Author Topic: Can't send mail suddenly  (Read 10479 times)

tweakermonkey

Can't send mail suddenly
« on: December 31, 2003, 12:09:09 AM »
I am using avast with OE in XP Home. If I enable avast to scan outgoing mail my mail never leaves my computer. I receive mail scanned by avast just fine. OE sends the mail and even places a copy in the sent folder and avast scans it, it just doesn't go to the server. No errors are noted anywhere. If I disable scanning of outgoing mail OE works fine. I have uninstalled avast and deleted my accounts in OE then started from scratch. Still no mail leaves my computer. I have run the mail setup wizard dozens of times. All settings in OE and the avast ini file appear to be correct. I have been running avast for 6 months without problems. Any idea of how to proceed?

Walker

Re:Can't send mail suddenly
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2003, 12:54:09 AM »
Puerly on hand of what you have said tweaker, a couple of questions:-

How do you know mail isn't going to the server (your recipients don't get it or you have tested with a message to yourself?)

If you haven't changed any settings, has your ISP changed their requirements.. . perhaps smtp autorisation?

Don't undersatand why you don't get an error msg!  :-\

W.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2003, 12:57:55 AM by Walker »

tweakermonkey

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2003, 01:08:18 AM »
Both myself and others never receive mail, the email in my sent folder does not have the clean message from avast either. No my ISP hasn't changed their requirements. I have checked all settings dozens of times, re-installed avast, and re-created my email accounts in OE. Something must be corrupt, but what?

Walker

« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2003, 01:12:37 AM »
Tweaker,

I know little about OE.. . don't use it. But isn't OE automatically protected by Avast ie you don't need to adjust settings !?.

Hopefully the 'OE knowledgeable guys will comment  ;)

W.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot