Author Topic: How can I remove a virus  (Read 2384 times)

M1fan

How can I remove a virus
« on: July 06, 2011, 03:18:06 AM »
Hi, I am a novice with computers so would appreciate help.  I have avast 6 free and have just detected a virus.  The result showed the file was located at C:\Users|Brian|...|1dab5164-7223f251.  I am not sure but is this a file.  I tried to repair but it didn't work so I moved it to the chest.  I was also reading about malwarebytes and wanted to know if the free version is as effective as the pro version and how to avoid conflict with my avast.

I also wanted to know how to determine which site the virus came from I know when a pro works on a computer they can usually find the source of it.  I try to stay on legitimate sites to avoid viruses butt there are other users.

Your help on this matter will be greatly appreciated.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: How can I remove a virus
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2011, 03:40:42 AM »
You don't say what the malware name was, but only true viruses (not trojans, etc.) can a repair be attempted, e.g. remove the small element inserted into the legit file. Trojan files are all malicious content so there is essentially nothing to repair. So sending it to the avast chest was the correct action to do.

There is no rush to delete anything from the chest, a protected area where it can do no harm. Anything that you send to the chest you should leave there for a few weeks. If after that time you have suffered no adverse effects from moving these to the chest, scan them again (inside the chest) and if they are still detected as viruses, delete them.

The differences between the free and paid version of MBAM is that the free version doesn't provide resident protection, it is on-demand scanning only.