Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Paultx on August 25, 2004, 02:57:41 PM

Title: Update on the start menu
Post by: Paultx on August 25, 2004, 02:57:41 PM
Is there a way to put the update shortcuts on the Windows Start menu?
Title: Re:Update on the start menu
Post by: Lisandro on August 25, 2004, 03:53:05 PM
Is there a way to put the update shortcuts on the Windows Start menu?

In Professional version you could link to:
"C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashUpd.exe" vps /silent /nodetails
for instance  ;)
Title: Re:Update on the start menu
Post by: bob3160 on August 25, 2004, 04:58:41 PM
Thanks Technical
The shortcut even works! ;D
Title: Re:Update on the start menu
Post by: Lisandro on August 25, 2004, 05:12:09 PM
Thanks Technical
The shortcut even works! ;D

Of course, in Professional version you could schedule it but, I know, it's missing time schedule possibilities for that, I mean, you can schedule dayle, weekly, monthly... but you can't schedule at logon, at logoff, at boot  :'(
I've already asked this feature in the wishlist  :P
Title: Re:Update on the start menu
Post by: Paultx on August 25, 2004, 09:19:56 PM
Two issues, now. My Avast version is 4.1 Home. I didn't find any ashUpd.exe, only one aswUpdSv.exe...

And the Start menu shortcut I'd like to use for updating both the program and the database would be like this one in the image - which didn't work and had an ilegal operation error.

(http://img65.exs.cx/img65/9476/Avast_startm.gif)

Title: Re:Update on the start menu
Post by: Lisandro on August 25, 2004, 10:02:17 PM
Two issues, now. My Avast version is 4.1 Home. I didn't find any ashUpd.exe, only one aswUpdSv.exe...

Well, like I said, only in Professional version you could do that... not in Home  :-\