Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Seven on November 30, 2010, 07:51:18 PM

Title: [Resolved] Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: Seven on November 30, 2010, 07:51:18 PM
When I click on a file or folder to scan by right clicking it doesn't scan. It was working until this evening when I noticed that my AV shields had failed and wouldn't allow me to start them.
I reinstalled avast and now the right click isn't working.

I do have all options for this clicked.
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: CraigB on November 30, 2010, 08:03:05 PM
Try a repair through add remove program's
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: Seven on November 30, 2010, 09:29:23 PM
Thanks Craig -tried with no success.
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: schmidthouse on December 01, 2010, 12:08:56 AM
When you did the reinstall did you a clean uninstall through Add and Remove and then also run ASWCLEAR5(Clean up Utility)in safe mode? Then reinstall the latest version.
May help...doing a clean uninstall is important in getting a clean install ;)
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: DavidR on December 01, 2010, 01:04:18 AM
For a clean reinstall follow (I have assumed you are using the free version):
- Download the latest version of avast, 5.0.677 Free AV: - http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe) (English only) and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again (if you didn't save your last download). Use that when you reinstall.

- Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, aswClear5.exe find it here (http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility) and save it to your HDD (it has uninstall tools for both 4.8 and 5.0).
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: Seven on December 01, 2010, 06:51:51 AM
Thank you everyone, I booted this morning and it was working again.
Maybe I just needed to reboot after installing?

BTW -is it possible that a hacker or virus could stop AVAST's shields?
I discovered all my shields were down and the 'START' button was greyed out preventing me from starting any services. Very odd.

Many thanks for all your input David, Graig & Schmidt.
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: schmidthouse on December 01, 2010, 07:48:29 AM
You are welcome.
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: Gargamel360 on December 01, 2010, 07:57:40 AM
BTW -is it possible that a hacker or virus could stop AVAST's shields?
I discovered all my shields were down and the 'START' button was greyed out preventing me from starting any services. Very odd.

Are you sure it was all shields or was it just the mail and web shield, occurring right at start-up, and fixing itself shortly after?
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: SafeSurf on December 01, 2010, 08:59:07 AM
Maybe I just needed to reboot after installing?
Yes, you do need to reboot after installing.

In the future if you have a problem with Avast, instead of jumping the gun and uninstalling Avast, try the Avast Repair option first:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.

This usually does the trick.

When you feel that your issue is resolved/fixed, please go back to the first open post in this topic, click the modify button in that Post and change the title/subject, add [Resolved] to the beginning of the title so this thread can be closed. 

Feel free to come back any time you need help, to learn something new, or just to ask questions.  We are here 24/7 for your convenience.  Thank you. :)

Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: Seven on December 01, 2010, 11:21:47 AM

Are you sure it was all shields or was it just the mail and web shield, occurring right at start-up, and fixing itself shortly after?

Yes it was all shields, and this was yesterday after hours of being logged on. Where it says Avast! Shields Control on the right click UI, it stated ' All shields are off'.
Title: Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
Post by: SafeSurf on December 01, 2010, 11:41:49 AM
Yes it was all shields, and this was yesterday after hours of being logged on.
Do a quick scan today to make sure all is clean.  Sounds like things are back to normal now.  :)