Author Topic: Saturday 14 Worm detected  (Read 7083 times)

Arup

Saturday 14 Worm detected
« on: March 23, 2005, 03:41:24 PM »
Something strange happened today, decided to try out the avast external control tool and while doing a thorough memory scan I got the notice that my memory is infected with Saturday the 14 Worm.

Is this a false alarm? I have been using Avast since the last two years and do regular offline scans with it, however, being this is a memory resident worm, I guess it went undetected.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Saturday 14 Worm detected
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2005, 04:50:49 PM »
Most probably, a false positive...
Is it a file or just on memory (running process)?

If it's a file, can you submit it to JOTTI and let us know the result.
If it is indeed a false positive, send it in a password protected zip to virus@avast.com
Please, mention in the body of the message why you think it is a false positive and the password used.
The best things in life are free.

Arup

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2005, 04:58:23 PM »
Hi Technical,

Thanks for the fast response, the problem is that it is only indicated when I use the 3rd party Avast External Control tool and set it to thorough memory scan, it tells me to do a boot time scan which I have already done and nothing gets detected there. So my guess would be that it is a false positive, I use Jetico which pops up for any kind of net access so I would know if a worm is trying to connect out to the net but then if it is disguised as System app, it then becomes tricky.

Offline igor

• Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2005, 05:10:45 PM »
Where was it detected?

Online DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2005, 05:26:52 PM »
If it's a file, can you submit it to JOTTI and let us know the result.

The new url for Jotti is http://virusscan.jotti.org/