Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 06:50:00 PM

Title: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 06:50:00 PM
When I scan some folders/files the runtime is 0 and it returns a "no threat found".  I have checked my exceptions and removed all of them.  I have checked various forums and found no answer.  It seems to be mostly with video files as some other folders containing things such as pdf and text documents scan properly.

I do have Spybot installed and have not had a problem in the past.  I know some of you will tell me to uninstall spybot, I am unwilling to do this as I like some of its realtime functions, although I did disable teatimer to see if that was the problem (it wasn't).

If it matters I am running windows 7 professional 32 bit.  I have never had a problem with Avast and I have been using the free version for several years.

Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 07:00:20 PM
I guess I should also note that I have the most up-to-date version of Avast at the time of this posting (6.0.1125).
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: CraigB on June 25, 2011, 07:00:45 PM
It seems that an update with the database has improved the scanning speed http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=80315.msg659272#msg659272 and NON's post here http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=80502.msg659367#msg659367
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 07:25:30 PM
Ok I can see an improvement in scan speeds, but how can it scan 8+ gigs in under a second... Sounds too good to be true.  Also the beta is version 6.0.1184, while I have version 6.0.1125.  Although thanks for someone getting back to me so fast I thought I would have to wait days for a response.
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Lisandro on June 25, 2011, 07:28:26 PM
It always depend on your settings and what is being scanned ::)
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: CraigB on June 25, 2011, 07:30:41 PM
Avast can work miracles  ;D
Issues are usually sorted out pretty quick around here in the excellent avast forums.
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 07:32:05 PM
I have played with the settings and created a couple of custom scans, but it seems that all my video files are scanned in less than a second no matter what.  Even if I scan several gigs at once.
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 07:48:41 PM
Okay as a test I scanned 28.4 gigs of video files with both the quickscan (right click scan) and a custom folder scan set to be as thorough as possible.  Both were completed in 0 seconds, I admit to not being the most knowledgeable when it comes to scanning software but I have difficulty seeing how Avast could scan that 28 gigs of data that quickly, unless it is only scanning a tiny portion of each file. 
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Lisandro on June 25, 2011, 07:50:13 PM
I have played with the settings and created a couple of custom scans, but it seems that all my video files are scanned in less than a second no matter what.  Even if I scan several gigs at once.
Right click the folder and choose it to be scanned into Windows Explorer.
You can set to a result window to appear also.
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 07:56:29 PM
Quote
Right click the folder and choose it to be scanned into Windows Explorer.
You can set to a result window to appear also.

I am not sure on the wording but I believe I have done this:

1. right click on the folder(s)
2. click on "scan selected items for viruses" (has the little avast pic beside it)

I do have it set to show a results window, I have attached a screenshot of the results windows if that helps.
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Lisandro on June 25, 2011, 08:00:03 PM
Are you sure there is nothing in the exclusion list?
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: iroc9555 on June 25, 2011, 08:02:31 PM
If you have set the scan to "store data in persistence cache", and do not add any new files to that folder the result would be 00.00 time. That is what happens in my case.
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Lisandro on June 25, 2011, 08:06:38 PM
If you have set the scan to "store data in persistence cache", and do not add any new files to that folder the result would be 00.00 time. That is what happens in my case.
Living and learning... Can Mack confirm that?
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 08:24:52 PM
I definately have no exclusions and I have unchecked the "store data persistent cache" and all other options that store data from previous scans to make the following scans faster.  i.e. all my scans are slower but more thorough
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: kubecj on June 25, 2011, 08:50:10 PM
We did some internal shortcuts inside the engine recently. There can't be 'classic virus' inside video files. In the past, we scanned all files on user request by standard signature scan. With newer engine we scan such signatures only in files where it has sense, mostly (not only) executables. Since all of this logic is updated with the VPS, we can switch it on anytime if needed (for example if some very bad exploit gets discovered).

So right now engine does it like 'video? no thanks! video? no thanks...'  8)
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Mackleosaurus on June 25, 2011, 08:55:11 PM
That makes sense, thanks for all the help everyone!
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: shortwave on June 25, 2011, 11:11:34 PM
I'm glad I've found this thread. I was also wondering what was going on!

Thanks for the explanation, kubecj.
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: Nesivos on June 26, 2011, 06:16:53 AM
Ok I can see an improvement in scan speeds, but how can it scan 8+ gigs in under a second... Sounds too good to be true

LOL  ;D ;D
Title: Re: Scans take 0 seconds to complete
Post by: The Kitchen Sink on July 05, 2011, 06:13:38 AM
Ok, I was wondering about this myself. So does this mean that when Us users of say. MKV format. That format of video file is pretty solid. But, does it mean it can be turned back on if there are problems showing up with the format?

I posted a similar thread moments ago.
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=81048.0

So does this mean these video formats are not being viral attacked? Thus the Development Techs turn off or turn down the level of scanning for them?

I mean, seriously 20gb is a LOT when I know it used to take almost 1 minute to scan 1 file at around 500mb.

I admit I am paranoid sometimes but is it even scanning them? I'm rather skeptical. I don't mean that in a rude way. I just find it strange that they turn off the scanning of these formats. I rather waste my time scanning them than having them skipped altogether =/