Author Topic: Avast reports my app as a virus!  (Read 4369 times)

REDACTED

Avast reports my app as a virus!
« on: January 22, 2017, 09:54:26 PM »
Ok so i load up my development enviroment and continue work on my app, send it to my phone and WHAM avast tells me that RPG Generator has been reported as a suspicious app, now i have had an email before telling me that my app was virus infected and the user uninstalled it and advised all his friends to do the same (it was not a polite email) and i just assumed that they had a virus and decieded to blame me...i have thick skin after all though knowing a user was telling people my app is a virus was annoying a im a lone developer.
So here is my big disclaimer:
My app RPG Generator does not (nor has it ever) contain a virus!
Please stop slandering my apps reputation !
link to the app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mrgreaper2004gmail.rpggenerator

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.

REDACTED

Re: Avast reports my app as a virus!
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2017, 10:06:51 PM »
This would mean submitting each version of my app as i release......
Right now im on my laptop out and about, i have no access to my past builds, clearly something has gone wrong with thier detection system, however they are more then free to pull each build from google play (im not sure how you can get an apk file from the store but im guessing there is a way) and test them, they will not find a single virus.

I am sat here wondering how long Avast has been accusing my app of being a virus, how many users saw that message and uninstalled my app as a result of it, how many people see my name and think "ah yes thats the guy that tried to infect my phone"