Author Topic: Avast keeps flagging URL:Mal  (Read 4137 times)

REDACTED

Avast keeps flagging URL:Mal
« on: June 03, 2015, 11:33:06 PM »
In just the same way as many others, every minute or two I get a warning flag for URL:Mal, pointing to file rundll32.exe. I ran all the recommended tools MWB, FRST64, aswmbr last night, but did not get as far as posting scan logs. When I booted up this evening there was a blissful pause before the warnings started. I have run all these again this evening and will post the logs (I can post yesterday's logs too if it helps). I rebooted after MWB and again I have a period of no warnings. I do not think this will last, and I will try to observe what might trigger them.

I would be very grateful if you could help me out. Please let me know if there is anything more you need from me.

Thanks guys & girls, please keep instructions to me clear and basic, I'm no expert.

Dave

Offline TwinHeadedEagle

• Malware Removal Expert
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
    • Zemana
Re: Avast keeps flagging URL:Mal
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2015, 11:34:18 PM »
Hello,

How this issue started?
My help is free, however if you'd like to show your appreciation by leaving a donation, it will be much appreciated ------> DONATE

REDACTED

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2015, 11:50:59 PM »
Hello THE, thanks for reading and responding,

Not sure how it started. I do download missed/unavailable TV programmes as torrents, and these are full of dodgy links and useless downloads, unfortunately. Avast usually does a great job of intervening and preventing trouble. Also have a daughter using PC, so who knows? When the messages started I think it was winexplorer.exe that was pointed to, but now it's rundll32.

Running Win8.1, by the way.

D

Offline TwinHeadedEagle

• Malware Removal Expert
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
    • Zemana
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2015, 12:01:32 AM »
Fix with Farbar Recovery Scan Tool