Author Topic: Help!!!!!!  (Read 2587 times)

kirkcaldy lass

Help!!!!!!
« on: December 01, 2009, 02:53:30 PM »
Hiya,
Until recently i only found out that after a year you have to register again as a friend of mine had installed avast for me.
So anyway i registered and was sent the license number. So i put the number in and it said it was accepted.
But now there is no avast icon on my desktop, theres a picture of a file i think! Just out of curiosity i started up avast and went into registration but theres no registration number in the box its just blank!
I hope I'm making sense but I'm new to computing and to scared to do anything until I'm sure what to do. Could it be a case of uninstalling avast then trying again? I'm really not sure what to do so anyones advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Offline Chris Thomas

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Help!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 04:42:23 PM »
If you can't figure it out.

Then uninstall avast and install it fresh. After the install is complete and restarted, just run the program.

When the enter License Key box appears, click on register.

Your web browser will open and lead you to a registeration page.

Fill in your details and submit it.

You'll receive a free license key in the inbox of the' email id you've entered in the forum.

You may not receive the license key if you are using some sort of spam filter. In this case, you need to add register@avast.com as one of your trusted ones.

Just copy the license key.

Start the avast program again, click on license, paste this license.

You finished.

Just don't mess with any setting for another one year.

:) :) :) :) :)

I hope this helps you well.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2009, 05:56:18 PM »