Author Topic: worm and I am not good at this computer stuff  (Read 4335 times)

jhstyle

worm and I am not good at this computer stuff
« on: May 21, 2005, 03:32:41 PM »
I have windows xp i have avast,spyblaster,windowwasher,cleaner and the kids downloaded some kind of worm and avast prompted my to put in in the virus chest and i did but it still keeps sending a warnin you have a virus. please tell me how i get the avast to stop warning me or how to get rid of this virus i tried to delete the virus through avast but it wouldn't let me!

c:\programfiles\zangoclient\fleo\zanuhool.dll.tmp (this is what avast is telling me the worm is??

i didn't try to delete it i tried to repair it and it wouldn't let me.  also now avast is promting me to move it and i'm not sure if I should??

please all you computer wizards help me!
« Last Edit: May 21, 2005, 03:41:23 PM by jhstyle »

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: worm and I am not good at this computer stuff
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2005, 03:44:35 PM »
Hi, welcome to the forums.

In order to help fully we need more information....
- What avast! version and VPS file (virus database) number, e.g. 0436-4 (see about avast!)
- What was the virus name, what was the filename, where was it found
  example (C:\windows\system32\infected-filename.xxx)?
- What actions have you taken to try and resolve the problem?

The filename 'zanuhool.dll.tmp' is suspicious as it has a double file extension .dll.tmp, this is commonly used to trick and confuse peopl into thinking it is a harmless temp file.

A google search for 'zangoclient' without the quotes returns some hits that indicate it is Adware - this is one of them - http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/adware.zangosearch.html

If you haven't already got this software, download, install, update and run it.
1. Ad-Aware
2. Spybot Search and Destroy
3. Spywareblaster