Author Topic: Outlook multiple accounts  (Read 9459 times)

hubevolution

Outlook multiple accounts
« on: October 16, 2003, 12:14:13 PM »
I am using Outlook to retireve and send emails from/to multiple accounts and each account uses his own pop3/smtp server combination ... avast asked me for just one pop3 and smtp server and seems like he wants to use it for all my accounts.

It is a way to make avast use for each account the specified pop3/smtp server instead of the one it asked me in the wizard ?

Thanks

ToBas

Re:Outlook multiple accounts
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2003, 02:21:02 PM »
It's not the best documented installation for Outlook, is it? As a newbie, I went through the same earlier this week. I had the same impression that I was supposed to be doing something in Outlook or that I would at least notice the server's changed to 127.0.0.1 and the login name changed to include the server name.

Turns out if you're using Outlook, virus checking is automatic and there's nothing you need to do with 127.0.0.1 or pop3 addresses. As I understand it, if you're using outlook and you get avast!'s splash screen when you start Outlook, you're protected (assuming you haven't changed any options and disabled email checking).

hubevolution

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2003, 02:58:40 PM »
well the problem is that avast seems to open his own pop3 and smtp on loopback and use it as filters to check in/outgoing mails so when you run the wizard it sets all pop3/smtp settings to reflect this situation ... but it only uses one external pop3/smtp server !
I need to use different pop3/smtp server for each account and now I can just receive from all accounts but send only through one !

Another question that cames to my mind is this : does avast pop3/smtp services accept connections only from real loopback or I have to worry about ppl spoofing IP (127.0.0.1) and using avast as a spam proxy on my internet IP ?

thanks

ToBas

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2003, 03:52:49 PM »