Cheers !

I tried with the Windows Classic style, and have the same problem.

I don't want to use the NORMAL dpi, because, as I already said, the fonts size is very small with this resolution...

And the problems only exists in the pictures that I put here...
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: S.Z.Craftec on June 23, 2004, 02:26:03 PM
Well, can't have both my friend...

That's the way how hi-resolutions works. Size "Normal" of the fonts, indicates that this is normal size, and it should stay on normal.
Why don't you use 1024x768 pixels resolution ? I'm using that one and believe me it's more than enough for all my graphic work I do... sometimes, I have more than 5 different applications opened at the same time...
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: RejZoR on June 23, 2004, 02:27:53 PM
Why do you need to use such non-standard resolution?
Some special display(screen)?
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: rdsu on June 23, 2004, 02:50:25 PM
Why do you need to use such non-standard resolution?
Some special display(screen)?

Because I use a Notebook with 15", and all the new notebooks have a better support for this resolution...

See this Technical specification about my notebook, here (http://www.acer.co.uk/acereuro/page9.do?dau34.oid=2375&UserCtxParam=0&GroupCtxParam=0&dctx1=17&ctx1=UK&crc=4029429475)
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: rdsu on June 23, 2004, 02:53:32 PM
Well, can't have both my friend...

That's the way how hi-resolutions works. Size "Normal" of the fonts, indicates that this is normal size, and it should stay on normal.
Why don't you use 1024x768 pixels resolution ? I'm using that one and believe me it's more than enough for all my graphic work I do... sometimes, I have more than 5 different applications opened at the same time...

Before I buy this Notebook, I use that resolution, but with the new notebook with 15" you can't use it...
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: S.Z.Craftec on June 23, 2004, 03:00:20 PM
Then, you have to alarm Vlk or Igor my friend... Maybe they can do something about that font we can see on your screenshots...

I can see that font on the left hand side is smaller than the font on the right side... maybe they should make both fonts small as left one...

Point their attention to this thread and let us know what they answered to you...

Cheers !
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: igor on June 23, 2004, 03:09:55 PM
I'm afraid I already tried to find a workaround for the problem with the big fonts and links, but I didn't succeed. It's implemented somewhere deep inside the graphical library...

I can easily resize the control in the registration dialog (there's plenty of space below there), but that's about all. The size of the splash screen is given by the size of the background bitmap, and the text on the left side can be rather long, so I don't want to enlarge the "Stop" button and shrink the other controls. There are a few other problems on other places (the "link" text is too big and clipped occasionally).
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: rdsu on June 23, 2004, 03:36:34 PM
OK, no problem ;)
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: Kobra on June 23, 2004, 05:33:41 PM
Nobody uses 1024x768 on their boxes anymore, do they?   :P  I've used at least 1280x1024, my main is at 1600x1200 for about 2 years.

But I didn't notice this problem, perhaps its my font size or whatever.
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: S.Z.Craftec on June 23, 2004, 05:39:19 PM
It's not quite like that... there are still some people who uses their 15" monitor, I know few people still uses 14" monitors... they don't have money to buy new ones, and if they have they like to spend that on some other parts, more important for them at that point...

Actually, I know some people at those comapanies (our customers) where I service computers, they still use 640x480 (Win 95). You should see that... og my God... icons like half of their screen...  ;D

I have 17" Dell beautiful monitor, and I still use 1024x768... I don't wanna kill my eyes with higher resolutions, untill I buy something bigger  ;D I hope soon...
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: igor on June 23, 2004, 06:45:23 PM
Nobody uses 1024x768 on their boxes anymore, do they?   :P  I've used at least 1280x1024, my main is at 1600x1200 for about 2 years.

Kobra, we know that you have a fast CPU, lots of memory and harddisk, high resolution, and whatever else fast, big and high you may have. The fact is, however, that other people may have different needs or preferences.

I personally use 1024x768 on 17", 1152x864 on 19" and 1280x960 on 21" (which is always the same pixel size, as you can easily check). I find using 1600x1200 on anything smaller than 22" sort of crazy (and most people don't have 22", do they? :))

Anyway, the original problem isn't related to the resolution, but rather to "big fonts" setting that changes the common proportions.
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: MikeBCda on June 23, 2004, 08:12:42 PM
I guess old habits die hard -- picked up a new 17" over the winter, and I still keep it at 800x600 with extremely rare exceptions.
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: DavidR on June 23, 2004, 11:23:31 PM
I have a Dell 17" CRT monitor and the max I can get it to is 1152x864 and that is more than enough for my eyes and 96dpi

I am hoping to get a TFT 17" or 19" (and in both of these I have seen 1200x??? native resolution), you tend to use the native resolution for best results on TFT.
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: Vlk on June 23, 2004, 11:26:08 PM
Wow I admire you guys how you can work on those small screens (especially CRT)... :)
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: Kobra on June 23, 2004, 11:32:33 PM
I sometimes have to remind myself not everyone can get super cheap computer hardware in various countries around the world.  Here, a 20" monitor will set you back between $79-$130 or so.  I picked up a 20" Samsung for $125, brand new a few weeks ago.  Next to those Samsungs, were 20" refurb (totally like new) Viewsonics for $79 each, all in boxes, with 1 year warranties.

Talk about cheap. Sheesh.. The land of disposable electronics!




Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: Vlk on June 23, 2004, 11:34:00 PM
I'm pretty happy with my 21'' LCD - but the price was a bit different... :-[
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: MikeBCda on June 23, 2004, 11:38:11 PM
Oh, I can get good prices too -- but there's other factors involved, don't forget.  My (relatively) new 17" is a conventional CRT, and it's deep enough (that is, front to back) that anything bigger would be wobbling precariously over the front of my desk.
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: S.Z.Craftec on June 23, 2004, 11:57:55 PM
I sometimes have to remind myself not everyone can get super cheap computer hardware in various countries around the world.  Here, a 20" monitor will set you back between $79-$130 or so.  I picked up a 20" Samsung for $125, brand new a few weeks ago.  Next to those Samsungs, were 20" refurb (totally like new) Viewsonics for $79 each, all in boxes, with 1 year warranties.

Talk about cheap. Sheesh.. The land of disposable electronics!

This forums gathers people from all around the world, not just from USA or Canada or some other financialy stable countries... I still have friends in Croatia and in other parts of former Yugoslavia. It's sad that there is still no chance for some of them to buy 17" monitor... it's still like a dream for some people, and I can understand that. I'm telling this because I came from there, and I know exactly what's the feeling... you could just dream about some things... nothing else...

That's why I know how to respect small things and people who are still unable to affort those things...
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: techie101returns on June 24, 2004, 12:15:42 AM
Sasha,

The world is changing...slowly but changing.

Maybe someday, people in all parts of the world will be able to share technology and commerce without hesitation.

Techie
Title: Re:Problems with my resolution...
Post by: Lisandro on June 24, 2004, 02:50:54 AM
This forums gathers people from all around the world, not just from USA or Canada or some other financialy stable countries... I still have friends in Croatia and in other parts of former Yugoslavia. It's sad that there is still no chance for some of them to buy 17" monitor... it's still like a dream for some people, and I can understand that. I'm telling this because I came from there, and I know exactly what's the feeling... you could just dream about some things... nothing else...

I cannot add a single word  :-\

That's why I know how to respect small things and people who are still unable to affort those things...

Here too... unable is the word  :'(