Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Vlk on November 21, 2004, 11:55:31 AM

Title: New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Vlk on November 21, 2004, 11:55:31 AM
Please see here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=9007
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Arup on November 24, 2004, 09:20:55 AM
I dont know why people are having spate of problems with Avast, I have two different machines running Avast, one a dual Athlon and other a dual P-III 850, both using Win2K SP4, MS Outlook 2002 for email client and I have faced no problems whatsoever, I have updated to this version and as usual will give you feedback if there is any problems which I dont really anticipate.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: watchthisspace on November 24, 2004, 09:32:12 AM
I dont know why people are having spate of problems with Avast, I have two different machines running Avast, one a dual Athlon and other a dual P-III 850, both using Win2K SP4, MS Outlook 2002 for email client and I have faced no problems whatsoever, I have updated to this version and as usual will give you feedback if there is any problems which I dont really anticipate.
hehehe same here, i've got win XP pro on one machine and 200pro on another
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Cloussau on November 24, 2004, 11:15:51 AM
did i miss something ?? mine reads version 531 :o you guys must be gettin the hang of pumping out new versions now.   ;D
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2004, 03:04:02 PM
Just to note: from 4.5.529 to 4.5.531 I was not asked to boot...
Hope it's just cosmetic changes that does not requires a boot...  8)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: igor on November 24, 2004, 03:09:47 PM
That's really strange...
There were certainly changes in the program itself (such as Vlk's change in the Simple User Interface "Play" button)... or, a potentially bad bug was fixed in the core (that may cause the program to freeze on some files) - so a reboot should certainly be required.

Can you check the end of setup log, corresponding to the update?
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Eddy on November 24, 2004, 03:11:38 PM
Quote
Just to note: from 4.5.529 to 4.5.531 I was not asked to boot
Strange indeed, it sure asked me to reboot.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2004, 03:37:06 PM
This is the last update (build 529).
At the end, I have the line NeedReboot=false
The next shows that I have build 531.

Am I reading something wrong?

Btw, I suggest a way to limit the setup.log file... It's too big for me  :P
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: igor on November 24, 2004, 03:44:36 PM
It's really strange - the new packages were downloaded, but not installed (it wasn't even tried)  ???
How did you invoke the update?
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2004, 07:40:04 PM
How did you invoke the update?

Command line:

C:\ARQUIV~1\Avast\ashUpd.exe program /silent /nodetails
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: igor on November 24, 2004, 07:43:45 PM
Ah, it may be the case then.
I talked to Mr. Forejt about it and he said there should be another argument there (refresh - if I remember correctly(?)); he was wondering why it's missing.

Invoking program repair should install the downloaded packages.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2004, 07:50:57 PM
Invoking program repair should install the downloaded packages.

It's not the case, Igor.
I did not invoke the repair function after that.
Usually, I just invoke updates by this way... It should update but it does not asked for booting... When I boot, it was refreshed...

Am I doing/thinking anything wrong?
Should I add another parameter to that command line? (usually I have /VPS but there are a lot of betas and I need to be updated with them too  8))
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 25, 2004, 09:03:08 PM
Igor, the same happened if I use the command line from 4.5.531 to 4.5.536. No boot is required. The about window show 4.5.526. I was surprised! I tried to manual update the program and, then, the boot was required  ::)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Starfighter on November 25, 2004, 11:51:21 PM
... I tried to manual update the program and, then, the boot was required  ::)

Same thing happened to me (using Win 98)... req'd a reboot.  No biggie though.  ;)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: DavidR on November 26, 2004, 12:47:49 AM
... I tried to manual update the program and, then, the boot was required  ::)

Same thing happened to me (using Win 98)... req'd a reboot.  No biggie though.  ;)


That is what is suposed to happen now, Technical wasn't being asked to reboot after an command line update. So in effect the update wasn't applied.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 26, 2004, 12:49:53 AM
Vampiric_Crow and RejZor

Isn't this behavior - updating and not asking for a reboot - what you were looking for and posted in the wishlist?  ;)  8)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 26, 2004, 12:54:35 AM

So in effect the update wasn't applied.

Yeah, only downloaded. Applied just on next boot  ;)
I found a good workaround to my conscience: I don't have to boot immediatly  8)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Starfighter on November 26, 2004, 01:47:59 AM
That is what is suposed to happen now, Technical wasn't being asked to reboot after an command line update. So in effect the update wasn't applied.


Ooops, my fault!  I really should read Technical's messages better!   ;D
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Vlk on November 26, 2004, 09:35:47 AM
Technical, this is what aswUpd.exe /help shows:

Usage: aswUpd.exe vps [/silent [/nodetails]] [/autoreboot] [/help]
       aswUpd.exe program [/silent [/nodetails]] [/autoreboot] [/help]

       /silent -- do not display the GUI and modal Summary screen
       /nodetails -- do not print the console summary in silent mode
       /autoreboot -- reboot the computer after update, if necessary
       /help -- display this help screen


So - the behavior you're seeing is perfectly normal. You didn't use the /autoreboot switch but used the /nodetails switch which suppressed the reboot prompt... :P
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 26, 2004, 12:04:28 PM
Thanks Vlk, I was just puzzled because Igor wrote this:

Ah, it may be the case then.
I talked to Mr. Forejt about it and he said there should be another argument there (refresh - if I remember correctly(?)); he was wondering why it's missing.
Invoking program repair should install the downloaded packages.

I thought, wrongly as you say, that was missing an argument there: refresh and that something could be improved in the command line...  ;)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: atomizer on November 29, 2004, 01:28:13 AM
passing of "/silent" switch to ashupd.exe

i've searched the forum and didn't come up with anything. i'm trying to make ashupd run in silent mode because i don't want to see info about the ivas -- and, optionally, the program -- updates. if i run ashupd manually, via the command line, one has the option of using this switch, but how do we make the switch so it is in effect when avast runs it automatically?

this used to be ease in an older version, but no more.

thanks!
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: BrianA on November 29, 2004, 05:52:13 PM
Hi

I've had a problem sending emails with large attachments (OL2003/SP1 on WInXP).  Just tried the beta to see if it made any difference but it hasn't.  Only way to send with large (>3mb) attachments is to turn Avast off completely ...

Cheers

Brian Abbott
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 29, 2004, 06:00:43 PM
Just tried the beta to see if it made any difference but it hasn't.

Do you mean the build 4.5.536?
(http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=9007)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: BrianA on November 29, 2004, 06:59:07 PM
Do you mean the build 4.5.536?
(http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=9007)
Quote

Following the link from the 1st message on this thread, yes.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: atomizer on November 30, 2004, 01:53:25 AM
Hi

I've had a problem sending emails with large attachments (OL2003/SP1 on WInXP)...

i had this problem with an older version of avast. i increased the server timeout to solve it.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 30, 2004, 02:55:32 AM
Atomizer, are you using the last program update (official release, not a beta) 4.5.542 ?
It fixes many of the earlier problems including the timeout one.
Just invoke program update: right click the avast icon > Updating > Program Update.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: atomizer on November 30, 2004, 04:15:14 AM
oh no, i'm not complaining at all! i'm very happy with avast and have absolutly NO complaints (other than i'd like to figure out how to disable the auto-notifications for database updates). and yes, i am using the latest stable version (.523). i've been using it for a few years, i think since the early release days.
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Eddy on November 30, 2004, 04:23:26 AM
Quote
and yes, i am using the latest stable version (.523)
Yeah I know, I shouldn't just jump in when you are having a party ;D
But the latest official release is not .523 but .542 ;)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: atomizer on November 30, 2004, 04:33:34 AM
oh wow. well, it was .523 yesterday :)

thanks!
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 30, 2004, 12:52:05 PM
I'd like to figure out how to disable the auto-notifications for database updates.

Easy... See 'Seetings' on my signature.
SuppressUpdatedInfo=1
on section [AAVM]  ;)
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: atomizer on November 30, 2004, 01:52:25 PM
Quote
Easy... See 'Seetings' on my signature.
SuppressUpdatedInfo=1
on section [AAVM]  ;)

i think i'm confusing people. especially me. i forgot that there are actually 2 notifications for updates; 1) the small, blue pop-up near the task bar that can tell you if an update is available.  that's no problem to deal with, as i use the auto-update setting for the virus database (so i don't see the pop-up). what i'm trying to disable is the larger window that confirms the update was installed that you have to click "OK" to close. i added the variable "SuppressUpdatedInfo=1" to the proper section of the ini a long time ago, but it didn't work. i don't think it's working now either, because if i manually update, via r-click avast tray icon, click ivas update, i still get the confirmation window. i assume that it will still pop-up after an auto-update as well. so, firstly, i just wanted to point out exactly which window i'm trying to hide and secondly, ask if "SuppressUpdatedInfo=1" affects the window i'm trying to hide.

thanks!
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on November 30, 2004, 05:51:54 PM
What i'm trying to disable is the larger window that confirms the update was installed that you have to click "OK" to close.

If you uncheck the option of the 'progress' on the installation into the update settings, won't it do it?

What about the value NeverShowInfo=0  ???
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: atomizer on December 01, 2004, 12:31:35 AM
Quote
If you uncheck the option of the 'progress' on the installation into the update settings, won't it do it?

What about the value NeverShowInfo=0  ???

re, your 1st idea, you lost me. can you provide info on where this setting is located?

re, your 2nd idea, "0" or "1" doesn't seem to work (for suppressing the ivas update dialog).

thanks for the info though!
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: Lisandro on December 01, 2004, 12:52:50 AM
Update (Basic)
Details
Uncheck 'Show update progress'
Title: Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
Post by: atomizer on December 01, 2004, 01:11:21 AM
ah, ok. for the iVAS update options, i already have "silent" selected and "show update progress" UNselected.

there was just another program update, so tommorow i'll restart and see what that holds.

thanks