Author Topic: need help please  (Read 2837 times)

skooidi

need help please
« on: June 07, 2007, 10:44:00 AM »
hi, i'm a noob and need a little help. i scanned my pc with avast and moved the infected files to chest. problem is, now i can't open drives on double click. i need to right click and choose open or explore. i'm guessing the file that was needed for this is in the chest/deleted (i think i deleted infected files). so my question is how do i get things back to where they were and if viruses attack files that are meant to run the system, wouldn't it things to not work when files are isolated?

Offline FreewheelinFrank

• Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • I'm a GNU
    • Don't Surf in the Nude!
Re: need help please
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2007, 12:11:10 PM »
Hi skooidi,

You should always put infected files in quarantine ('the chest') rather than delete them so you have the option of restoring the file if it was a false positive.

However, I think this may well be a registry change made by the malware, rather than a missing system file.

See this thread:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=28632.msg234088#msg234088

And the descriptions of symptoms here:

http://forums.techguy.org/security/556776-autorun-vbs.html

If this seems to match your problem, try running the Clean_Autoruns batch file linked to in the second page above.

The effect of deleting or moving a system file will depend on the job the file does: some are critical and the system won't start without them. Others are only called on demand so you might not notice any problem until you try to perform a specific task.
     Bambleweeny 57 sub-meson brain     Don't Surf in the Nude Blog

sasin44

suspect VBS:Solow..
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2007, 01:29:01 PM »
hi check avast log
right-click on avast simple user interface[the thing that comes up after u click on the avast ickon on desktop]>>there click on the option named log viewer..