Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: bimrocketman on December 08, 2011, 11:37:17 AM

Title: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 08, 2011, 11:37:17 AM
How do I configure Avast free 6 and Comodo Firewall 5.8 (i don't use denfense+). please help! Because when i use them, the avastsvc.exe is always take 40M memory usage!
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 09, 2011, 06:15:20 AM
any help please? If anyone installed comodo firewall 5.8( firewall only) and avast 6 please help
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: mitchell64 on December 09, 2011, 08:52:46 AM
If you open Comodo control panel / Firewall tab / Network Security Policy.. Then where the entry C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\AvastSvc.exe ... is right click on the entry and select "Edit", then select "Use a Pre Defined Policy" then use the drop down box and select "Trusted Application" then "Apply" before you exit
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: DonZ63 on December 10, 2011, 01:39:45 AM
Quote
the avastsvc.exe is always take 40M memory usage!
It's currently using 5.3 MB on my WIN 7 SP1 installation. Are you sure it's using 4 MB and not 40 MB?

Please post a screen shot of Task Manager that shows avastsvc.exe details.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 10, 2011, 05:16:15 AM
(http://ng2.upanh.com/b1.s13.d4/a3f6a2680348080080cbf398b429bef2_38770542.task1.png)
This is the picture of the task manager
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 10, 2011, 05:19:40 AM
Close firefox and any other tool using any type of connection. Then wait a few seconds to see if avastsvc.exe's memory usage goes down.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 10, 2011, 05:31:25 AM
after closing everything and wait for about 15 minutes, it goes down to 8MB
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 10, 2011, 05:37:48 AM
after closing everything and wait for about 15 minutes, it goes down to 8MB

what do you mean with "everything"? Is "tuneup" closed? Do you have some torrent tool (or any P2P)? Any other "automatic" defrag or any other system tool schedule or running on the back?

Would you be interested on "cleaning up" your current installation of avast (using the specific removal utility and manual deletion of any possible remnant) so to start up clean?

Are you 100% sure that any other old security tool that you ever used has not left any other remnants?

Besides the security tools you used in the past (which should be "cleaned up" using the respective removal utilities after their uninstallation), which other security tools you have now?
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 10, 2011, 06:04:45 AM
I don't schedule anything. Tuneup is not closed, i just closed all windows. I used Kaspersky before but i removed it by kavremover. Now i combine avast with comodo firewall (no defense+), and no more. Pleased to take your advice
P/S: Thanks very much for your help
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 10, 2011, 06:54:29 AM
I just would like to add that 8MB is not *that* much. I mean, it could vary starting from about 1.5MB too and up, so even a clean up and re-installation of avast could leave you with avastsvc.exe using 8MB again.
Title: avast 6 sandbox problem with mozilla firefox 3.6.13
Post by: susmita.wb on December 10, 2011, 07:17:51 AM
I have avast internet security latest version which create problem with my Mozilla firefox version 3.6.13. My Firefox is not open by avast sandbox. Mozilla firefox show msg that....." cound not initialize the application's security compoent. The most likely cause is problems with files in your applicatin's profile directory......etc...."


How can i repair my problems? Is avast sandbox is not support firefox version 3.6.. pls know me...about that...
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 10, 2011, 02:11:36 PM
I just would like to add that 8MB is not *that* much. I mean, it could vary starting from about 1.5MB too and up, so even a clean up and re-installation of avast could leave you with avastsvc.exe using 8MB again.
but it's just 8 MB when I close all windows. When i open firefox or any application, it is 40MB again. When i startup window, it's 30MB. If the computer is idle for about 15 mins, it will be 8MB again
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: DonZ63 on December 10, 2011, 06:22:57 PM
Was it using this much memory before you installed the Comodo firewall?
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: Asyn on December 10, 2011, 06:38:17 PM
but it's just 8 MB when I close all windows. When i open firefox or any application, it is 40MB again. When i startup window, it's 30MB. If the computer is idle for about 15 mins, it will be 8MB again

I'm not sure what's the problem here..??
avast! will use more memory, if you run e.g. Firefox.
That's normal.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 10, 2011, 07:47:41 PM
Since avastsvc.exe is scanning what you have in traffic, the more you use other processes, the more memory avast will use.

Some users tend to think that avast is using their bandwidth, when in fact avast is simply scanning the same bandwidth being used by other software.

So I would say that whatever memory avastsvc.exe *seems* to be using, in most cases the important thing is how much memory is free to be used by other processes.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: MrMaxaMan on December 10, 2011, 11:56:18 PM
Strange it is using so much, I'm currently using Avast, Comodo and Firefox, and Avast is only using 7mb.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: Asyn on December 11, 2011, 12:01:51 AM
Strange it is using so much, I'm currently using Avast, Comodo and Firefox, and Avast is only using 7mb.

Don't see why this is strange, as you haven't the same system. ;)
And even if you would, you (most probably) don't run the same programs..!!
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 11, 2011, 01:50:03 AM
Since avastsvc.exe is scanning what you have in traffic, the more you use other processes, the more memory avast will use.

Some users tend to think that avast is using their bandwidth, when in fact avast is simply scanning the same bandwidth being used by other software.

So I would say that whatever memory avastsvc.exe *seems* to be using, in most cases the important thing is how much memory is free to be used by other processes.
Thanks for your help but do you think 40MB is so much?
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: DonZ63 on December 11, 2011, 02:01:44 AM
Mine starts around 7MB and goes to 15MB depending on what web pages I browse to. I am using IE8.
Do you normally have multiple web pages open at one time? That would certainly increase Avastsvc.exe size.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 11, 2011, 02:41:15 AM
Thanks for your help but do you think 40MB is so much?

My original suggestion is still valid: clean up. If you shut down completely your system, and restart it again (from power off status), do you have other startup programs? (Of course you have at least *some*, like tune up for example.)

My point is that you might have "too many" processes doing "too many" things in the background. Although 40MB seems a little bit higher than usual, it depends on what exactly is going on in your particular system. So, it is a bit higher than usual, but yet plausible.

Just to give you an hypothetical example, if Tune Up is working in the background, then avast may be watching whatever is happening there too.

So, go back and read the previous suggestions, and decide by yourself it this is worth (you could use the free memory available as a measurement, instead of the used one).

If you have any particular question about the suggested procedures, just ask.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 11, 2011, 02:56:04 AM
I just have about 30 processes running on system startup, my startup program is tuneup, comodo firewall, avast, IDM, usb safely remove. So if tuneup is the problem, what can i do to prevent avast from "taking care" of tuneup
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 11, 2011, 03:25:18 AM
I gave tune up as a general example. I don't know which processes are triggering this.

You could temporarily disable those startup programs (and there are many simple portable GUI tools to do it) and reboot. After the reboot, review the memory usage, and repeat the review 10/20/30 minutes after that, so you can have some kind of stable conclusion of several values. For every memory review, all other tools / programs should be completely closed, or the comparison wouldn't be useful for this case.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 11, 2011, 03:54:45 AM
on system startup, the em usage of avastsvc.exe is about 25MB
(http://ng9.upanh.com/b3.s22.d4/fbe66b19a6bf16d00347a4854ab34345_38799749.avast.png)
After 5 mins, it is 2MB, whenever i start any application, it is 35MB
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 11, 2011, 05:42:45 AM
Well, if you start only one window with only one tab of only one application, and that application is heavy, then maybe that amount of memory usage is acceptable.

But if that amount is used for *any* application, that seems "too much".

The 2MB sounds more common, and it could also be 8MB alone as you described before.

It is still not clear to me which additional processes were active at the same time when you tested. Maybe I understood wrong, but it seems that you still tested with those additional (optional) processes being active.

In addition, you keep looking / concentrating on the used memory, but not in the free available one.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 11, 2011, 10:57:45 AM
i uploaded the picture of my task manager, those were all the processes running at the same time i tested. It's 2MB when the computer is idle, when i open an apllication, it is 35MB again
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: DonZ63 on December 11, 2011, 04:03:13 PM
Select File Shield in the Avast GUI, the select Scan When Openning. See if the option "Scan all files" is checkmarked. If checkmarked, turn it off and see if that reduces Avastsvc.exe memory usage.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: True Indian on December 11, 2011, 04:13:38 PM
Right no i am having 3 chrome windows open and i am doing also a defragment still avast and comodo memory usage are:

avastui-4mb.

avastsvc-9mb.

cfp-4mb

cmdagent-1mb

so thats extremely low on memory.
I have 3GB RAM.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: Asyn on December 11, 2011, 04:25:44 PM
i uploaded the picture of my task manager, those were all the processes running at the same time i tested. It's 2MB when the computer is idle, when i open an apllication, it is 35MB again

Again, this is no problem at all..!! ;)
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 11, 2011, 07:35:33 PM
i uploaded the picture of my task manager, those were all the processes running at the same time i tested. It's 2MB when the computer is idle, when i open an application, it is 35MB again

That's not what it is seen in your last picture. There are 24960K being used, not "2MB with no other processes".

We are going back to the same point. Instead of focusing on the *used* memory, you should focus on the *available free* memory. And until you try the suggestions already posted, there is not much more we can say, other than it seems still "normal" (or, if you want, plausible).

I understand that you would want to use less than that. If you are still interested, try first the suggestions already posted, and then report back. Please understand that there is no way for me to promise that it will indeed use less memory after the suggestions, but it is plausible.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: DonZ63 on December 11, 2011, 10:10:58 PM
I did some more testing, and avastsvc.exe size is definitely related to what else is running. For example if I start process explorer, avastsvc.exe immediately jumps to 30MB. If I shut down process explorer, avastsvc.exe is down to 4MB.

Now process explorer is monitoring everything running including open/closed ports, etc. I suspect avastsvc.exe is increasing it's number of handles, etc. when it encounters monitoring/disgnostic and other types of software that access TCP/IP ports.

I guess if I had limited memory, I would be concerned. I have 8 GB. Bring it on avastsvc.exe! 8)  
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 12, 2011, 05:37:08 AM
i uploaded the picture of my task manager, those were all the processes running at the same time i tested. It's 2MB when the computer is idle, when i open an application, it is 35MB again

That's not what it is seen in your last picture. There are 24960K being used, not "2MB with no other processes".

We are going back to the same point. Instead of focusing on the *used* memory, you should focus on the *available free* memory. And until you try the suggestions already posted, there is not much more we can say, other than it seems still "normal" (or, if you want, plausible).

I understand that you would want to use less than that. If you are still interested, try first the suggestions already posted, and then report back. Please understand that there is no way for me to promise that it will indeed use less memory after the suggestions, but it is plausible.
when my system was started, it was 25MB, when it was idle for about 5 mins, it was 2MB. The image is when my system have just started.
Can you say your suggestion more clearly?
Right no i am having 3 chrome windows open and i am doing also a defragment still avast and comodo memory usage are:

avastui-4mb.

avastsvc-9mb.

cfp-4mb

cmdagent-1mb

so thats extremely low on memory.
I have 3GB RAM.
How do you configure avast and comodo?
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 12, 2011, 07:06:34 AM
Quote
Can you say your suggestion more clearly?

What exact part of disabling the optional autorun / autostartup items was not clear? I mean, the explanation could be a whole article by itself, depending on the level of the target reader.

That was part of the suggested test after reboot, and after 10 and 20 and 30 minutes; all of those with the optional startup items being disabled, leaving enabled only the essential ones.

The other suggestion was about a clean install of avast. That means REALLY cleaning up ALL previous installations and updates of avast, and only then installing anew the latest stable version. Are the steps of this suggestion not clear?
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 12, 2011, 10:28:56 AM
Just relax. Because i already tested the memory, i disable all startup already, wait for 10 mins already, i think i didn't said it clearly to you, sorry, i thought the post with my image of task manager was enough. This is the result: At system startup, the mem usage of avast is 25MB, after waiting for 5 mins, it is 2MB, then it fluctuates between 2 and 1,5MB , and after 30mins, it is still 2MB.
I will wait for your answer before taking the last suggestion. Thanks very much!!!
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: ady4um on December 12, 2011, 06:03:04 PM
Well, should I repeat myself again?

First, your last post presents different values than previous ones. The new values are completely acceptable.

To be even clearer than that, your *previous* numbers (about 30-40MB when using other tools) were also acceptable, but just a little bit higher than what I would expect. Other forum members already posted this same opinion about them (re-read the topic).

Regarding the available free memory, you have not reported anything about it, so how we would be able to understand that you indeed took note of it, or how we would be able to give you a relevant suggestion?

About the picture and the suggestions about start up items; the picture is clearly showing that you have NOT disabled the optional unnecessary startup items. So what you described doesn't correspond with the picture. Moreover, just closing or stopping the optional processes is not exactly the same for the purposes of the tests. So, again, the startup items should be temporarily suspended with the adequate method, and then reboot to start the test.

Finally, the complete clean up of ALL previous versions of avast might help, but I sincerely think this would be a waste of time. Writing all the tips I could think about a clean re-installation would take time, and performing them accordingly would take also time. In this case, according to your reports and several opinions in this topic, it is not worth it.

My current suggestion would be to wait several months for the first stable version of Avast 7 (currently only in alpha status). By then, you could run the specific avast removal utility under Windows Safe Mode, manually clean any remnant (hidden) folders containing "avast" or "alwil" in their names, and installing the new and shiny (yet to be released) Avast 7 stable. Until then, enjoy of the current security of Avast 6.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 13, 2011, 09:47:23 AM
i re-installed avast, but the problem still remain, the availabe free memory is 559MB. Tuneup can't be disable
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: hake on December 13, 2011, 10:16:08 AM
The memory usage of avastsvc.exe continually yo-yos up and down.  It all depends on what is happening on the system.  It is probably the case that avastsvc.exe spawns multiple threads so I am not surprised at this behaviour.  What matters to me is that Avast! does not slow my system.

I have just taken samples from Task Manager's Processes tab and have seen values between 3MB and 61MB.  I have two ancient systems, both running XP Pro SP3, one with 512MB and the other with 2GB.  In neither case is Avast! objectionable.
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: bimrocketman on December 13, 2011, 10:58:05 AM
The memory usage of avastsvc.exe continually yo-yos up and down.  It all depends on what is happening on the system.  It is probably the case that avastsvc.exe spawns multiple threads so I am not surprised at this behaviour.  What matters to me is that Avast! does not slow my system.

I have just taken samples from Task Manager's Processes tab and have seen values between 3MB and 61MB.  I have two ancient systems, both running XP Pro SP3, one with 512MB and the other with 2GB.  In neither case is Avast! objectionable.
Before using avast, i read an advertisement of it. It said that when avast was scanning, it just took 15MB, and normally, it took about 3MB. My computer, avast take 3MB only when the computer is idle, when there is some activity, it immediately increase to 25MB or 40MB. That's why i created this topic
Title: Re: avast 6 and comodo firewall 5.8
Post by: DonZ63 on December 13, 2011, 10:40:08 PM
I think this issue comes down to you either live with Avast's memory usage or uninstall it and find something else. I honestly don't think your going to find a full feature AV that uses less resources.

Personally, it's how anti-malware software performs on my system and not individual resource usage that counts in my book. Avast for the most part has minimal performance impact on my system.

I run MBAM Pro concurrently with Avast and I have seen that at times using over 100MB of memory. Again, I have seen minimal impact on performance.

Bottom line, memory is dirt cheap these days unless your talking old DDR memory. If you have that, it's time to upgrade your motherboard and CPU.