Author Topic: Linksys wrt-54 hardware firewall/router and Avast updates  (Read 3927 times)

processwrench

Linksys wrt-54 hardware firewall/router and Avast updates
« on: February 01, 2008, 02:43:44 PM »
Just switched from NAV Internet and very pleased with Avast on many levels; understandable controls, thoroughness of product and especially the difference in speed.

I connect to a cable modem via a linksys wrt-54 firewall/router. I haven't been able to get the updates to work, either manually or automatically. From reading info on this site I understand I need to allow outgoing traffic on tcp port 80 for 5 programs, and set up a proxy (allowing incoming traffic on to localhost on tcp port 12080 and set my browser to the same proxy). Can this be done without using the proxy? Anything else I should be aware of when allowing this kind of traffic? Plus I've never done this before so if anyone can provide some details i'd appreciate it.

Offline lukor

• Administrator
  • Super Poster
    • AVAST Software
Re: Linksys wrt-54 hardware firewall/router and Avast updates
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 03:04:26 PM »
Hello, wrt-54 is a hardware router, if I am not mistaken. As such it does not see any applications on your PC (localhost) - just packets on the wire. So, here no configuration is necessary. If you are running Windows NT or later (2000, XP, Vista) you should NOT be setting your browser's proxy as well.

Can you browse the web normally?
« Last Edit: February 01, 2008, 03:06:12 PM by lukor »

processwrench

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2008, 05:01:11 PM »
Yes the linksys is a hardware firewall and i've got winxp firewall shut off so I'm not sure why I can't update. I can browse but I've got to shut off a couple of Avast features, webshield and one of the network shields too.

processwrench

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2008, 01:20:43 PM »