Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: nuflood on February 18, 2010, 06:58:43 PM

Title: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: nuflood on February 18, 2010, 06:58:43 PM
Hi

since I upgraded to free version 5 it seems that some start up programs are blocked by it.
mainly me soundcard program (E-Mu patchmix DSP).
if I use the disable function of avast it releases the programs and they finish loading. when I enable avast again they are already running so no problem here.

but how can I prevent avast from blocking programs on my start up?

thanks
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: DavidR on February 18, 2010, 07:05:58 PM
avast doesn't block, it scans and alerts to infection, it doesn't block.

If there is an apparent blocking then there is something else in the mix, what that is, is hard to determine.

Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?
What is your firewall (as strange as this seems) ?

What other security based software do you have installed ?
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: SBK on February 19, 2010, 06:25:51 PM
I also am using PatchMix DSP. This problem is temporarily solved by turning off Behavior Shield of Avast when the computer is started. Apparently, this problem is like due to Behavior Shield.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: sded on February 19, 2010, 06:38:26 PM
Does it also work to go to Avast! status/settings/exclusions and add Patchmix to the exclusions?
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: Dongle Beard on February 28, 2010, 04:21:37 PM
Does it also work to go to Avast! status/settings/exclusions and add Patchmix to the exclusions?

I've tried this and it doesn't seem to work. It still takes like 8 minutes for patchmix to boot up.
So would Avast fix this if I sent a request in or is there a better fix than disabling Avast?
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: Dongle Beard on March 02, 2010, 01:41:39 AM
 :-\
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: nightfever on March 03, 2010, 10:28:50 AM
same issue here with patchmix!
i had to uninstall avast for it to work without freezing at startup
any ideas? could it be conflicting with windows defender?
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: Obeney on April 08, 2010, 02:10:11 AM
To solve this issue!

Click on the **Settings** tab on top right of app \ Then click **Troubleshooting** tab

Check the last check box... **Load Avast services only after loading other system services**

Patch mix will now start up clean

ABC easy as ...  8)


Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: mlysek on April 09, 2010, 09:26:28 AM
That didn't work for me. It sure sounds like it should work but the only way to get EMU patchmix to finish starting up for me is to disable the Behavior Shield.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: Dongle Beard on April 16, 2010, 05:06:16 AM
That didn't work for me. It sure sounds like it should work but the only way to get EMU patchmix to finish starting up for me is to disable the Behavior Shield.


Didn't work for me either. I sure hoped it would though.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: mlysek on April 17, 2010, 05:04:55 PM
Updated to program version 5.0.507 and this problem still exists. EMU patchmix will not finish starting unless I disable the Behavior Shield.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: pi3142 on June 09, 2010, 05:16:56 AM
Well, i had exactly the same problem (avast 5.0.545, XP SP3, EMU1212m) and finally managed a workaround thus:

SETTINGS > TROUBLESHOOTING...

NO rootscan on startup
NO enable raw disk access during boot scan
NO skip checking of digital signatures
TICK enable self defence
TICK load avast only after other system services

From this it would appear that EMU/Creative Labs are utilising RAW disk access to load effects presets to their hardware. And if Avast! is (1) able to access this RAW disk activity and additionally (2) it's allowed to get there first - then, as i can too can ruefully testify, it just seems to take about 5 mins for it to finally load up...

Hope this helps!
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: igor on June 09, 2010, 08:23:41 AM
Some of the options are for sure absolutely unrelated to the problem, such as your theory about the raw disk access.
The "raw disk access during the boot-time scan" option has only effect on the boot-time scan - i.e. unless you really scheduled a boot-time scan, it simply cannot have any effect on the computer.
So, I'd say that the only thing that may affect the EMU stuff is the last option - "Load avast! services only after loading other system services". Unchecking the other ones is irrelevant.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: JohnSAvast on June 09, 2010, 10:24:42 PM
An issue that nobody seems to have mentioned is the fact that Avast uploads the latest definitions on startup.  It extends my boot time greatly and uses a fair amount of processor time after most apps are up and running.  I can't record video properly for about 4 minutes after boot has been commenced.  The updating on startup is not a problem; the fact that it cannot be turned off as an option is.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: DavidR on June 09, 2010, 10:33:55 PM
Then you can delay the avast auto update check (it isn't uploading but downloading if an update is available):
- In avast5 you need to edit (using notepad) avast5.ini the [InetWD] section of the C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Alwil Software\Avast5\avast5.ini

- Broadband connections, add this line:
AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120 and
AssumeAlwaysConnected=1 if not present (or edit AssumeAlwaysConnected=0 to AssumeAlwaysConnected=1)
Quote
[InetWD]
AssumeAlwaysConnected=1
AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds=120
When complete save the changes, avast's self-defence module will ask for confirmation, etc. answer Yes.

The figure is seconds and the above equates to two minutes, you could try that and adjust upwards if required, 180, 240, etc.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: JohnSAvast on June 10, 2010, 03:34:00 AM
Then you can delay the avast auto update check.....
That may help many including nuflood if the update is slowing down app startups.

It does not help my situation because I'm trying to get video recording running ASAP after reboot with no interference.  Delaying the update probably makes the situation worse - the apps may start quicker but I can't record video until the update is finished.  I could set the start delay to 2 hours I suppose!
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: YoKenny on June 10, 2010, 05:11:18 AM
What is your operating system and Service Pack level ???
What is your CPU speed and type and amount of RAM ???
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: pi3142 on June 11, 2010, 05:51:33 PM
Upon monitoring system startup for a couple of days i must indeed concure that my so-called workaround  was, at best, partial. It really does depend whether emupmixdsp.exe can get going prior to the avast behaviour module kicking in..

If it doesn't (and due to the vaguaries of windows startup ordering - i.e. it's randomness) then you get something like this screengrab taken a few mins after startup...
(http://www.pimusic.org/images/screengrab.jpg)

So... EMU loads in 32 core effects and 235 additional presets, which all look something like this:
(copied from the first .corePresets file, named: {4A71183E-1B9B-4E11-B37F-2BAF5CBEE472}.corePresets )

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<corepresets abbrevname="Stereo Dela" name="Stereo Delay  250" piaguid="{4A71183E-1B9B-4E11-B37F-2BAF5CBEE472}">
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Default" wetdrymix="0.50000">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="50.00000"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="50.00000"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Slap Back" wetdrymix="0.272059">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="4.017857"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="44.19643"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Panner" wetdrymix="0.404412">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="210.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="19.196428"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="72.321426"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Lead Delay" wetdrymix="0.507353">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="215.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="225.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="59.37500"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="72.321426"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Delay Ringer" wetdrymix="0.455882">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="244.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="122.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="56.25000"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="52.232143"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Poly Rhythm" wetdrymix="0.257353">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="167.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="58.482143"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="80.35714"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="Half Rhythm" wetdrymix="0.235294">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="214.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="107.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="41.964287"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="50.892857"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="250 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.132353">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="12.50000"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="60.267857"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="175 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.235294">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="175.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="175.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="20.982143"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="52.23000"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="167 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.235294">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="167.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="167.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="33.035713"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="52.23000"/>
</corepreset>
<corepreset factory="yes" name="125 ms Delay" wetdrymix="0.066176">
<param name="Left Delay Time" type="continuous" value="125.00000"/>
<param name="Right Delay Time" type="continuous" value="250.00000"/>
<param name="Feedback" type="continuous" value="12.946428"/>
<param name="High Freq Rolloff" type="continuous" value="37.50000"/>
</corepreset>
</corepresets>
Please note the Byte Order Mark (UTF-8) before the XML definition itself. Would that be the root of the problem?

Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: pompomboy on June 29, 2010, 08:46:44 AM
Instead of disabling "Avast! shields control", I solved this problem doing the following :
- Open Avast! user interface
Select successively :
- Settings/Troubleshooting
then select "Load Avast! services only after loading other system services"
I hope It will work for you  :)
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: nuflood on July 15, 2010, 06:23:48 PM
none of the above helped me and the support team stopped answering me (i guess they gave up).
I ended up removing this program and installing one from another company which is a shame because i'd been using it for years.
any program that demands me to disable and re enable it every time I start my computer is not worth it and a support team that ignores the problem and says that their program isn't blocking anything instead of looking into it is also not worth it. even after several people reported the same problem...
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: skyryder on August 07, 2010, 05:19:55 PM
I almost accidentally solved - or rather, preempted - this problem from happening by using Mike Lin's Startup control.  The little (and free) utility asked me during install of Avast if I wanted to let Avast run at startup.  I selected "no".  I now fire up Avast by clicking on its desktop shortcut icon. Power at my finger tips :-)
============

I was told my posting is 20 days late by the forum auto watchdog.. which makes me wonder:  if I write something and no one reads it, have I really written anything?  :-)
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: DavidR on August 07, 2010, 05:56:57 PM
I think that it's just stopping the User Account start-up items, avastUI.exe (tray icon and UI) from running. Conform this by checking if the avast services are running, avastSvc.exe.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: Dongle Beard on October 12, 2011, 03:19:12 PM
I found the actual problem   
When Patchmix starts up Avast behavior shield scans all the Creative Audio(E-mu Patchmix)
.SYS drivers
Example:
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS

There are 24 of these drivers that the behavior shield scans one by one every time, thus slowing down the software's ability to start.
I tried adding all of its drivers to the trusted processes list but Avast still scans them anyway.
Avast would need to allow these drivers to be skipped from the behavior shield scanning in order to fix this problem.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: DavidR on October 12, 2011, 04:09:41 PM
Exactly what did you enter in the trusted processes to allow these as I have found no problem in excluding files that I have added ?

If you temporarily set the Behavior Shield to Ask, when it intervenes, select the Allow and add to the trusted processes option.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: Dongle Beard on October 12, 2011, 06:51:52 PM
Exactly what did you enter in the trusted processes to allow these as I have found no problem in excluding files that I have added ?

If you temporarily set the Behavior Shield to Ask, when it intervenes, select the Allow and add to the trusted processes option.

I didn't have a problem entering in items to the trusted process list. It's just that Avast's behavior shield ignores the list for the .sys items and scans them anyway. Avast doesn't block the program like the OP thought, it's just bogs down the loading of each driver until the behavior shield makes its way through them.
I manually entered in all 24 via behavior shield/expert settings/trusted processes. A shown in the screenshot of the behavior shield you can see its still checking the .sys drivers.


(http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6039/6237693565_c6075e9a1f_z.jpg)

I found the actual problem    
When Patchmix starts up Avast behavior shield scans all the Creative Audio(E-mu Patchmix)
.SYS drivers
Example:
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS

There are 24 of these drivers that the behavior shield scans one by one every time, thus slowing down the software's ability to start.
I tried adding all of its drivers to the trusted processes list but Avast still scans them anyway.
Avast would need to allow these drivers to be skipped from the behavior shield scanning in order to fix this problem.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: DavidR on October 12, 2011, 07:32:16 PM
Unfortunately I haven't got any .sys files in my trusted processes list, so I can't conform, but I would have though this would be treated in the same way.

All I can see in the image you posted is a different means of displaying that path, different to your example C:\Windows\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS. So as it is listed in the image I wonder if that would mean you have to enter it in the same format. e.g. %systemroot%\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS or systemroot\System32\drivers\COMMONFX.SYS and see if one or other of those works.
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: Lordsbaby2013 on May 03, 2013, 07:39:05 PM
I beg to differ.... before I bought AVAST I had NOD32 ESET on my system and as strong as a antivirus that is I NEVER EVER lost my startup items... I even have WinPatrol on here Malware by IOBIT all at same time and still had my startup items in my startup...
But, ever since I put AVAST on here........ hmmmmmmmm cannot get them to show up so DO NOT SAY AVAST don't block them because oh yes it does and I am still fighting to get them to show up. I have tried all ideas from here and everywhere else, and unchecking behavioral etc... nothing works, and AVAST to me is a pain in the rump... can't get startups to show up it's a pain. :-[

avast doesn't block, it scans and alerts to infection, it doesn't block.

If there is an apparent blocking then there is something else in the mix, what that is, is hard to determine.

Have (or did) you another Anti-Virus installed in this system, if so what was it and how did you get rid of it ?
What is your firewall (as strange as this seems) ?

What other security based software do you have installed ?
Title: Re: avast free 5 is blocking things on start up
Post by: DavidR on May 03, 2013, 08:46:29 PM
Well responding to a post that is over fours years old isn't a good idea as things change in that time.

You should start your own new topic and outline the problem and we will try and help.