Author Topic: Potential problem with the newest update and Windows 8.1  (Read 2387 times)

REDACTED

Potential problem with the newest update and Windows 8.1
« on: December 03, 2014, 08:54:48 PM »
So, I've been using Avast for a few years now with no problems. The other day my Avast updated to the newest version, and everything was fine. I eventually turned off my laptop and restarted it, but suddenly I had no connection to the internet. My ethernet cable connection just didn't work, it said I was connected to a network, but I had no internet access.

I went to our college IT department after trying a lot of stuff to no avail (even going as far as reinstalling Avast, uninstalling and reinstalling the adapter, drivers, etc), but even with the IT guys help we were unable to make any progress on it, no matter what we tried we could not get the ethernet connection to work.

I came back and started fiddling around with the firewall (he told me the firewall may be interfering with the driver downloads, which it wasn't). I messed around a bit, and suddenly my internet connection was up and running again. Being pretty dumb, I didn't really remember exactly what steps I took when I fixed it, but restarting the computer, I noticed something kinda odd.

When I booted up to the desktop (I have my computer set to boot to the desktop), I noticed a window popped up and vanished. Once again my internet connection was not working. Again I went into Avast, and this time I decided to just turn the firewall off and restart my computer. Lo and behold, my internet connection was once again working, eventually the dialog box asking me to connect to the network (from Avast's firewall) popped up and I accepted it and told it to remember the network.

I'm somewhat computer savvy, but far from an expert, and it's fixed for the time being (and I guess I can use the old "disable firewall, restart computer" trick every time I need too), but I wanted to post this here for a few reasons.