Author Topic: avast!: Data of this type is not suported  (Read 4694 times)

Avasthigno

avast!: Data of this type is not suported
« on: January 28, 2009, 06:25:36 PM »
Hi to everyone,

I am new with Avast. Avast today found infected .zip archive but failed to delete or move it to chest (please look at picture 1). In the same time archive could be deleted to Recycle Bin using standard deletion method. Also, when I extracted the archive which contained infected .exe file Avast detected it and could delete file or move it to chest?  ???

So, I am a little bit confused. Why Avast failed to delete .rar archive but could delete .exe file that archive contained?

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: avast!: Data of this type is not suported
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 07:08:25 PM »
I don't really know, it may be that it couldn't extract the problem within what is a second archive (the self_extracting_archive.exe) when it might possibly corrupt the original.

You also mention .rar but this seems to have been .zip, there are occasions when avast has problems woth .rar archives, normally when they are multi-level archives.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Avasthigno

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 08:15:07 PM »
Hi David, thanks for helping.

I mention .rar by mistake. The archive is in .zip format.

The .exe file is infected with Win32:Trojan-gen {Other}. Is it detected by Avast's heuristic? Some well-known antiviruses cannot even detect this malware (picture 2)

I am not an expert but it seems to me that it is a very interesting peace of malware. Also, in my humble opinion the cause of the problem is malware itself.  If someone in Alwil is willing to look at this malware I will be happy to send it.

Offline igor