Author Topic: Need help with virus  (Read 5376 times)

paula reno

Need help with virus
« on: October 18, 2007, 01:35:30 AM »
I'm really new at this.  I ran a thorough scan with Avast! and got a virus message that said to move to chest.  I thought I did, but it came back two more times with the same virus note and at the end of the scan said an error occurred during moving the file to the chest, so it's still in my system, I found out on rescanning.  The malware name was Whale-9216, Virus/Worm, with a VPS version listed.  The line telling the location of the file was so long I couldn't see all that was listed for file location.  What do I need to do?  Thank you for any help.  paula :-[

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Need help with virus
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2007, 01:42:38 AM »
If a virus is replicant (coming and coming again), you could follow the general cleaning procedure:

1. Disable System Restore on Windows ME or Windows XP. System Restore cannot be disabled on Windows 9x and it's not available in Windows 2k. After boot you can enable System Restore again after step 3.

2. Clean your temporary files. You can use CleanUp or the Windows Advanced Care features for that.

3. Schedule a boot time scanning with avast. Start avast! > Right click the skin > Schedule a boot-time scanning. Select for scanning archives. Boot. Other option is scanning in SafeMode (repeatedly press F8 while booting).

4. It will be good if you download, install, update and run AVG Antispyware. Some users recommend SUPERantispyware, Spyware Terminator and/or a-squared (take care about false positives).
If any infection is detected, better and safer is send the file to Quarantine than to simple delete than.

5. If you still detecting any strange behavior or even you're sure you're not clean, maybe it will be good to test your machine with anti-rootkit applications. I suggest AVG or Panda.