Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: jsaund22 on July 13, 2004, 07:40:43 PM

Title: Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: jsaund22 on July 13, 2004, 07:40:43 PM
I'm running Thunderbird 0.7.2, and Avast! Home.  When installing Avast!, I selected to automatically protect my current accounts and any in the future, but none of my emails are getting scanned.  I can open the Avast! manager and it shows no emails scanned.  When I check the account settings in Thunderbird, the mail server and logon have not changed, as they should.  What's up?  Does Avast! not support this version of Thunderbird?
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: lee16 on July 13, 2004, 07:47:55 PM
Does thunderbird use SMTP/POP3/IMAP4 protocols?
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: DavidR on July 13, 2004, 07:58:07 PM
I'm running Thunderbird 0.7.2, and Avast! Home.  When installing Avast!, I selected to automatically protect my current accounts and any in the future, but none of my emails are getting scanned.  I can open the Avast! manager and it shows no emails scanned.  When I check the account settings in Thunderbird, the mail server and logon have not changed, as they should.  What's up?  Does Avast! not support this version of Thunderbird?

It doesn't support Thunderbird directly regardless of version, but you can set it up manually.

Do a search of the forums for thunderbird and you should bump into one of the many threads on this subject
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: shgoh on July 13, 2004, 07:59:21 PM
yup davidr is right...avast can't setup thunderbird automatically yet :)

please see this faq (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=9;action=display;threadid=4818) to learn how to configure manually ;)
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: jsaund22 on July 13, 2004, 08:32:27 PM
yup davidr is right...avast can't setup thunderbird automatically yet :)

please see this faq (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=9;action=display;threadid=4818) to learn how to configure manually ;)

Uhhh....I don't mean to quibble, but I've been running Avast and Thunderbird for over a year, and Avast did set up Thunderbird...at least until the latest revision of TB.

I tried the manual setup, and when I asked TB to get mail, it told me it couldn't connect to the 127.0.0.1 server...

And yes, TB uses POP3...

 ??? ???
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: DavidR on July 13, 2004, 08:45:47 PM
I don't know if this has anything to do with the fact that the 0.7.2 version is a nightly build and classed as beta by the builders, it is not yet available as a regular download.

Has something changed, I don't know.

I based my response on posts in these forums, I don't have TB installed. There have been many people posting that they experienced problems with earlier versions of TB, as in it wouldn't setup automatically and had to be done manually. These were answered and I assume that resolved their problems.
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: jsaund22 on July 13, 2004, 10:32:39 PM
I'll see if I can download an older version and see if that'll work.  Thanks for the replies.  I'll post back here with the results, but it'll probably be tomorrow.
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: ThxAvast on July 14, 2004, 12:56:45 AM

Hi

For information,
I'm curently using Thunderbird 0.7.1 whith Avast home edition and I have no problem at all. Avast automatically change the localhost (127.0.0.1) stuffs....

regards
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: shgoh on July 14, 2004, 12:58:15 PM
sorry if i'm wrong that avast can't support thunderbird :)

anyway...i always do the manual config...and it works really great...

jsaund22...please make sure your login name is correct...should be something like  jsaund22#pop.mail.com

feedback any problems encountered...we have lots of thunderbird users here to help you with it
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: jsaund22 on July 14, 2004, 03:26:56 PM
jsaund22...please make sure your login name is correct...should be something like  jsaund22#pop.mail.com

I made sure my login name was correct when I was doing the manual installation, but it still didn't work.  When I used 127.0.0.1 for the server, and put in my login name like the above, TB told me it couldn't connect to the server, and the Avast service was started.  It must be a bug in the 0.7.2 TB build.  I didn't have a chance to load 0.7.1 last night, but hope to have time to do it today.

I'll keep you informed.
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: shgoh on July 14, 2004, 04:01:10 PM
hmm...the strange thing is my TB 0.7.2 works absolutely fine...anyway...keep us updated
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: mwilson on July 17, 2004, 12:19:02 AM
I'm running TB 0.7.1 at home and at work.  The home installation, with Avast! Home, is working fine.  The work installation, with the demo of Avast! Professional, worked the day I set it up, but since then tells me it can't connect to the server  (the computer is shut down completely overnight).  The only difference in the two installations, besides the two versions of Avast!, is that my work computer is connected to a LAN.  Both installations are monitoring the same IMAP account, and both use the same internet service, so the server settings are indentical.  I'm guessing that something needs to be changed to work with the LAN, but I hesitate to start fiddling with settings when I don't really have any idea which settings to fiddle.   :-\
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: Max M.Wachtel III on July 17, 2004, 06:30:53 AM
I had it happen a while ago.Did you try running the mail wizard again? That's what fixed mine.
-max
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: neal62 on July 18, 2004, 01:43:47 AM
I am running Thunderbird 0.7.2 and Avast Home. I have my T.B. configuration set to 127.0.0.1 on both Pop3 and STMP settings, port 25, and 110. I also set up avast to insert the messages that it has scanned both incoming and outgoing e-mail. Works fine for me. Using WinXp Home etc. :)
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: bob3160 on July 18, 2004, 02:13:03 AM
Quote
on both Pop3 and STMP settings, port 25, and 110
Neil, I think it should read:
on both Pop3 and STMP settings, port 110, and 25

Right?
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: neal62 on July 18, 2004, 02:45:01 AM
Bob, yes thats correct. 110 for Pop3 and 25 for STMP. I am dislexic lol :D
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: jsaund22 on July 19, 2004, 02:42:30 PM
Well, it must just be me.   I've installed TB 0.7.1, and still no scanning by Avast.  I'm going to try the manual setup again, but I'm beginning to think I'll have to find some other combination.  Thanks for all your help!
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: shgoh on July 19, 2004, 03:20:48 PM
Well, it must just be me.   I've installed TB 0.7.1, and still no scanning by Avast.  I'm going to try the manual setup again, but I'm beginning to think I'll have to find some other combination.  Thanks for all your help!

jsaund22...please use TB 0.7.2 as the 0.7.1 version has some security issues...0.7.2 does works well with avast...try the manual config again and report back :)
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: mwilson on July 20, 2004, 03:39:21 PM
I had to try a couple times, but running the Mail Protection Wizard did finally get my office setup working again.   ::)
Title: Re:Avast! not scanning Thunderbird 0.7.2
Post by: KezzerDrix on July 20, 2004, 03:58:18 PM
I was having the same problem.

thanks for the advice.