Author Topic: Unable to put trojan in chest-  (Read 3855 times)

dan633

Unable to put trojan in chest-
« on: August 06, 2009, 02:26:36 PM »
Hello, I ran Avast and it stopped 3 times during the scan on the same malware (different files) Named: Win32\:spambot-El [Trj].  Two in the C Drive the other in D (partition) I clicked to place it in CHEST, but I got a FILE IS FULL and it would not let me proceed.  I clicked continue and it moved on. I looked at a similar Forum entry and downloaded malwarebytes and ran it. One entry was found, an unrelated Registry key. I searched TEMP folders in Computer and all were empty but one and it had very little.  A folder called AVAST4 (like that anyway) was empty as well. Since only 6 objects are in the chest, I don't know why it is full..? Please advise what to do to allow the chest to contain threats. I am a novice and need step/step.
As an aside, the 3 partial file names included Quicken\ibill.dll  (not installed), System Volume Information and APP17197\src\DISK 1

Thanks in advance for any help.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Unable to put trojan in chest-
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2009, 02:43:05 PM »
Are you using Windows XP/Vista?
Can you schedule a boot-time scanning?
Start avast! > Right click the skin > Schedule a boot-time scanning.
Select for scanning archives.
Boot.
If infected files are found, it's safer to send them to Chest instead of deleting them.
This way you can further analysis them.

Maybe the file is too big for the Chest. Which is the file name and path?
The best things in life are free.

dan633

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2009, 03:50:36 PM »