Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: sdevil on January 31, 2010, 11:12:06 AM

Title: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: sdevil on January 31, 2010, 11:12:06 AM
Hi
I am looking to move back to Avast and want to find out if the new ver 5 has X64 bit version for Windows 7.

I searched around but was not able to find any info on it.

Thanks
SD
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 11:33:18 AM
Hi,

there's only one version, and according to your OS, will install as 64 or 32 bit. This said, even when installed as 64 bit (so in the program files folder as opposed to the x86 one), main V5 processes as seen in task manager appear as 32 bit. Read sometime ago that a few things were actual 64 bit components, but can't remember what exactly...I guess a look at process explorer (sysinternals) could tell more.

edit: don't know what I was thinking of, the driver is 64 bit.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: mikhalek on January 31, 2010, 12:23:57 PM
When I installed Avast Free version 5 on my system (Win 7 64bit) it installed directly to Program Files folder (not to Program Files x86) so I guess it 64 bit version recognized automatically.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 12:27:06 PM
When I installed Avast Free version 5 on my system (Win 7 64bit) it installed directly to Program Files folder (not to Program Files x86) so I guess it 64 bit version recognized automatically.

in theory yes, but the program files folder is...just a folder  ;)
ps: the driver is 64 bit
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: mikhalek on January 31, 2010, 12:36:59 PM
When I installed Avast Free version 5 on my system (Win 7 64bit) it installed directly to Program Files folder (not to Program Files x86) so I guess it 64 bit version recognized automatically.

in theory yes, but the program files folder is...just a folder  ;)
ps: the driver is 64 bit

Fully agree with you, It was only a clue that it goes directly to native 64bit folders...
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: RedFan on January 31, 2010, 12:48:41 PM
Hi
I am looking to move back to Avast and want to find out if the new ver 5 has X64 bit version for Windows 7.

I searched around but was not able to find any info on it.

Thanks
SD
A look at cnet site gives some details:
Operating system: Windows 2000/XP/Vista 32-bit/64-bit/7 32-bit/64-bit

http://download.cnet.com/Avast-Free-Antivirus/3000-2239_4-10019223.html?tag=mncol

Greetz
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: sdevil on January 31, 2010, 01:13:26 PM
OK. I just installed the AV and even though it installed to the correct "program files" folder, the main process like Avast UI & Avast Service are still 32 bit. I am a bit disappointed with this, specially now that loads are new softwares are 64 bit.

My first impression of the software is good but because i have a x64 bit system, i am making a point of only installing 64bit version of software and because of this, i dont think i will hold on to Avast for too long.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: Bluesman on January 31, 2010, 02:07:02 PM
I am a bit disappointed with this, specially now that loads are new softwares are 64 bit.

Okey, but the software runs just fine on 64bit so no reason to be disappointed ;)

But it is your choice! Good look outside Avast-land :)
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: sdevil on January 31, 2010, 02:35:20 PM
@Bluesman...
I think you got me wrong. I am not saying that Avast is a bad product. Infact it is a very good product and the reason i used the word "disappointed" is because i expect more from a quality product like Avast. With the release of version 5, I expected Avast to provide a true x64 bit version.

Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: pk on January 31, 2010, 03:21:02 PM
Unfortunately, antivirus software is not a typical product which would greatly profit from x64 architecture. The harddrive is always the biggest bottleneck for antivirus.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: mikhalek on January 31, 2010, 04:31:37 PM
but still, it works good on 64-bit systems and protection level is good enough for home users...
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 05:20:38 PM
I would also like a pure 64bit version of avast! for my 64bit copy of Windows 7.

MSE (http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials/) has three versions, XP 32, Vista/7 32 & Vista/7 64. 8)
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 05:21:33 PM
I would also like a pure 64bit version of avast! for my 64bit copy of Windows 7.

MSE (http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials/) has three versions, XP 32, Vista/7 32 & Vista/7 64. 8)

and what would that change ?
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 05:27:31 PM
I was just responding to sdevil's posts.

avast! 5 is better than MSE x64.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 05:28:55 PM
I was just responding to sdevil's posts.

avast! 5 is better than MSE x64.

and you mind answering my question somehow...
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 05:52:10 PM
Quote
and you mind answering my question somehow...

I thought I did...
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 05:55:20 PM
Quote
and you mind answering my question somehow...

I thought I did...

not really no  ;D but nevermind  ::)
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: wonderwrench on January 31, 2010, 05:56:22 PM
Unfortunately, antivirus software is not a typical product which would greatly profit from x64 architecture. The harddrive is always the biggest bottleneck for antivirus.

64 bit operating systems emulate 32 bit to allow 32 bit applications to work. Because of this fact there is more overhead using 32 bit applications in a 64 bit operating system. Microsoft did a great job emulating 32 bit in Vista and 7 so the hit is usually very small. The only reason software companies do not make native 64 bit applications is cost.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 05:59:58 PM
I was going to post that pk answered Logos's question, but there's no need now.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: igor on January 31, 2010, 06:00:04 PM
There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 06:08:54 PM
Unfortunately, antivirus software is not a typical product which would greatly profit from x64 architecture. The harddrive is always the biggest bottleneck for antivirus.

I would also like a pure 64bit version of avast! for my 64bit copy of Windows 7.

MSE (http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials/) has three versions, XP 32, Vista/7 32 & Vista/7 64. 8)

how does pk's post answer my question to you when I asked you what that would change ? pk meant no obvious benefit, and you insisted that you still would like a 100% 64 bit avast  ??? so, why  ;D
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 06:15:12 PM
Quote
how does pk's post answer my question to you when I asked you what that would change ?

The answer is below

Quote
pk meant no obvious benefit,
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 06:18:08 PM
Quote
how does pk's post answer my question to you when I asked you what that would change ?

The answer is below

Quote
pk meant no obvious benefit,

so you meant even if there's no benefit with 100% 64 bit you still want it... doesn't bother you that your first comment comes in complete contradiction with pk's statement, and your statement now?
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 06:33:38 PM
No contradiction.

I have a 64bit OS, so I would like everything 64bit on my 7 64bit computer.

Call it vanity or whatever you want to call it. ;D

Eventually everything will be x64 until 128bit comes out. ;D

It has been posted on avast!Webforums that MS is working on 128bit. ;)
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: sdevil on January 31, 2010, 06:35:28 PM
So guys.... Are we saying that there is no benefit of creating a 64 bit version over 32 bit?
 
I agree with rdmaloyjr. Avast is a major player in AV industry and i personally think it will better for its image to provide an x64 bit version even if it does not provide any signification advantage over 32 bit version.

If the major players are not going to drive the move for 64bit than who would?  :(

Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: wonderwrench on January 31, 2010, 06:44:42 PM
There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.

I do not know where you get your information from. All 32 bit applications run in Vista/7 64 bit are being run in a x86 emulator.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa384249%28VS.85%29.aspx
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WoW64
I do agree the overhead is small and it may even be near pointless to talk about it but lets get the facts straight. A correctly coded application coded in 64 bit will perform better than the same application correctly coded in 32 bit. Edit: You are correct in stating the CPU is switched to 32 bit mode as needed. The overhead is indeed small compared to running 32 bit apps on IA-64.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 06:45:37 PM
No contradiction.

I have a 64bit OS, so I would like everything 64bit on my 7 64bit computer.

Call it vanity or whatever you want to call it. ;D

Eventually everything will be x64 until 128bit comes out. ;D

It has been posted on avast!Webforums that MS is working on 128bit. ;)

thanks for the fun game, and all the non-sense there, referring to pk's post etc...and best of luck on 256 bit  ;)
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: logos on January 31, 2010, 06:47:24 PM
So guys.... Are we saying that there is no benefit of creating a 64 bit version over 32 bit?
 
I agree with rdmaloyjr




yeah but the problem is that rdmaloyj agrees with both opinions  :D
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 06:50:02 PM
So guys.... Are we saying that there is no benefit of creating a 64 bit version over 32 bit?
 
I agree with rdmaloyjr. Avast is a major player in AV industry and i personally think it will better for its image to provide an x64 bit version even if it does not provide any signification advantage over 32 bit version.

If the major players are not going to drive the move for 64bit than who would?  :(



There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.

Quote
pk:Unfortunately, antivirus software is not a typical product which would greatly profit from x64 architecture. The harddrive is always the biggest bottleneck for antivirus.

Little benefit over "mixed" 32/64.

I agree with sdevil:

Quote
Avast is a major player in AV industry and i personally think it will better for its image to provide an x64 bit version even if it does not provide any signification advantage over 32 bit version.
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: igor on January 31, 2010, 06:58:00 PM
There's no "emulation" here (unless we're talking about Itanium, not x64).
Basically, the CPU is just switched into 32bit mode (when executing the 32bit code). The overhead is so small that it's kinda pointless to talk about it.

I do not know where you get your information from. All 32 bit applications run in Vista/7 64 bit are being run in a x86 emulator.

Sure, you can call the WoW64 subsystem an "emulator", if you wish - cause it somehow "emulates" the 32bit Windows environment.
However, there is no instruction emulation there - once the thunking (switch into the 32bit/64bit mode is made - with the corresponding parameter translation, if calling Win32 API), the code runs natively.
It would be rather stupid to emulate the 32bit code if the CPU can run it natively, wouldn't it? ;)
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: rdmaloyjr on January 31, 2010, 07:06:04 PM
Quote
yeah but the problem is that rdmaloyj agrees with both opinions :D
??? ;D ;D ;D

I prefer pure x64, but I'm realistic, ALWIL isn't going to give us pure x64 now.

I have tried MSE 64bit, but I believe avast! 5 is better.  I do believe if ALWIL would make a pure x64 avast! 5 it would be slightly better than the current avast! 5 (for x64 OS), but more bugs to work out in more beta versions.  As it is, there are some saying avast! 5 shouldn't have been released yet. ::)
Title: Re: Avast X64 bit version for Windows 7
Post by: wonderwrench on January 31, 2010, 07:25:10 PM
So guys.... Are we saying that there is no benefit of creating a 64 bit version over 32 bit?
 
I agree with rdmaloyjr. Avast is a major player in AV industry and i personally think it will better for its image to provide an x64 bit version even if it does not provide any signification advantage over 32 bit version.

If the major players are not going to drive the move for 64bit than who would?  :(



You will never be able to feel the difference between a 32 app and a 64 bit app. Only when the app needs to access more ram than 32 bit would allow would you feel the difference. At this point in time games are the only apps that could truly benefit by being 64 bit.  Anyone that thinks they are only going to use 64 bit apps on their 64 bit windows at this point in time is in for a tough time as there are very few 64 bit apps. You might as well run a MAC.