Author Topic: Avast killed my laptop!  (Read 2426 times)

REDACTED

Avast killed my laptop!
« on: May 01, 2015, 01:59:20 PM »
Hi all,
this is my story:
I am a software developer and I do my daily job on a Lenovo Thinkpad.
At some point, I had the "brilliant" idea to install some antivirus software to replace the builtin Windows defender service.
Sadly, I chose to install Avast...

I soon discovered that the Avast service was using lots of CPU time, even after I temporarily disabled the antivirus.

I know this kind of thing may happen, with one antivirus working worse or better than Others depending on the specific system configuration.
So, no worries... again, I had the "brillian" idea do uninstall Avast trying to move to a different av software.

Uninstallation complete. You have to restart.
I did restart, indeed... and BOOM, BSOD.  :o
My workstation is gone.  >:(
It claims that the ACPI.sys file is missing or corrupt.

I've unmounted the ssd drive and i've inspected it on another pc... the Acpi.sys file is actually missing, as well as other hundreds of files in the Windows\system32 folder.

I've tried to recover them from a working pc, but finally i've decided to backup my files and do a full system re-install.

So... thank you Avast! I'm never coming back again.

Offline Staticguy

• Super Poster
Re: Avast killed my laptop!
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2015, 02:18:51 PM »