Avast WEBforum

Other => General Topics => Topic started by: 1902 on October 19, 2004, 04:33:52 AM

Title: old vdb
Post by: 1902 on October 19, 2004, 04:33:52 AM
I was wondering why when I start my pc I get a red pop up from avast saying that I am using an old vdb, please update. I have registered my version (4.1) and tried to update everything there is to update but still get the red pop up. Could it be from a new file I discovered? I click on start, my computer, and there is a new file I do not recognise called ied_7sm. Seems to be some sort of zip file, I have not deleted it or opened it as I am afraid this may be a virus in waiting that avast can not see because of the error message. Any help? thanks.
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: CharleyO on October 19, 2004, 06:22:30 AM
*

Is that the full name of the file ... no extention such as exe, txt, and so forth?
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: Eddy on October 19, 2004, 12:31:17 PM
What vps version do you have? (current is 442-3)
Are there any errors in Avast's log file?
What version of Avast (home or pro)?
What OS are you using?
Do you use a proxy server?
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: Lisandro on October 19, 2004, 01:42:01 PM
1902, can you manually update avast?
Which is your firewall (besides Windows internal one)?
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: 1902 on October 19, 2004, 07:45:49 PM
ok, I messed up! What the actual pop up says (Iwrote it down this time) is: You are using an old vps (Virus Database) file: 0424-3 Please update. I run winxp home, I use Sygate as a firewall, bingo I think I will check with the firewall to see if it is allowing Avast to connect, and no there is no .exe and the version is 4.1 home Edition and I have tried to click on both icons and update everything that says update.. By the way, anyone got a clue as to what this ied_s7m file cabinet is on my local disk? I downloaded and run cwshredder, updated spybots&d and it is still there.
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: 1902 on October 19, 2004, 07:47:56 PM
just checked in with sygate, all avast programs where already set to always allow acsess
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: Eddy on October 19, 2004, 07:54:23 PM
Disable Sygate for now and see if Avast is able to update. It wouldn't be the first time a firewall prevents Avast from updating and rules need to be setup again.
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: 1902 on October 19, 2004, 10:02:23 PM
Eddy, diabled firewall, avast now says it is updated, thanks!
Title: Re:old vdb
Post by: Eddy on October 19, 2004, 10:28:43 PM
OK, so now you know what caused it. Try to remove all rules from the firewall and set them up again. If that fails, remove the firewall, reboot and reinstall.

One of these should take care of the problem. Good luck ;)