Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 03:24:05 AM

Title: Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 03:24:05 AM
Hi, I'm lost. :D  I followed the instructions in forum and sig, but to no avail. Maybe if I post all my settings we can find the incorrect one.

To start, here is the error message:

"Sending of username did not succeed. Mail server 127.0.0.1 responded : no POP server defined. Use avast! Mail Protection Wizard to configure it."

Okay, I did that after closing Thunderbird, no go.


                                               -Original Settings-
Account Settings-
Account Name: semiller@rogers.com


Server Settings-
Server Type: POP Mail Server
Server Name: pop.slnt.phub.net.cable.rogers.com  Port: 110  Default: 110
User Name: semiller


Outgoing Server (SMTP) Settings-
Server Name: smtp.slnt.phub.net.cable.rogers.com  Port:25  Default:25



                                               -NEW Settings-

Server Settings:-
Server Type: POP Mail Server
Server Name: 127.0.0.1  Port: 110  Default: 110
User Name: semiller

Outgoing Server (SMTP) Settings-
Server Name: 127.0.0.1  Port:25  Default:25

Attached is a pic of Outgoing Server Settings, we should be able to add more than 1 pic by the way. ;-)  I wish I could send the pic for each setting. LOL

I might add I am using a NAT router and XP Home, just in case this makes any difference.  Thanks for reading this far... any help will be greatly appreciated.






Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: bob3160 on October 21, 2004, 03:56:44 AM
pulp
I think you need to make some changes in those changes.
Take a look:
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 04:00:35 AM
Okay, so I DO NOT use 127.0.0.1 like the posts say for outgoing server name?
Umm... I have to use the full semiller@rogers.com in Original Settings for Thunderbird to work so ....

Ya lost me..LOL
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: bob3160 on October 21, 2004, 04:20:01 AM
Okay, so I DO NOT use 127.0.0.1 like the posts say for outgoing server name?
Umm... I have to use the full semiller@rogers.com in Original Settings for Thunderbird to work so ....

Ya lost me..LOL
pulp
That's not what I said. I simple corrected one part of your settings. The other settings still have to reflect 127.0.0.1 in order for avast to intercept the mail and check it for viruses.
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 04:21:49 AM
okeedokee, tx.  I'll leave it as is for now...
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 04:44:42 AM
under Server Settings your user name should be:

semiller#pop.slnt.phub.net.cable.rogers.com       port 110

For outgoing server:     semiller   for user name        port 25

127.0.0.1 for both for Server Name

Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 05:01:01 AM
TX connie... no go, see pic:

Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:05:39 AM
does your server require that you use a secure connection?
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:09:28 AM
Heres how you need to set it up...   and if your server requires secure authentication you'll need to check mark that box...

Pop3 (Inbound):

Server name: 127.0.0.1
User name: YourUserName#YourPopServerName
Port: 110

Smtp (Outbound):
Server name: 127.0.0.1
User name: YourUserName          Port: 25
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 05:10:29 AM
No connie.  Here is a profile of how i run it normally:

Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:11:19 AM
run Mail Protection Wizard to have ashMaiSv.exe automatically running at Windows startup

what version of thunderbird are you using???
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 05:12:54 AM
I'm gonna have to read about that  ashMaiSv.exe.

I'm running:

Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:14:44 AM
after making the changes  (double check them please for typos)  :)  be sure to close thunderbird, then reopen it before you test it
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:19:40 AM
 start MAIL PROTECTION WIZARD, click NEXT, choose AUTOMATICALLY PROTECT ALL MY ACCOUNTS and again click NEXT.

Enter your default SMTP and POP3 server names and click NEXT.


Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 05:24:13 AM
I will re do the auto protect accounts but first, I tried the manual way.  What server should I have used?  The old addy or the new 127.0.0.1 like in pic?

Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:25:19 AM
put in your servers POP and SMTP server names there...

in Tbird you put the 127.0.0.1
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 05:36:04 AM
"put in your servers POP and SMTP server names there..."
woah!!!!!  That was the trick!!!

In manually setting mail protection wizzard you just have to forget about there not being any of your accounts in the box and just click next and carry on.

I can send mail now and have avast protection, thank you connie and bob!  :))

Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:36:44 AM
 ;D   super!   love it when it all works out.. enjoy!
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 05:38:05 AM
I sure will! :) Does it make any sense to you why I had to go manually as opposed to auto in the wizzard?
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:43:15 AM
It seems auto works for some people, and others have to use manual  .. Im not really sure why???    I use THunderbird as well and had to search all over to figure it out myself at first.    Using Automatic worked fine for me  ( but thats only to get ashmaize to load at startup)    you still have to manually set it up in Thunderbird.    I "think" they may be fixing this in the next version of Avast butr please dont quote me on that  LOL  cuz I dont know for sure.
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:46:40 AM
again,  glad that I could help you out..   people are pretty helpful here, so whenever you have a prob just pop in and do a search .. you may just find the answer you need.. if not yell for help ...

baseball games on..    im off to watch it  :)   nite
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 05:48:24 AM
baseball game is over.... I won't tell you who won! LOL  TX again!  :)
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 05:50:36 AM
its not over..    bottom of the 9th...   NY is up.. its their last chance   lol

(but Im rooting for the Red Sox)  
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 06:13:42 AM
It's over now and congrats!  :)  Now I'm going to bed.... 12:13 AM here and everything running fine:



Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 08:38:34 PM
Deleted 'cause I was a newbie dumb*ss. :D



Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: bob3160 on October 21, 2004, 09:19:57 PM
pulp
Just for your information, the Account Name in the last jpg you sent can be changed to anything you want. It's simply the name used to let you know which mail account is being checked. It has nothing to do with the actual Required settings . You can simply change that to My Email or anything else. The same goes for the Your Name field. That usually has your name in it so that people you send it to know who the mail is comming from.
But, that's only window dressing. It will work either way. :)
The field  Email Address however, should be left just as you have it. ;D
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 21, 2004, 10:09:53 PM
shoot bob!  I just did it, you are correct!  Better delete that post to avoid confusion for others.

I was doing sooooooooo many different things for hours yesterday to finally get email to work with avast,  that I really lost all sense of logic.. LOL

Man, I'm glad it's over with but I do HOPE avast makes an attaching .exe file to make all these settings like AVG does for future newbies.
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: conazus on October 21, 2004, 10:16:59 PM
lol pulp.. overthinking does sometimes get us into trouble eh?

The Auto setup works fine for Outlook Express and some other Email Clients.     Since Thunderbird hasnt been around that long we would have to expect they havent set it up to automatically set the mail settings yet.. that is why you had to do the manual settings in Tbird  :)        

Anyhoo... glad you got it all fixed  :)
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: DavidR on October 21, 2004, 11:58:23 PM
Hi Pulp,

I notice from your jpg that you have the Outlook/Exchange provider installed. Do you use MS Outlook (not OE) as well as thunderbird?

If not, you can remove that provider.
Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: pulp on October 22, 2004, 01:16:07 AM
Right, I did remove providers I don't need,  well after I got  email working. Didn't know if I was going to keep avast or not until then. LOL

Title: Re:Thunderbird and Avast Pro probby...
Post by: DavidR on October 22, 2004, 01:30:56 PM
I don't think you will regret sticking with avast, it is one of the most effective, flexible anti-virus programs out there. Not to mention the levels of help and support that you have already experienced, available to even those with the free version.