Author Topic: Dropper Trojan: Can't move to chest/remove  (Read 5781 times)

masono

Dropper Trojan: Can't move to chest/remove
« on: September 04, 2009, 05:29:41 PM »
Hi, first let me say I'm a complete layman with this stuff so you'll have to go slow with me...

So, both Avast and AdAware have detected C:\WINDOWS\Temp\wpv731245771011.exe as a dropper Trojan on my PC, but both also seem unable to move it to the chest or delete it. I found something that looks similar here http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=47604.0 and have deleted my system restore points as in that thread but still can't get rid of it.

I orginally ran an Avast scan when my comp was doing weird things with my input devises. If i clicked an icon with the mouse it'd select all icons up to that one and open them. If I typed with capslock off it would be on and visa versa, if i typed quickly random letters were in capitals, shift keys didnt work etc etc. That scan brought up a bunch of trojans and cleared them, still had the problem. I deleted my Temp files and suddenly it seemed to clear up, no idea why. So basically now I have no signs of a virus when I use my PC, but its still  finding that dropper....help please!

Attatched is latest log from Hijackthis.

Any help much appreciated, thanks.

O

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Dropper Trojan: Can't move to chest/remove
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 05:35:04 PM »
If a virus is replicant (coming and coming again), you could follow the general cleaning procedure:

1. Clean your temporary files. You can use CleanUp or CCleaner for that.

2. Schedule a boot time scanning with avast. Start avast! > Right click the skin > Schedule a boot-time scanning. Select for scanning archives. Boot. Other option is scanning in SafeMode (repeatedly press F8 while booting).
If avast does not detect it, you can try DrWeb CureIT! instead.