Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: wyrmrider on October 13, 2010, 08:06:06 PM

Title: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on October 13, 2010, 08:06:06 PM
xp sp-3 fully patched
comodo firewall (not suite)
I have been getting the pop up balloon saying avast did not update
clicking the do now button brings up the updater but it hangs with about an 1/8 inch of yellow  (definitions or program)
I've been Dl the update file manually
other updaters seem to be working fine- windows update worked yesterday
any ideas
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: jpChris on October 13, 2010, 09:02:42 PM
Have you tried to set it to Auto Update? When I had mine set to Manual, it was a hit or miss proposition. However, setting it to Auto did the trick for me.
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on October 13, 2010, 10:09:06 PM
It is set to auto update
the balloon pops up saying that auto update failed
update now
clicking update now opens updater
windows task manager shows update taking about 16% of available cpu cycles- forever
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: Philo on October 13, 2010, 10:12:11 PM
:/ Have been having the same issues for over a week now with no real resolution. Best I can recommend is to stay on top of manually updating as needed until this is addressed and fixed...
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: =SKY= on October 14, 2010, 09:40:35 PM
Use "No Proxy"/"Direct Internet Connection" in the settings.
Try now again. ;)

PS:
I use the German version, but I think, you know, what setting points I mean, do you?
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: Philo on October 15, 2010, 03:36:35 AM
@Sky:

I did the same thing for the same problem, but it only worked for a day or so then the same thing happened. After messing with this for over a week now I don't think that those proxy settings have anything to do with fixing it. I'm still getting the same issue randomly, regardless of how the proxy is set :/
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on October 15, 2010, 05:49:30 PM
auto update still balloon failure notification and hanging
using manual update
using open dns
windows 7 x 64 systems ok 
this one is xp
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: =SKY= on October 17, 2010, 09:23:55 PM
@Sky:

I did the same thing for the same problem, but it only worked for a day or so then the same thing happened. After messing with this for over a week now I don't think that those proxy settings have anything to do with fixing it. I'm still getting the same issue randomly, regardless of how the proxy is set :/

@Philo
Ok Philo, I'm sorry, but thank you for the feedback!
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on October 30, 2010, 03:49:57 AM
I set the proxy to use NONE insted of use IE
still will not update
ding manual update for now
any other ideas?
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on October 30, 2010, 09:31:55 AM
1. Make sure your firewall is not blocking Avast from anything (updates included).

2. Try to Repair your installation:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.

3. If the Repair does not work, check your settings:
Open Avast GUI > Settings > Updates >

A. Engine and Virus Definitions: should be set at Automatic (default).

B. Update Parameters: all boxes unchecked (default)
   - If you use DSL, you may want to set #2 above to "My computer is permanently connected to the Internet."
   - If you use dial-up, you will want to use #2 above to "I only connect to the Internet using dial-up modem."

C. Proxy Settings: Auto Detect using IE Settings (default)
   - Some people have found that using "Direct connection / No Proxy" have worked for them.
   - Use "Specify Proxy Server" if you use a proxy and complete the information below it for the proxy server > click "OK."


Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on October 31, 2010, 05:38:26 PM
Thanks

1. Make sure your firewall is not blocking Avast from anything (updates included).
Will check again but I think I have tried with firewall inactivated with same resultsComodo does not show any blocking activity but it does look like a firewall issue

2. Try to Repair your installation:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.
Done but I'll do again and report back

3. If the Repair does not work, check your settings:
Open Avast GUI > Settings > Updates >
Will double check


A. Engine and Virus Definitions: should be set at Automatic (default).
Done- this is why I get the balloon that it failed

B. Update Parameters: all boxes unchecked (default)
   - If you use DSL, you may want to set #2 above to "My computer is permanently connected to the Internet."

Done alrady
   

C. Proxy Settings: Auto Detect using IE Settings (default)
   - Some people have found that using "Direct connection / No Proxy" have worked for them.
   - Use "Specify Proxy Server" if you use a proxy and complete the information below it for the proxy server > click "OK.

Neither works
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on October 31, 2010, 06:09:20 PM
I went to add remove programs- Repair- successful
the I ran the update from within add- remove programs
also successful
switched proxy back to i.e.
now let's see if avast updates manually within Avast

Nope- still hanging

(and were is the Comodo icon in tray)
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: YoKenny on October 31, 2010, 07:54:21 PM
@ wyrmrider

It would be so much easier if you went to PROFILE then Modify Profile then Forum Profile Information then select your country in Please select your country: then update your Signature: with information like my signature as this helps the helpers offer pertinent advice.

We do not know if you understand English. :-[

If you do not know how to use Comodo and it is not in the icon tray its really hard to help you.  ;)
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 01, 2010, 08:29:08 AM
wyrmrider,

Did you reboot after doing the Avast repair?  If not, repeat the process and see if this fixes it.  If not, then I suggest an uninstall and clean install of Avast.  Since I do not know what product of Avast you have (no Signature), I am including all of them below.

Uninstall Avast and do a CLEAN install:

1. Save a copy of newest version of Avast (5.0.677) for the version you need and save it to your HDD:
Free – http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe) - (English only)
Free – http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free.exe (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free.exe) - (multi-language version)
Pro –  http://www.avast.com/pro-antivirus#tab4 (http://www.avast.com/pro-antivirus#tab4)
AIS –  http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_ais.exe (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_ais.exe)
2. Download the Avast Uninstall Utility, aswClear5.exe http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility) and save it to your HDD (it has uninstall tools for both 4.0 and 5.0).
3. Disconnect from the Internet at this time.
4. Go to Control Panel and uninstall Avast through Add/Remove Programs if possible and reboot.
5. If Step 4 fails, boot into Safe Mode (http://Safe Mode) (hit F8 repeatedly) and run the Avast Uninstall Tool.
6. Reboot.
7. Install the newest version of Avast and reboot.
8. Get Internet access and register your copy or add the license key for Free, Pro, or AIS.
9. Update the Avast definitions.

As for your FW icon, this has nothing to do with Avast.  Let me know how this works for you.   Thank you.

Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 05, 2010, 05:38:40 PM
Thanks safe surf
Not my computer so a sig would only confuse- see the first post for system info

repair did not work
I D/l fresh copy of avast
removed avast- rebooted
ran avast clean up tool for ver 4 and for ver 5- reboot
tried to install and avast installer wanted to remove yet again
did so and rebooted ???
tried to install and avast said there was already an installation running- exit
ran CCleaner and rebooted
installed avast- rebooted
definitions are up to date as of time of install
now let's see if it updates
ran Secunia and updated some other things, Belarc adviser shows all current
updating Adobe flash is always such a pain
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: mebius1 on November 05, 2010, 08:34:35 PM
try this....open avast, and disable webshield

try to update, if it updates, keep webshield off untill they fix it

mebius!!!!
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 05, 2010, 11:56:32 PM
tried to install and avast installer wanted to remove yet again
did so and rebooted ???
tried to install and avast said there was already an installation running- exit
Something is not right if you got a prompt while installing the software wanted you to remove it.

Are you sure Comodo FW does not have the AV portion installed in it?  Was there ever another AV on this machine, even a trial version?  Do you have ANY other kind of security software that you can think of on this machine?  The reason I ask is because other security software or remnants of them left behind may cause conflicts and prevent AV's from being installed or working properly.

In the meantime, please check your computer for malware with Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware (MBAM).
·   Download free http://www.malwarebytes.org/ (http://www.malwarebytes.org/) for an on-demand scanner.
·   Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.
·   After install, click update so you have latest database before scanning.
·   Under Settings:
o   General: Automatically Save File After Scan Completes is checked off
o   Scanner SettingsCheck all boxes
o   Updater: Download and install update if available is checked off
·   Once the program has loaded, select "Perform FULL Scan", then click Scan.
·   The scan may take some time to finish, so please be patient.
·   When the disinfection scan is complete, a log will appear in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart. (See Extra Note).
·   Click the “remove selected” button to quarantine anything found.  You will find the infection details under the Quarantine tab.
·   The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by clicking the Logs tab in MBAM.
·   Copy & Paste the entire report in your next reply.

Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: nyf5545691 on November 06, 2010, 04:00:34 AM
1. Make sure your firewall is not blocking Avast from anything (updates included).

2. Try to Repair your installation:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.

3. If the Repair does not work, check your settings:
Open Avast GUI > Settings > Updates >

A. Engine and Virus Definitions: should be set at Automatic (default).

B. Update Parameters: all boxes unchecked (default)
   - If you use DSL, you may want to set #2 above to "My computer is permanently connected to the Internet."
   - If you use dial-up, you will want to use #2 above to "I only connect to the Internet using dial-up modem."

C. Proxy Settings: Auto Detect using IE Settings (default)
   - Some people have found that using "Direct connection / No Proxy" have worked for them.
   - Use "Specify Proxy Server" if you use a proxy and complete the information below it for the proxy server > click "OK."



thanks a lot. my update problem is get right from you passage.
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 06, 2010, 11:24:40 AM
@ nyf5545691,  You're welcome.  Glad I could help.  :)
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 09, 2010, 12:57:58 AM


safesurf
"Something is not right if you got a prompt while installing the software wanted you to remove it."
exactly- especially after running the removal tool after add/remove programs

Avast says current version 101011 however I just manually installed the latest version and after install popup indicated that todays  version was successfully installed
Evident auto update is still broken.

Will try with Comodo disabled and manually check program files for any other folders like Norton or Mcafee or etc
funy thing is that update worked fine for months
MBAM SCAN is clean as is SAS and SBS&D  HJT shows nothing
I'll run MBAM again tonight and copy and paste
thanks
hmmm check hosts


Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 09, 2010, 06:31:32 AM
@ wyrmrider,

If you still have a problem after doing the things you posted, you have some options:

1. Run a mini dump file to send to Avast:
- Here is additional information on how to invoke a memory dump file:  http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=71 (http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=71).
- Please, zip and upload the C:\Windows\Memory.dmp file to this anonymous ftp server and name it uniquely: ftp.avast.com/incoming (http://ftp.avast.com/incoming).  Avast will analyze it and respond to you in this thread or to your email.

2. Run an OTL log to check deeper for malware and have our Certified Malware Expert review it -> see here in the first post of this thread under Virus/Worms for you to check your machine for malware: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0).  Follow the directions for obtaining the OTL logs.  Post the two (2) OTL log as an attachment (Additional Options > Attach > Browse (the logs will be on your desktop > Post). 
- I will then refer you to Essexboy after your logs are posted. 

I would suggest that you run the dump file and then do the OTL logs just to make sure we are not missing anything.  Thank you.
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 09, 2010, 05:05:15 PM
safesurf 
working on this a little every day as manual update has been semi automated
a look through program files for orphan folders (old av's)found none
MBAM found a 0 byte .exe file which I scanned with Spybot and avast with negative results

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.46
www.malwarebytes.org

Database version: 5076

Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.18702

11/9/2010 7:57:01 AM
mbam-log-2010-11-09 (07-57-01).txt

Scan type: Full scan (C:\|)
Objects scanned: 240567
Time elapsed: 1 hour(s), 56 minute(s), 8 second(s)

Memory Processes Infected: 0
Memory Modules Infected: 0
Registry Keys Infected: 0
Registry Values Infected: 0
Registry Data Items Infected: 0
Folders Infected: 0
Files Infected: 1

Memory Processes Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Folders Infected:
(No malicious items detected)

Files Infected:
C:\Documents and Settings\Guest\Local Settings\Temp\325625754.exe (Trojan.FakeAlert.Gen) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

will continue working through the list

Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 09, 2010, 05:14:56 PM
Definitely a firewall or Defense + problem
will determine which
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 10, 2010, 09:56:04 AM
Based on your MBAM scan, I'm now thinking malware issue.  As long as your FW has the AV disabled and you have no remnants of other AV's on your machine and everything was working fine before, I highly recommend running an Avast boot-time scan and OTL log as I suggested in my earlier post to see if you have some deeper malware issues going on.

Run an OTL log to check deeper for malware and have our Certified Malware Expert review it -> see here in the first post of this thread under Virus/Worms for you to check your machine for malware: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0).  Follow the directions for obtaining the OTL logs.  Post the two (2) OTL log as an attachment (Additional Options > Attach > Browse (the logs will be on your desktop > Post). 
- I will then refer you to Essexboy after your logs are posted.
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 11, 2010, 06:20:43 PM
Hi safe surf
Avast is not disabled and is being manually updated every day
turning off the Comodo "defense+" feature allows Avast update to function normally

So over to Comodo

I'll do a rootkit scan, boot time scan, and run hjt again but do not expect to find anything
maybe not till this wekend
thanks
wyrmrnder
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 12, 2010, 08:52:15 AM
I'll do a rootkit scan, boot time scan, and run hjt again but do not expect to find anything
Instead of Hjt scan, do OTL, as I am going to refer you to Essexboy for his input and he does not use Hjt; OTL gives more information.  It probably will not show anything, but we have to rule it out, and he knows his stuff.  ;)
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: nnoa110 on November 12, 2010, 09:17:52 AM
Quote
Avast is not disabled and is being manually updated every day
turning off the Comodo "defense+" feature allows Avast update to function normally

So over to Comodo

@wyrmrider

Hi

Comodo firewall and Defense + works fine on my computer.
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 12, 2010, 09:38:31 AM
turning off the Comodo "defense+" feature allows Avast update to function normally
He is not having a problem with the FW and Avast.  Something else is going on that we are trying to trouble-shoot.  Thanks.  :)
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 12, 2010, 06:10:43 PM
Thanks safe suf and others

autoupdate worked fine on the XP-SP3 machine also
QTL   Superantispyware removes QTL Fake Alert- perhaps the 0 byte file that mbam found was a remnant
I'll run SAS again

Safe- what program were you suggesting I run instead of HJT?

boot time avast scan scheduled next time the machine fires up

Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 12, 2010, 10:28:49 PM
safesurf

boot time scan- no vrus found
SAS log shows nothing but cookies
what program did you want me to scan with?

SAS did it's usual machine hog routine
I must have scan on startup checked somewhere
al I wanted to do is check the log
It ran a scan or something then updated and went of and ran for another 10 min
go figure
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 13, 2010, 09:22:41 AM
Check your Start Up to see what is running and turn off any nonessential programs.  Sometimes things sneak in there that you do not need, then just "disable" the items you do not need.

If you are still having problems, the log I suggested was an OTL log. 
- Check the information on the first post of this thread under Virus/Worms for you to check your machine for malware: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0).  Follow the directions for obtaining the OTL logs.  Post the two (2) OTL log as an attachment (Additional Options > Attach > Browse (the logs will be on your desktop > Post). 

Hang in there.  I know you have been through a lot with this, but we'll get to the bottom of this.
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 17, 2010, 04:02:08 AM
thanks safe surf
xp3 machine is out as a loaner for a couple of weeks
with the Comodo optional module defense + turned off Avast update works fine
I turned Spybot T-timer on instead
I'll get back to you when machine returns
nothing from comodo from 11/11 inquiry- not good
wyrmrider
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 17, 2010, 08:44:11 AM
OK...keep me posted and let me know what I can do to help.  Essexboy is available to review things if needed.  Thanks for the update.
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 28, 2010, 02:18:47 AM
I re-posted to the comodo forum
update works fine as long as I leave their Defense + off
Secuni PSI shows all up to date
MBAM, SBS&D and SAS still clear
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 28, 2010, 09:13:59 AM
update works fine as long as I leave their Defense + off
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the Defense + the HIPS portion of their product?  What version of Comodo do you have? 
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: Asyn on November 28, 2010, 12:05:50 PM
I turned Spybot T-timer on instead

Hi guys, I would get rid of Spybot completely...!! ;)
asyn
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 28, 2010, 12:33:10 PM
I would get rid of Spybot completely...!!
Totally agree.  We have seen many problems with people using SB and especially TT.

If you want to try and get to the root cause of your problem, perhaps you need to now uninstall security software, especially ones that we know cause issues.

- Uninstall Spybot S&D w/Teatimer: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/howto/uninstall.html (http://www.safer-networking.org/en/howto/uninstall.html). In addition, you need to go into Advanced settings to disable the resident protection (2 areas to possibly disable – Teatimer and some IE blocking), then de-immunize if the immunity has been set.  That takes a minute or more sometimes.  The run the program’s own uninstaller, which should be in the Add/Remove Programs.  Also see this thread:  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=65833.30 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=65833.30).

Let us know how this goes in resolving your problem.

Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 28, 2010, 05:38:09 PM
The problem is comodo defense + not Tea timer
defense+ on no auto update
defense plus off avast update works fine
no response yet from comodo tech support
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: wyrmrider on November 28, 2010, 05:43:04 PM
Latest comodo- ver 5 with latest updates
xp SP-3 machine is still out on loan but user reports avast working correctly
You will notice that MBAM recommends Spybot as second opinion scanner
I used to be on the Ad-aware and Spybot help teams but many years ago
All the good Ad-aware people are now helping at MBAM or elsewhere
I left when adaware bent over from threats from adservers
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: Philo on November 28, 2010, 06:19:08 PM
Been Awhile since I asked about this issue, mainly because it seems to have fixed itself. Well,except for the other day when it didn't auto-update. Has been working since then though.  ???
Title: Re: auto update hangs
Post by: Asyn on November 29, 2010, 08:27:14 AM
The problem is comodo defense + not Tea timer

I never heard of any problem related to D+ blocking auto update...
But Spybot does some funny things sometimes. Sure, it's up to you, what to do, but I would drop Spybot. ;)
asyn