Author Topic: JS:Banker-IC help  (Read 39185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Mephitidae

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #105 on: July 03, 2012, 12:01:33 AM »
so on a machine with a static manually assigned ip/dns this virus does nothing? even if still present?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88786
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #106 on: July 03, 2012, 12:04:13 AM »
DCHP is enabled by default on Vista and 7 but I am not overly sure about XP ...  Need to check that out

The DHCP service  is started Automatically on my XP Pro SP3, certainly don't recall ever setting it to Automatic, I'm usually the revers in either disabling or setting services I don't need (blackviper) to manual just in case.

I don't have a local network setup, though I have two computers they aren't networked, my second connects by WiFi to my router.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4142
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #107 on: July 03, 2012, 12:45:23 AM »
Very recent XP install shows the service as automatic so I would say it is set that way by default.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2012, 12:47:23 AM by oldman »

Mephitidae

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #108 on: July 03, 2012, 05:28:43 AM »
how that fix worked i'll never know  :o  windows is a strange creature in the world of OSen ...

but many thx for the fix  8)

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #109 on: July 03, 2012, 02:27:31 PM »
So it has now disappeared ?

Mephitidae

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #110 on: July 03, 2012, 04:32:30 PM »
i was already in the habit of deleting the file on each boot to shut the notifications up but it would always redownload on the next boot... now it doesnt...

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #111 on: July 03, 2012, 04:43:23 PM »
Well that was a journey around the mysteries of windows networking... Once you are happy let me know and I will remove all my rubbish

Mephitidae

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #112 on: July 03, 2012, 05:01:47 PM »
rubbish? just dont delete the ultimate fix for the googlers out there.... still have this haunting feeling that it will pop up again... call me paranoid :P

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #113 on: July 03, 2012, 05:14:39 PM »
Nope I will just remove all the tools that you have downloaded  ;D

Subject to no further problems   :)

I will remove my tools now and give some recommendations, but, I would like you to run for 24 hours or so and come back if you have any problems 

Now the best part of the day ----- Your log now appears clean  :thumbsup:

A good workman always cleans up after himself so..The following will implement some cleanup procedures as well as reset  System Restore points:

Run OTL
  • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following
    Quote
    :OTL
    [2012/06/23 16:33:26 | 000,000,000 | ---D | C] -- C:\ProgramData\Kaspersky Lab
    [2012/06/22 20:35:51 | 004,731,392 | ---- | C] (AVAST Software) -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\aswMBR.exe
    [2012/07/02 13:09:51 | 000,650,240 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\MicrosoftFixit50199.msi
    [2012/06/29 18:31:33 | 000,139,264 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\SystemLook.exe
    [2012/06/25 14:32:55 | 000,000,220 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\http.reg
    [2012/06/24 14:01:50 | 000,011,518 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\avptool_sysinfo.zip
    [2012/06/23 16:32:25 | 137,641,400 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\setup_11.0.0.1245.x01_2012_06_24_00_42.exe
    [2012/06/23 15:36:53 | 000,294,216 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\gmer.zip
    [2012/06/23 14:57:03 | 000,340,609 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\FSS.exe
    [2012/06/22 21:25:34 | 000,000,512 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\MBR.dat
    [2012/06/22 20:36:28 | 004,731,392 | ---- | M] (AVAST Software) -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\aswMBR.exe
    [2012/06/23 15:34:22 | 000,302,592 | ---- | C] () -- C:\Users\Arnand\Desktop\gmer.exe

    :Commands
    [resethosts]
    [emptytemp]
    [Reboot]
  • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
  • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
Remove ComboFix

  • Hold down the Windows key + R on your keyboard. This will display the Run dialogue box
  • In the Run box, type in ComboFix /Uninstall (Notice the space between the "x" and "/") then click OK



  • Follow the prompts on the screen
  • A message should appear confirming that ComboFix was uninstalled
Run OTL and hit the cleanup button.  It will remove all the programmes we have used plus itself. 

We will now confirm that your hidden files are set to that, as some of the tools I use will change that
  • Go to control panel
  • Select folder options (Appearance > Folder options in category view)
  • Select the View Tab.
  • Under the Hidden files and folders heading select Do not show hidden files and folders.
  • Click Yes to confirm.
  • Click OK.

Your Java is out of date. Older versions have vulnerabilities that malware can use to infect your system.
Please follow these steps to remove older version of Java components and upgrade the application.

 Upgrading Java:
  • Go to this site  and click Do I have Java
  • It will check your current version and then offer to update to the latest version
SPRING CLEAN

To manually create a new Restore Point
 
  • Go to Control Panel and select System
  • Select System
  • On the left select System Protection and accept the warning if you get one
  • Select System Protection Tab
  • Select Create at the bottom
  • Type in a name i.e. Clean
  • Select Create
Now we can purge the infected ones
  • GoStart > All programs > Accessories > system tools
  • Right click Disc cleanup and select run as administrator
  • Select Your main drive and accept the warning if you get one
  • For a few moments the system will make some calculations
  • Select the More Options tab
  • In the System Restore and Shadow Backups select Clean up
  • Select Delete on the pop up
  • Select OK
  • Select Delete
Now that you are clean, to help protect your computer in the future I recommend that you get the following free programmes:

Malwarebytes.  Update and run weekly to keep your system clean

Download and install FileHippo update checker and run it monthly it will show you which programmes on your system need updating and give a download link

It is critical to have both a firewall and anti virus to protect your system and to keep them updated. To keep your operating system up to date visit
To learn more about how to protect yourself while on the internet read our little guide  How did I get infected in the first place ?

Keep safe  :wave:

dallasa

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #114 on: July 03, 2012, 08:27:09 PM »
Alrighty then, everything is back to normal. Once again thank you so much for your help, especially considering that this seemed to be a previously unknown infection!

gpearson

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #115 on: July 04, 2012, 01:15:33 PM »
OK... I tried this from the command prompt on Windows 7 & this is what I saw...

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\OEM>ipconfig/release

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its me
dia disconnected.

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b12d:11c3:898e:4545%11
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1cb1:21d:85c3:208
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1cb1:21d:85c3:208%13
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

C:\Users\OEM>ipconfig/renew

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its me
dia disconnected.

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : gateway.2wire.net
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b12d:11c3:898e:4545%11
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254

Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:b5:c91:3f57:febf
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b5:c91:3f57:febf%13
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

It appears to have found my Ethernet LAN but I'm still getting the Avast poup error.

Does the above tell anybody anything? Like.. am I doing something wrong?

Geoff Pearson

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #116 on: July 04, 2012, 03:12:24 PM »
Did you run from an elevated command prompt ?

If you had the start point would have been C:\Windows\system32 and not C:\Users\OEM

Plus we will need to determine if a TCPIP point should be removed


michals23

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #117 on: July 04, 2012, 06:49:58 PM »
I have the same problem, although I use an elevated command prompt and TCPIP is removed.

gpearson

  • Guest
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #118 on: July 09, 2012, 09:49:27 AM »
Hello All,

I tried this fix but, I still have this problem on my Win 7 Professional PC. I am not an OS or Internet wizard & I'm confused but. Can anyone tell me...

1) Is this actually a virus?

2) If affirmative, what exactly is the perceived threat?

3) How come only Avast is affected? ie. is it an Avast problem?

4) How come none of the other AV scans pick it up?

5) Would it be a safe assumption that if I change my AV program to say... Norton, I would be just as well protected as any other Norton user?

Any insight appreciated.

Geoff Pearson

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5509
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: JS:Banker-IC help
« Reply #119 on: July 09, 2012, 12:08:44 PM »
Hello All,

I tried this fix but, I still have this problem on my Win 7 Professional PC. I am not an OS or Internet wizard & I'm confused but. Can anyone tell me...

1) Is this actually a virus?

2) If affirmative, what exactly is the perceived threat?

3) How come only Avast is affected? ie. is it an Avast problem?

4) How come none of the other AV scans pick it up?

5) Would it be a safe assumption that if I change my AV program to say... Norton, I would be just as well protected as any other Norton user?

Any insight appreciated.

Geoff Pearson
Hi gpearson,

As this infection was new to essexboy and others,it did take a little more time to get a successful repair and fix here.

As for point #5, at the time this thread was started, only Avast! was able to detect this infection.  You can, of course, remove Avast!, and thus not get alerts anymore, but the infection will still remain on your system.  I would choose to get the infection cleared first, and then go and get another a/v if that is what I thought was best.

If you wish to get help here for this, please start your own topic in this section by going to "New Topic" button upper right.  Please see and read http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0 and attach all logs produced by Malwarebytes, OTL, and aswMBR in your new topic.

As malware is changed, in some cases almost hourly, this infection may not be exactly the same as the one essexboy dealt with here, and thus the repair may/may not work for you.  Fixes made by essexboy and others are always custom-made only for the system affected; attempting to repair using the custom fix can damage your system.

Once the logs are posted, please do not make any changes to your system other than those requested by the malware expert assisting you.  This will make cleaning and repairing your system much easier, and at far lower risk of system damage than otherwise.

Quote from essexboy, page 7, same thread as this one:
Quote
This is definitely something new, it appears to be an attempt at the man in the middle type malware (only used by Flame so far)

But thanks to your perseverence and assistance I may now be able to fix this in just two or three posts, so you have been a great help

Let me know tomorrow if it is still OK and then I will remove all the rubbish I have put on your system

Once again Thanks  ;D
So someone is in the middle between you and the internet, possibly intercepting your data transfers, user passwords, etc.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2012, 12:18:30 PM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 22H2 Avast Premier Security version 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.88821.762)  UI version 1.0.797
 UI version 1.0.788.  Windows 11 Home 23H2 - Windows 11 Pro 23H2 Avast Premier Security version 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.88821.762) UI version 1.0.797