Author Topic: Error 10048: Port 25  (Read 5449 times)

FungWing

Error 10048: Port 25
« on: September 30, 2004, 05:31:05 PM »
Hi,
I just installed avast yesterday after a clean wipe and fresh install of all of my computer's software (It was my computer's birthday).   When I start Avast home 4.1 I get error message 10048.  It says that outgoing mail will not be scanned because another program is using port 25 and I should check the help section on cooperation with other software.  I can't find that section or any other way to know if I should just change the port number or if I have some other problem.

I am running XP Pro w/ SP1, I also have IIS 5.1 installed - I've never used it before, but I'm planning on learning how to run a website.  I use Outlook Express as my mail program.  I don't know of any other programs that use SMTP ports.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Error 10048: Port 25
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2004, 05:39:49 PM »
Hi, welcome to the forums.

A search of these forums for 10048 will no doubt return many hit as this topic has been  previously discussed a number of times. This is just one of them.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=7314;
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.2.6105 (build 24.2.8918.824) UI 1.0.799/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2004, 05:48:19 PM »
You can use TCPView to discover which program is using the port 25.
I bet on another email client than your default one...  ;)
The best things in life are free.

FungWing

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2004, 06:39:46 PM »