Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Mac Security => Topic started by: pupuser431 on April 16, 2010, 08:54:47 AM

Title: puppylinux431
Post by: pupuser431 on April 16, 2010, 08:54:47 AM
any one using puppylinux and avast?
seems like im having the same probs as other linux distro users.
updateing the virus defs makes the avast non-startable...(400.vps=36mb)
is the a fix-igive it one week if no fix i will use another av-clam/fprot.
any help/advice would be nice...linux kernal= 2.6.30.5(i686)
Title: Re: puppylinux431
Post by: Mike Buxton on April 16, 2010, 10:10:17 AM
Hi,

Please see the first sticky (with some 25 posts) at the very top of the page.

There are also two similar threads a little below below this one of yours.

Cheers
Title: Re: puppylinux431
Post by: pupuser431 on April 16, 2010, 10:35:32 AM
i know the are other posts about this-BUT i use puppy not whobuntu.
so they are not specific- to pup431...
this is why i posted a new thread-hopeing to find pup or slax users.
but tx all the same.
Title: Re: puppylinux431
Post by: zilog on April 16, 2010, 11:14:59 AM
i know the are other posts about this-BUT i use puppy not whobuntu.
so they are not specific- to pup431...
this is why i posted a new thread-hopeing to find pup or slax users.
but tx all the same.

modifying rcS in /etc/init.d using

/sbin/sysctl -w kernel/shmmax=200000000

somewhere near the beginning of the file would work on most distribution (assuming they aren't heavily customised/don't use non-standard init).
regards,
pc
Title: Re: puppylinux431
Post by: pupuser431 on April 16, 2010, 11:46:49 AM
ahoy, thanks for the info-im waiting for one of the "gurus" to wake up at murga-linux.com forum(puppylinux forum)
or some one over at irc freenode #puppylinux befor i try to work this out...
i put the puppy relavant info in here for other puppy users benafit..
will return +post results of of this "fix" if it works...he he :D
thanks again 10/10
Title: Re: puppylinux431
Post by: pupusse on April 16, 2010, 03:19:40 PM
quite easy for those who are " afraid"  ??? to modify an .ini script :

if you want to launch avast for the first time in your session :
  type as root : "sysctl -w kernel.shmmax=128000000 ; avastgui "

If you want to launch avast again (in the same session)  just type "avastgui".


 :)

But the moderator is right , the best way is to modify the init script.
Title: Re: puppylinux431
Post by: pupuser431 on April 18, 2010, 06:46:29 PM
all's well.
adding the line in the .ini worked like a treat.
update went well no problems there either.
only thing i did see was a slower start time before the GUI showed.
this is maybe because the 400.vps is 36mb(my original 20mb.)
i also lowered the value to 128M from 200M-seemed to speed start up a little,
will try with 64M see how that goes...
would like to say thanks to all for the help+understanding-10/10.
good learning curve for me,
live long+prosper.