Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: wei on March 05, 2011, 04:46:46 AM

Title: Script Shield
Post by: wei on March 05, 2011, 04:46:46 AM
SOS!  AVAST! 6.0 free
The Script Shield can't intercept all scripts executed on IE9 RC!
But IE8 can.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: marc-d-l on March 05, 2011, 05:20:17 AM
So what's the question here ?
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: wei on March 05, 2011, 05:42:50 AM
If use IE9,Script Shield can't scan scripts on IE9.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: MAG on March 05, 2011, 10:01:45 AM
If use IE9,Script Shield can't scan scripts on IE9.
That's right. If you want script shield to work use IE8.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: YoKenny on March 05, 2011, 02:50:32 PM
That's right. If you want script shield to work use IE8.
Not true.

Script Shield works on IE9 on my Windows 7 system.  8)
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: intrepid44 on March 05, 2011, 03:04:12 PM
Works on my IE9 windows7 64 bit also... ;D
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: MAG on March 05, 2011, 03:08:38 PM
Odd :-[ - I've never seen any script shield activity on my w7 64bit system with IE9 (32 bit or 64 bit).  

There is script shield activity associated with other programs with script activity (such as WMP) though. Is that definitely IE9 browsing ss activity on your w7 64bit system?

If so I'll need to do a bit more digging I think ???.

Did you need to do anything to IE9 settings to get it to work?
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: wei on March 06, 2011, 03:17:11 PM
Never work on my IE9 win7 32 bit
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: YoKenny on March 06, 2011, 04:46:38 PM
Did you need to do anything to IE9 settings to get it to work?
No.

Works well on my XP Pro system as well.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Hermite15 on March 06, 2011, 04:50:22 PM
If use IE9,Script Shield can't scan scripts on IE9.
That's right. If you want script shield to work use IE8.

nope, should work with IE9 too ;)
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: MAG on March 06, 2011, 05:20:51 PM

nope, should work with IE9 too ;)

So it seems - but it doesn't work for me :(, (or a few others).

Repair hasn't helped (and anyway, the script shield was working on other scripts). I'll get around to trying a reinstall at some stage.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Ashish Singh on March 06, 2011, 05:43:17 PM
Ya it also don't work for my firefox beta......  ::) ::)
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Asyn on March 06, 2011, 05:53:36 PM
Ya it also don't work for my firefox beta......  ::) ::)

Please don't double-post..!
Further ScriptShield is not designed to work with FF, this may change though.
asyn
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Nesivos on March 06, 2011, 07:00:58 PM

The last script that Script Shield scanned on my x64 with using 4.0 Beta 12 was a Windows Scripting Host script generated by PSIA.exe which is the Secunia PSI Agent (software update advisor).
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: DBone on March 06, 2011, 07:04:22 PM
It also doesn't work with Chrome. I use Chrome 100% of the time, and I'm now just wondering if the SS is just taking up RAM for me. Maybe I should uninstall the SS??
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Nesivos on March 06, 2011, 07:10:33 PM
Since this thread is entitled "Script Shield" here is a link to an Avast White Paper on Avast 5 entitled "Blocking Internet Threats: The Avast Script Engine".

http://download851.avast.com/files/marketing/materials/whitepaper_scriptengine.pdf (http://download851.avast.com/files/marketing/materials/whitepaper_scriptengine.pdf)

If anyone has a link to a similar White Paper on Avast 6 could they please post it.

Thanks :)





Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: DavidR on March 06, 2011, 07:13:00 PM
It also doesn't work with Chrome. I use Chrome 100% of the time, and I'm now just wondering if the SS is just taking up RAM for me. Maybe I should uninstall the SS??

It isn't just browser bases scripts that it scans.

If it wasn't scanning anything, it would be dormant how could it be taking up RAM as the function is controlled by the avastSvc.exe its RAM use would be within the avastSvc.exe process which if you check is still relatively light. So uninstalling it I rather doubt would make any appreciable difference to RAM use.

I have firefox as my default browser (which currently isn't supported), yet it is scanning scripts, which are outside of firefox.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: ShaneARay on March 06, 2011, 07:26:35 PM
I don't think anyone official from Avast has clarified this yet, so could they please?

I'd be very disappointed if this shield only works with a certain browser.  Further, if this is indeed the case, it should be clearly stated on the website or in the docs.  It is not (that I could see).

It seems rather pointless to provide a protective shield if it fails to work for a good percentage of internet facing apps.

I don't want to sound snarky, but I'm moving closer and closer to requesting a refund on the two licenses I purchased.  The program seems unfinished, buggy, and with features not offering the level of protection one would expect.

Of course, if I'm way off base as far as script shield needing to work with all browsers is concerned, please correct me.

Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: DBone on March 06, 2011, 07:28:48 PM
It also doesn't work with Chrome. I use Chrome 100% of the time, and I'm now just wondering if the SS is just taking up RAM for me. Maybe I should uninstall the SS??

It isn't just browser bases scripts that it scans.

If it wasn't scanning anything, it would be dormant how could it be taking up RAM as the function is controlled by the avastSvc.exe its RAM use would be within the avastSvc.exe process which if you check is still relatively light. So uninstalling it I rather doubt would make any appreciable difference to RAM use.

I have firefox as my default browser (which currently isn't supported), yet it is scanning scripts, which are outside of firefox.

OK, point taken regarding the RAM ;D  I have had avast6 installed since beta, and for over the entire time its been installed, my SS has scanned 0 scripts. Is that because Chrome is better somehow at blocking scripts, or is it simply because avast6 doesn't support Chrome?

I will leave SS installed, but I'm just curious why it hasn't at least scanned 1 script on my machine?
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: MAG on March 06, 2011, 07:34:09 PM
It also doesn't work with Chrome. I use Chrome 100% of the time, and I'm now just wondering if the SS is just taking up RAM for me. Maybe I should uninstall the SS??

It isn't just browser bases scripts that it scans.

If it wasn't scanning anything, it would be dormant how could it be taking up RAM as the function is controlled by the avastSvc.exe its RAM use would be within the avastSvc.exe process which if you check is still relatively light. So uninstalling it I rather doubt would make any appreciable difference to RAM use.

I have firefox as my default browser (which currently isn't supported), yet it is scanning scripts, which are outside of firefox.

OK, point taken regarding the RAM ;D  I have had avast6 installed since beta, and for over the entire time its been installed, my SS has scanned 0 scripts. Is that because Chrome is better somehow at blocking scripts, or is it simply because avast6 doesn't support Chrome?

I will leave SS installed, but I'm just curious why it hasn't at least scanned 1 script on my machine?

Try starting windows media player - any script shield response?
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: doktornotor on March 06, 2011, 07:37:57 PM
I don't think anyone official from Avast has clarified this yet, so could they please?
I'd be very disappointed if this shield only works with a certain browser.  Further, if this is indeed the case, it should be clearly stated on the website or in the docs.  It is not (that I could see).

As already stated elsewhere on this forum by Vlk (avast's CTO), Script Shield is a work in progress and only works with IE 32bit at the moment. It will be also used for other applications which use IE components, such as Windows Media Player, Sidebar etc. Probably works when you use functionality such as IE tabs in FF/Chrome as well (didn't test myself).
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: ShaneARay on March 06, 2011, 07:40:21 PM


As already stated elsewhere on this forum by Vlk (avast's CTO), Script Shield is a work in progress and only works with IE 32bit at the moment. It will be also used for other applications which use IE components, such as Windows Media Player, Sidebar etc. Probably works when you use functionality such as IE tabs in FF/Chrome as well (didn't test myself).


Thanks for the clarification :)
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: DavidR on March 06, 2011, 07:57:44 PM
<snip>
OK, point taken regarding the RAM ;D  I have had avast6 installed since beta, and for over the entire time its been installed, my SS has scanned 0 scripts. Is that because Chrome is better somehow at blocking scripts, or is it simply because avast6 doesn't support Chrome?

I will leave SS installed, but I'm just curious why it hasn't at least scanned 1 script on my machine?

I suspect it might be more to do with your OS being win7 64bit, though I don't know that for sure as an avast user not avast developer.

My other system, netbook with win7 starter (32bit) which I have just started shows 10 scripts have been scanned. Over the last week in line with my last image Statistics, it shows 1,308 scripts scanned.

So I honestly don't know why yours isn't showing any activity. But I believe there are other win7 x64 users that are showing activity, hopefully one of those can confirm.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: MAG on March 06, 2011, 08:15:39 PM
But I believe there are other win7 x64 users that are showing activity, hopefully one of those can confirm.

As pointed out earlier in this thread, ss works on my w7 64bit system.

(but not on IE9 (32bit or 64bit), and I'd like to know why not (since kenny says his does work)) ???
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: DBone on March 06, 2011, 08:25:10 PM

Try starting windows media player - any script shield response?

I have never even set up my WMP since I've had my machine, so I obviously don't use it much. ;)  I just set it up and yep, my SS scanned a whole bunch of stuff. Thanks!
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: danny96 on March 06, 2011, 10:01:37 PM
Working for me too. I think that It supports all browsers (Chrome, IE 9,8 and Firefox)
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: DavidR on March 06, 2011, 10:26:38 PM
No it doesn't support Chrome or Firefox, the current script shield supports the old three browser it originally did back in avast 4.8 Pro days; IE, Netscape and Mozilla (not firefox) browsers.

It is planned that they will incorporate firefox (no dates) and then possibly the browsers with smaller user bases, so that would assume that Chrome would follow Firefox in the future.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Hermite15 on March 07, 2011, 12:44:36 AM
Working for me too. I think that It supports all browsers (Chrome, IE 9,8 and Firefox)

and even Netscape Navigator 8)
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: MAG on March 09, 2011, 07:30:00 PM

nope, should work with IE9 too ;)

So it seems - but it doesn't work for me :(, (or a few others).

Repair hasn't helped (and anyway, the script shield was working on other scripts). I'll get around to trying a reinstall at some stage.

Well, I did an uninstall and reinstall of avast (now on the latest beta) - and the script shield still doesn't work on  w7 IE9 (32 bit or 64 bit) for me :'(.

Which is a shame - because I quite like IE9.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: YoKenny on March 09, 2011, 08:37:30 PM
But I believe there are other win7 x64 users that are showing activity, hopefully one of those can confirm.

As pointed out earlier in this thread, ss works on my w7 64bit system.

(but not on IE9 (32bit or 64bit), and I'd like to know why not (since kenny says his does work)) ???
I don't use Comodo though and hardly use IE9 32bit any more.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: privateofcourse on March 09, 2011, 09:11:31 PM
So basically, if you use Firefox, and don't use other Microsoft apps Script Shield would seem a bit pointless. In which case I may as well disable it permanently. I didn't realise it wasn't actually doing anything useful.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: essexboy on March 09, 2011, 09:13:26 PM
As far as I know there is no overhead in leaving it on.  I do not use P2P or IM yet I still have them running albeit in the standby (asleep) mode 
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: privateofcourse on March 09, 2011, 09:20:00 PM
Yeah, perhaps that's a better way to deal with it.

Just checked the Script Shield stats/log and it shows as scanning 3958 scripts in total, which must all me local because I don't use IE. Contrary to what I thought, perhaps it is doing something useful. I'll just leave it active then.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: DavidR on March 09, 2011, 09:22:27 PM
So basically, if you use Firefox, and don't use other Microsoft apps Script Shield would seem a bit pointless. In which case I may as well disable it permanently. I didn't realise it wasn't actually doing anything useful.

No it isn't pointless, because the script shield doesn't only scan web based scripts. I avoid IE like the plague and use firefox as my primary browser and the script shield is scanning see the traffic over the last week.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Techtronic on March 09, 2011, 09:35:47 PM
Just to add my 2 cents, using Win 7 64bit and running IE9RC 32bit and avast!IS 6. Script shield has not scanned any (0) scripts while using IE9RC for over 2 weeks. By the numbers, IE is still the leading browser and IE9 is scheduled to be officialy released very soon. I would expect the script shield in avast! 6 to work with IE9 by then :P  PS. the script shield works with media player, just not with IE9RC.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Nesivos on March 09, 2011, 09:38:18 PM
So basically, if you use Firefox, and don't use other Microsoft apps Script Shield would seem a bit pointless. In which case I may as well disable it permanently. I didn't realise it wasn't actually doing anything useful.

I don't agree with that.

You may not get as much benefit from Script Shield if you use Firefox 4.0 Beta X with NoSript but Script Shield does more than check Internet scripts

Avast Script Shield also checks the Windows Scripting Hosting Scripts that are being executed in the operating system.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: MAG on March 09, 2011, 09:46:37 PM
By the numbers, IE is still the leading browser and IE9 is scheduled to be officialy released very soon. I would expect the script shield in avast! 6 to work with IE9 by then :P  PS. the script shield works with media player, just not with IE9RC.

Three posters (including two evangelists) have stated earlier in this thread that it does work with IE9 on their w7 64 bit systems.

Some of us aren't so lucky.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: privateofcourse on March 09, 2011, 09:52:27 PM
@ DavidR  and Nesivos

Yes, and, on checking the script shield stats, I discovered that what you say is about right...and I already conceded before your responses ...if you look above your posts, you'll see my post conceding this and complete with attached image. ;D

Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Hermite15 on March 10, 2011, 12:02:40 AM
had 143 scripts scanned today on IE9...probably on IE9... too bad I didn't look as it happened as I don't have any track of what was scanned precisely.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: privateofcourse on March 10, 2011, 12:58:33 AM
Yeah, that had me bamboozled. Tried to find a way but concluded that there isn't a way to view historic Script Shield logs. Well, I'm only able to click the Shield log link which shows the current activity log, but nothing going on at present.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Hermite15 on March 10, 2011, 01:21:27 AM
Yeah, that had me bamboozled. Tried to find a way but concluded that there isn't a way to view historic Script Shield logs. Well, I'm only able to click the Shield log link which shows the current activity log, but nothing going on at present.

there's no log but there's a report file for the script shield. Problem is that it can't be tweaked like for other shields as there's no settings for the scriptshield in the UI. This may be reached from an ini file probably but I haven't checked yet.

 So what you got is just a report file located here:
C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\report
 with not much inside except that the module runs and scans got started. If you could change the report settings which I think is somehow possible, you'd have the details of scanned files.
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: Techtronic on March 10, 2011, 04:18:49 AM
@ MAG, I think you are right in that some of us are not lucky! I have avast1 IS 6 on 2 computers a laptop running Win 7 Pro 64 and a desktop running Win 7 HP 64. I installed IE9RC on both pc's for over 2 weeks and the script count has stayed at zero (0) all the time. Maybe I am double unlucky.  ::)
Title: Re: Script Shield
Post by: privateofcourse on March 10, 2011, 11:28:41 AM
So what you got is just a report file located here:
C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\report
 with not much inside except that the module runs and scans got started. If you could change the report settings which I think is somehow possible, you'd have the details of scanned files.

Yes, I see, and of very limited use with only start information being recorded. If there was a 'verbose' setting to have detailed logging or something that would be much better, and more useful. And (I mentioned this in another post) I'd still like to be able to configure custom paths to log files. I can't see how that would be a major problem. It really bugs me that some software still makes you have to go rummaging around to view its log files.