Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: wanchan on October 26, 2004, 11:28:03 AM

Title: Which Update Connection type you would choose for ADSL
Post by: wanchan on October 26, 2004, 11:28:03 AM
I am on an ADSL line. I wonder which of the following options found under Settings > Update (Connections)  you as an ADSL user would choose.

Update (Conenctions)
1.  I only connect to the Internet using dial-up mobem
2.  My computer is permanently connected tot the Internet

I chose the option 2. Since I dont dialup and get online when watching movies on my harddisk, I get that avast red small warning window plus log info saying update attemp failed due to no connection. This is not a big deal, I know. Well, I just want to know which is the better option to keep avast virus DB as current as possible.

I have read avast User's FAQ at here but I decided still to make this thread to clarify.
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=9;action=display;threadid=4818;start=30

Title: Re:Which Update Connection type you would choose for ADSL
Post by: RejZoR on October 26, 2004, 11:32:57 AM
Leave it to default. I'm also using ADSL (PPPoE Dialup) and its working just fine.
If i connect to net and update is available,its updated immediately.
Also interval checking works just fine.
Title: Re:Which Update Connection type you would choose for ADSL
Post by: wanchan on October 26, 2004, 12:06:40 PM
Leave it to default. I'm also using ADSL (PPPoE Dialup) and its working just fine.
If i connect to net and update is available,its updated immediately.
Also interval checking works just fine.

We are on the same boat - using ADSL (PPPoE Dialup) myself.

By the defult, did you mean neither checked? None was checked immediately after the install in my case...
Title: Re:Which Update Connection type you would choose for ADSL
Post by: RejZoR on October 26, 2004, 12:13:16 PM
Both options mentioned in your first post are unchecked in my settings.
Title: Re:Which Update Connection type you would choose for ADSL
Post by: wanchan on October 26, 2004, 12:21:00 PM
Both options mentioned in your first post are unchecked in my settings.

Gotcha. Thanks a lot.  ;D I will do that setting too and see how it works.
Title: Re:Which Update Connection type you would choose for ADSL
Post by: Lisandro on October 26, 2004, 02:05:03 PM
I have no problems checking 'My computer is permanently connected to the Internet'.
To change 'delay' options, see 'Settings' on my signature (AlwaysConnectedWaitSeconds value)  ;)