Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: sg09 on November 26, 2010, 08:26:25 AM

Title: Avast interface hangs
Post by: sg09 on November 26, 2010, 08:26:25 AM
I am running Avast free v5 in Windows 7 ultimate 32 bit with 1GB RAM without any slowdown. But when I open the interface its freezes. I tried uninstalling with Revo Uninstaller and also with Avast uninstallation tool but the problem has not been resolved.
I have no other antivirus product installed in the system and the Windows in up-to-date.
My system is also clean as tested by Avast, Nod32 Online Scanner, Hitman Pro.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 26, 2010, 08:48:06 AM
Hello sg09 and welcome to the forum,

What other antivirus, firewall, trial versions of security software and other security software do you currently have or had in the past in this machine?  If you had other software in the past, use the vendor's uninstaller tools to remove them (not Revo), but let me know what you currently have in case there may be a conflict.

Avast does not recommend that you uninstall with Revo, but only with the Avast Uninstall Utility Tool.  Therefore, I recommend that you do a complete uninstall of Avast and a clean install:

1. Save a copy of newest version of Avast (5.0.677) for the version you need and save it to your HDD:
Free – http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe) - (English only)
Free – http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free.exe (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free.exe) - (multi-language version)
2. Download the Avast Uninstall Utility, aswClear5.exe http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility) and save it to your HDD (it has uninstall tools for both 4.0 and 5.0).
3. Disconnect from the Internet at this time.
4. Go to Control Panel and uninstall Avast through Add/Remove Programs if possible and reboot.
5. If Step 4 fails, boot into Safe Mode (http://Safe Mode) (hit F8 repeatedly) and run the Avast Uninstall Tool.
6. Reboot.
7. Install the newest version of Avast and reboot.
8. Get Internet access and register your copy Free:
    Free – http://www.avast.com/registration-free-antivirus.php (http://www.avast.com/registration-free-antivirus.php)
9. Update the Avast definitions.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: Pondus on November 26, 2010, 08:49:50 AM
Quote
My system is also clean as tested by Avast, Nod32 Online Scanner, Hitman Pro.
do a check with Malwarebytes also....
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 26, 2010, 08:56:25 AM
Good idea Pondus.  ;)

Check your computer for malware with Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware (MBAM).
·   Download free http://www.malwarebytes.org/ (http://www.malwarebytes.org/) (the blue button) for an on-demand scanner.
·   Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.
·   After install, click update so you have latest database before scanning.
·   Under Settings:
o   General: Automatically Save File After Scan Completes is checked off
o   Scanner SettingsCheck all boxes
o   Updater: Download and install update if available is checked off
·   Once the program has loaded, select "Perform FULL Scan", then click Scan.
·   The scan may take some time to finish, so please be patient.
·   When the disinfection scan is complete, a log will appear in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart. (See Extra Note).
·   Click the “remove selected” button to quarantine anything found.  You will find the infection details under the Quarantine tab.
·   The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by clicking the Logs tab in MBAM.
·   Copy & Paste the entire report in your next reply.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: bong2x on November 26, 2010, 10:26:47 AM
Quote
Avast, Nod32 Online Scanner

Check out if this two are compatible i doubt it ;)
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: Tenko on November 26, 2010, 12:15:49 PM
Make sure that you have only one AV and one firewall active.

I would really recommend you to upgrade your ram to 3Gb or so. You could also install XP.

Regards,
               Tenko
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: YoKenny on November 26, 2010, 02:31:31 PM
You could also install XP.
Why would anyone downgrade to XP after using Windows 7 ???

I would upgrade the RAM to 4GB though.

Do not use Revo Uninstaller as it can remove items that are needed by the system for avast! removal and re-installation.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: Tenko on November 26, 2010, 03:48:07 PM
1Gb for Win7 (32bit of course and especially not 64bit) is to little. 1Gb on xp goes (2 GB would be better). Sometime a computer that is a bit older works better on XP than Win 7.

Regards,
              Tenko
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: YoKenny on November 26, 2010, 04:06:49 PM
Use Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor
Quote
To see if your PC is ready for Windows 7, download the free Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor. It scans your PC for potential issues with your hardware, devices, and installed programs, and recommends what to do before you upgrade.
http://windows.about.com/gi/o.htm?zi=1/XJ&zTi=1&sdn=windows&cdn=compute&tm=14&gps=464_263_1222_803&f=00&tt=12&bt=0&bts=1&zu=http%3A//www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/upgrade-advisor.aspx

I used that on my XP Pro system and it comes up lacking. 
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: -BigBear- on November 26, 2010, 07:23:59 PM
I would really recommend you to upgrade your ram to 3Gb or so. You could also install XP.
XP Doesn't register 3 gigz of ram

Operating systems based on Microsoft® Windows NT® technologies have always provided applications with a flat 32-bit virtual address space that describes 4 gigabytes (GB) of virtual memory. The address space is usually split so that 2 GB of address space is directly accessible to the application and the other 2 GB is only accessible to the Windows executive software. 

According to this, if your RAM exceeds 2GB, the excess amount will be used only by Windows kernel and therefore the report from Control Panel is quite correct in that it is reporting only the usable RAM for applications.



Before an upgrade of ram I would check to ensure the motherboards specifications... If your motherboard only allows 2 gigs for example, anymore would in fact slow down the computer
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 27, 2010, 01:13:15 AM
@ sg09,

Could you please answer the questions I asked you in Post #1, then run an MBAM scan as requested so that I can help you with your problem?  Thank you.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: sg09 on November 27, 2010, 09:46:27 AM
Hi, sorry for the delay in answer. I uninstalled Avast with Avast uninstallation tool, but the same problem persists. The system is a fresh install, so I have a strong doubt if there is any infections (I also run Emsisoft AM free and MBAM). There is Windows Fiorewall and Windows Defender running along with Avast. Eset online scanner is a on-demand utility, so I doubt if it could interfare with Avast when it is not running.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 27, 2010, 10:10:57 AM
I also run Emsisoft AM
Your problem is that you are running 2 AV's at the same time -- Avast and Emsi Antimalware http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/antimalware/ (http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/antimalware/).  Emsi AM contains an AV.  In addition, it's a good thing you are running the free version of MBAM since the MBAM Pro (paid) conflicts with Emsi AM http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/1941-malwarebytes-and-emsisoft-am-ver-5/ (http://support.emsisoft.com/topic/1941-malwarebytes-and-emsisoft-am-ver-5/).

So for Avast to work, you need to uninstall Emsi AM per the vendor's uninstaller instructions and tool and reboot.

Try an Avast Repair:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.

If the Avast Repair fails to work, then you need to do an Avast uninstall/clean install since having 2 AV's in your system probably corrupted drivers.  Follow my previous instructions for doing an Avast uninstall/clean install, and reboot when all is done.

Having MBAM Free is fine, as well as Win7 firewall and WD; they will not conflict with Avast.

Let me know if this fixes your problem.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: sg09 on November 27, 2010, 11:14:22 AM
@SafeSurf: I am running the free version of Emsisoft AM, which does not have a resident scanner included. So, it is unlikely that it would conflict with Avast. Moreover it is portable.
http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/eek/
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 27, 2010, 11:23:53 AM
I am running the free version of Emsisoft AM, which does not have a resident scanner included. So, it is unlikely that it would conflict with Avast. Moreover it is portable.http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/eek/
My apologies for not understanding the version you had for Emsi.  Since you are still having the problem and a clean install of Avast did not resolve your issue, and you do not want to try a scan with MBAM, as a test I would suggest uninstalling Emsi AM and rebooting to see if this fixes your Avast issue.  If it does not resolve the issue, then you can reinstall Emsi AM and we can continue problem-solving.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: sg09 on November 27, 2010, 11:59:16 AM
I am running the free version of Emsisoft AM, which does not have a resident scanner included. So, it is unlikely that it would conflict with Avast. Moreover it is portable.http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/eek/
My apologies for not understanding the version you had for Emsi.  Since you are still having the problem and a clean install of Avast did not resolve your issue, and you do not want to try a scan with MBAM, as a test I would suggest uninstalling Emsi AM and rebooting to see if this fixes your Avast issue.  If it does not resolve the issue, then you can reinstall Emsi AM and we can continue problem-solving.
Hi, I have run a scan with MBAM already and it didnot find anything. ::)
Regarding Emsisoft, as it is portable, there is no question of installation/uninstallation... ;)
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: SafeSurf on November 28, 2010, 09:34:29 AM
Could you please invoke a memory dump file to send to Avast to analyze your problem.

Here is additional information on how to invoke a memory dump file:  http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=71 (http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=71).

Please, zip and upload the C:\Windows\Memory.dmp file to this anonymous ftp server and name it uniquely: ftp.avast.com/incoming (http://ftp.avast.com/incoming).  Avast will analyze it and report back to you in this thread or by email.  If by email, please keep us informed in this thread.  Thank you.
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: Asyn on November 28, 2010, 11:43:58 AM
@SafeSurf: I am running the free version of Emsisoft AM, which does not have a resident scanner included. So, it is unlikely that it would conflict with Avast. Moreover it is portable.
http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/eek/

The Emergency Kit is no problem.
I even run the full EAM (resident components disabled) here, without any problems..!! ;)
asyn
Title: Re: Avast interface hangs
Post by: Tenko on November 29, 2010, 11:31:27 AM
I would really recommend you to upgrade your ram to 3Gb or so. You could also install XP.
XP Doesn't register 3 gigz of ram

Operating systems based on Microsoft® Windows NT® technologies have always provided applications with a flat 32-bit virtual address space that describes 4 gigabytes (GB) of virtual memory. The address space is usually split so that 2 GB of address space is directly accessible to the application and the other 2 GB is only accessible to the Windows executive software. 

According to this, if your RAM exceeds 2GB, the excess amount will be used only by Windows kernel and therefore the report from Control Panel is quite correct in that it is reporting only the usable RAM for applications.



Before an upgrade of ram I would check to ensure the motherboards specifications... If your motherboard only allows 2 gigs for example, anymore would in fact slow down the computer

There you are wrong; I had a vista computer that has 3Gb which I degrade to XP and XP saw that I had 3Gb.

sq09 try to see if 2 or 3Gb helps; Windows 7 by default uses abit less than 1Gb.

Regards,
              Tenko