Author Topic: AVAST Free and Powessere.A  (Read 2024 times)

REDACTED

AVAST Free and Powessere.A
« on: December 15, 2014, 07:58:16 PM »
I posted this in AVAST Free and then I found this forum... Sorry

Greetings:

I have been running the free version of AVAST for many years now and I have trusted the software to do its job well.

However, last week I noticed a sudden increase of CPU activity to nearly 100% and disk activity spiked to a very high rate as well. When I brought up the Windows resource monitor I noticed network activity was also running amok and odd processes were connecting to various internet servers and generating a lot of traffic.

Come to find out I had an infection that was writing thousands of small files and directories into my TEMP folder. It most likely occurred last Tuesday or Wednesday and I noticed the change in computer behavior right away. I do not recall that I visited any 'shady' websites outside of my usual browsing practices.

As I terminated processes to try and mitigate network traffic, the infection would simply hop to another process and continue its work.

I took the network interface off line and ran a full scan using current and patched AVAST; it found nothing. I scheduled a boot time scan and it found nothing as well. I also ran Malwarebytes and CC Cleaner in an attempt to ferret out the problem; neither of those packages found a problem as well.

Another thing I noticed trying to download files while the infection was active. I would get a message that my current settings would not allow file downloads. Investigation showed that the infection would reset my IE 11 security settings to a Custom level that allowed programs to execute at will. When I reset it to Medium / High (the default recommendations by IE 11), things would return to normal, but on restarting the PC the IE 11 custom settings would return.