Avast WEBforum

Other => General Topics => Topic started by: logos on September 04, 2010, 01:07:46 AM

Title: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 01:07:46 AM
see my report here:
60% CPU load with current animation on Google home page ("buckyballs")
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Web+Search/thread?tid=72f718332b9bd96a&hl=en

leave Google main search page idle and see the result ::)

ps: in the meantime >>> blocking that with Ad-Block+ in firefox
edit: abp isn't enough, still much CPU load as long as the page is displayed.
edit: blocking javascript on google.com with NoScript works >>> CPU load goes down.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: DavidR on September 04, 2010, 01:55:38 AM
I don't know where you are getting this I don''t see it in my google searches. I have The firefox search bar set to Google as the default and I don't get this.

Yes if I go to google.com first to make a search I get that and the slow increase in CPU to about 25%, if I play with the buckyball with the mouse pointer, spin it etc. yes it goes up a bit more but it doesn't get to anything like 60%
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 02:03:53 AM
it's not just me, see the link I posted above to Google forums, and there's another thread:
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Web+Search/thread?tid=1990519f990f741f&hl=en&fid=1990519f990f741f00048f638c26bfb0

 I get the 60% overload without doing anything with the animation, just leaving the page idle.

so again:
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Web+Search/thread?tid=72f718332b9bd96a&hl=en

edit: you of course don't get anything if you use the search box or the address bar ;D
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: disPlay on September 04, 2010, 02:04:03 AM
Here  with the buckyball the Cpu increased exponentional to 66% and after staying 1 minute playing with it  the CPu usage stayed the same(+-66%).
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 02:05:27 AM
Here  with the buckyball the Cpu increased exponentional to 66% and after staying 1 minute playing with it  the CPu usage stayed the same(+-66%).

okay, that's just it
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 02:08:09 AM
@ disPlay: thanks for posting there ;)
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: disPlay on September 04, 2010, 02:09:48 AM
No problem logos, Hopefully the buckyball will go away is a short period of time :P
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: FreewheelinFrank on September 04, 2010, 05:31:19 AM
That animation is certainly CPU hungry!

Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 11:34:19 AM
can't believe they haven't removed it yet...
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: RejZoR on September 04, 2010, 12:51:58 PM
Maybe it's time to upgrade systems, don't you think? I've seen it on my animation and haven't realy noticed it's causing problems to my system...
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: spg SCOTT on September 04, 2010, 12:55:48 PM
Mine goes from about 2% to 20-30% on my system...I don't really see a slowdown, but it is a little hungry for CPU...
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 01:07:36 PM
okay the simpler is to switch to ssl >>> https://www.google.com/
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: YoKenny on September 04, 2010, 01:38:59 PM
No problem on my Windows 7 system but my XP Pro system really slows down untill I leave http://www.google.ca

Quote
Google is celebrating the 25th anniversary of the Buckyball - the discovery of Buckminster-Fullerene molecules - as an interactive Google Doddle on Saturday
http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/35448/google-doodles-buckyball-buckminster-fullerene
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: disPlay on September 04, 2010, 04:45:54 PM
Maybe it's time to upgrade systems, don't you think? I've seen it on my animation and haven't realy noticed it's causing problems to my system...

Upgrade my system to spin a buckyball in google?  I don't think so.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: RejZoR on September 04, 2010, 05:05:56 PM
If it can't handle that, it's probably outdated really for anything else as well...
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 05:33:07 PM
If it can't handle that, it's probably outdated really for anything else as well...

hey, can you stop posting negative stuff everywhere you can...I think that's enough, you're doing that everywhere on every topic and every forum you post...just spreading your negative impressions about everything...there are cures...pills...therapies etc...nobody here is concerned with your own personal depression alright?  ::)

to display >>> no need to worry, people with recent systems, including myself, posted in the Google thread about the issue...
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: RejZoR on September 04, 2010, 05:49:34 PM
I'm suppose to be depressed and negative and you guys are complaining over a webpage animation that won't be there tomorrow. Just a thought...
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: Darth.Mikey on September 04, 2010, 06:04:16 PM
More like reporting a bug...

I am seeing around 20-30 percent cpu usage with IE8 and it appears normal on Chrome(latest stable).
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 06:13:03 PM
I'm suppose to be depressed and negative and you guys are complaining over a webpage animation that won't be there tomorrow. Just a thought...

a thought ??? >>> keep thinking I like it ;D
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: RejZoR on September 04, 2010, 06:13:37 PM
Around 9%... it's not like i'm gonna stick around main page for long. In fact i never really see the Google page since i'm typing everything in the URL bar. "g buckyballs" and i search in Google for term "buckyballs".
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: polonus on September 04, 2010, 07:03:34 PM
Dear Forum Friends,

I do not have the Buckyball nuisance at all because I have NoScript and RequestPolicy installed. I have to allow with NoScript first before it is shown to roll, another few extra points for the universal protection of NoScript in the browser, even watches over my CPU wherever I go...

polonus
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: RejZoR on September 04, 2010, 08:31:07 PM
It's 60% CPU utilization on Atom N270 1,6GHz. And i can't see any downside of it. Everything is responsive as usual. And we all know Atoms are total crap compared even to full fledged single cores. And hardly anyone uses one today where dual cores are something casual.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: FreewheelinFrank on September 04, 2010, 08:57:15 PM
Maybe it's time to upgrade systems, don't you think? I've seen it on my animation and haven't realy noticed it's causing problems to my system...

No, I don't.

This is a humongous javascript animation of 60 dots and a large number of connecting lines* in 3D space. If a computer can run this, it can run any web page out there. This is in the browser after all, and not utilising the graphics card, as far as I know.

* Any mathematicians out there? 60 points forming 12 pentagons and 20 hexagons- how many links and therefore connecting lines in 3D space to animate does that make?

It's interesting to note how different browsers handle this task: on my system, Opera and Chrome both faired a lot better than Firefox.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: Jahn on September 04, 2010, 09:11:55 PM
The page is definitely heavy on my XP 32 2.0GB RAM 512MB VRAM system. I would hate to have Google as my home page right now. :o
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: polonus on September 04, 2010, 09:18:49 PM
Hi Jahn,

With NoScript in the Mozilla browser (e.g. Fx or Flock) you would not even notice you missed it,
until you actually allowed it to run, you still see Go gle,
the missing o would give it away something should be there,
at least for me, but there's so much I do not have to worry about because running NoScript,

polonus

All of the Fullereen code attached here as a txt file...
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: disPlay on September 04, 2010, 09:22:38 PM
If it can't handle that, it's probably outdated really for anything else as well...

CPU
   Intel Pentium E2180  @ 2.00GHz   44 °C
RAM
   2.0GB Single-Channel DDR2 @ 399MHz (5-5-5-15)
Motherboard
   ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5KPL-VM (Socket 775)
Graphics
   1024MB GeForce GTS 250 (CardExpert Technology)   47 °C


If with this setup the machine is how it was I don't want to see it with a P4 CPU or something before that.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: polonus on September 04, 2010, 09:41:08 PM
Hi folks,

NoScript block this, but I cannot make it go with NukeAnything advanced, hxtp://www.google.nl/search?q=Fullereen&ct=buckyball10-hp&oi=ddle

polonus
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: Alan Baxter on September 04, 2010, 09:44:32 PM
With NoScript in the Mozilla browser (e.g. Fx or Flock) you would not even notice you missed it,

Well, actually most NoScript users would still see it.  NoScript's default configuration allows google.com.  Many of us leave it enabled so we can use our other Google services such as gmail and greader.

I don't want to see it with a P4 CPU or something before that.

I agree.  Unfortunately, I'm running XP Pro on a 600MHz PIII, so the animation uses 100% of a CPU.  Fortunately, XP Pro multitasks pretty efficiently and I hardly notice the slowdown.  (It also helps that I have a dual CPU sytem; there's a whole CPU left over that bucky baby doesn't get to touch.)  That said, I use all my spare CPU for running World Community Grid in the background.  I don't like seeing Google gratuitously grabbing so much CPU that would otherwise be used for processing medical research data.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: polonus on September 04, 2010, 09:55:31 PM
Hi Alan Baxter,

I use the NS extension for what it should be used for, namely also to block 100% CPU consuming code. A pity when it is on google.com, hard for the developer of the "gimmick", but NS gives me the opportunity to block that also. To work NS in combination with RP (RequestPolicy) even makes that I can fine tune what to allow or disallow into my Mozilla browser flaw. Without these add-ons I would feel very, very uncomfortable. But again you must take some time to know how to work these extensions. It is not such a hard thing to do to come up with a lame excuse "It is over my head, so I refrain from using it or the few extra clicks will take the fun out of browsing for me (and let insecurity in - i.m.h.o.), but I do not want to go into a discussion thread like this one again: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61140.0

polonus
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 04, 2010, 11:55:40 PM
guys, again don't bother with NS as blocking google.com JS of course works, but that's a problem when you visit other google sites...gmail etc...you're better off just switching google.com to ssl, it takes just a sec and you're done until they remove that crap.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: polonus on September 05, 2010, 12:08:45 AM
Hi Logos,

But if you do that you will lack the protection of the avast shield, won't you?

pol
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: Alan Baxter on September 05, 2010, 12:09:21 AM
you're better off just switching google.com to ssl

Thank you, Logos.  ssl does the trick.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 05, 2010, 12:10:26 AM
read this: (from "GoodTeapot" ;D )

Quote
I've got Firefox, Win 7 64bit, Intel quad and 6Gb of ram core and the Google doodle bucky ball kills my browser. I've had to change my home page to Bing, I'm still in shock now, talk about a company shooting itself in the foot. And I've been using Firefox and Google for years but never had an issue like this! I can't even quite the browser as it takes all the clock cycles, the only way out is with task manager... You used to be able to compare Google to a fighter plane, now they seem more like airship....

http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Web+Search/thread?tid=72f718332b9bd96a&hl=en
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 05, 2010, 12:10:55 AM
you're better off just switching google.com to ssl

Thank you, Logos.  ssl does the trick.

np ;)
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 05, 2010, 12:12:44 AM
Hi Logos,

But if you do that you will lack the protection of the avast shield, won't you?

pol

hello,

doesn't matter, you won't get infections in the search results...main thing is that once you click on a link in the results, the web shield will be operational again.
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: logos on September 05, 2010, 12:23:47 AM
okay it's over they removed it.

edit: lol it's getting funny, apparently it's been removed only in the EU, and the US will have to wait until it's Sunday 12.30 am to see it disappear ;D ...nice when you live in California...9 hours to go lol ;D
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: Shalimar on September 05, 2010, 01:52:44 AM

Quote from: polonus on Today at 05:08:45 PM
Quote
Hi Logos,
But if you do that you will lack the protection of the avast shield, won't you?
pol
Quote from Logos on Today at 05:10:55 PM
Quote
hello,
doesn't matter, you won't get infections in the search results...main thing is that once you click on a link in the results, the web shield will be operational again.

Just my 2 cents worth regarding https in search engines on search pages & Avast:
I mainly use "startpage.com" (alias Ixquick.com) as my home page.  You can use http or httpS, and they don't keep your searches in a database "forever"!  I think they keep your searches for 1 or 2 days, and only out of necessity.  I have been using "startpage" with https about 90% of the time for the past 2-1/2 years, only switching over to Google occasionally to satisfy my desire for deeper search results.
Since I always use "startpage" in the https mode, I can also attest to the fact that when I search and then click on a link, Avast always takes over from that point, and has saved my skin several times...just like it did in my recent post about a malware URL on a search page! :)
Title: Re: Google must have gone "nuts"...
Post by: Chris Thomas on September 05, 2010, 12:06:26 PM
I saw that orange ball but I didn't notice any CPU spike. I usually don't leave any site idle.