Author Topic: Virus Win32.trojandownloader.Zlob, Please HELP!!!  (Read 2559 times)

TropicalFL

Virus Win32.trojandownloader.Zlob, Please HELP!!!
« on: October 02, 2008, 12:16:52 AM »
My computer has acquired a virus(s)/spyware a couple days ago and I've been searching the net, trying to get rid of them ever since.  I started getting strange pop-ups, small ones - to large IExplorer size, even "Security" and "System Alerts" popping up from the bottom toolbar, saying it may be infected with a virus/spyware and urging me to download a program to remove it ... but when I clicked it, Avast! says it's a "malware" and denies the download. 

When I run Ad-aware it finds a bunch of things and removes all, except one, the Win32.Trojandownloader.Zlob.  I ran Avast! virus scan and it found about 7 different malwares under the name Win32:WimAD-l (trj), and I've deleted them.  I'm new to this program, but pretty sure I did the full scan, I clicked "thorough scan", but it didn't seem to pick up the Win32.trojandownloader.Zlob though.  I'm still getting the pop-ups.

After the scan, it listed the infected files it had found/deleted, and also about 24 other things, saying it's "unable to scan: Archive is password protected".  Should I delete or leave these alone?  The File names are:

F:\DocumentsandSettings\AllUsers\...\sbRecovery.reg
F:\DocumentsandSettings\AllUsers\...\sbRecovery.ini
F:\DocumentsandSettings\AllUsers\...\Antivirus Scan.url

Thanks in advance for the help!!  :)

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus Win32.trojandownloader.Zlob, Please HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2008, 01:35:02 AM »
First - Files that can't be scanned are just that, not an indication they are suspicious/infected, just unable to be scanned.

See http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=35347.msg297170#msg297170 this topic for more information on why files can't be scanned.