Author Topic: Problem at first start of Avast  (Read 3450 times)

raney

Problem at first start of Avast
« on: December 31, 2004, 01:36:48 AM »
Hi I am very confused. I am a newbie, I loaded Avast yesterday and then immediately uninstalled it, and that is when my computer got veeery sloow. Can enyone help me with this. I can only get onto the internet after about five minutes of waiting, I have 42 programs running in Windows Manager, can I delete those exes in the process tab? is that normal ??? And is there any way of solving this problem? I have missed yesterdays work, am missing work right now, and will probably miss work tomorrow.
I liked the virus scanner feature, and would probably use that instead of doing the full download of Avast 4.Home, I don't think I will try that again, until I am more familiar with these types of programs, it just seemed to have an overwhelming amoutnt of features, and would require some more time to learn.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Problem at first start of Avast
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2004, 01:50:17 AM »
If you completely want to uninstall Avast, use the uninstall util from the website. But I suggest to install Avast and spend a little time reading the help, the website and this board to make yourself familiar with the options it gives you as user.

techie101

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2004, 02:00:17 AM »
rany,
I will do my best to answer your questions.

I loaded Avast ......and then immediately uninstalled it, and that is when my computer got veeery sloow.
Um....How did you uninstall Avast?  Did you have any other Antivirus software on your computer before Avast?
What is your OS?  Sometimes, if an installation is not successful, a computer might run slow until Avast is repaired, but you said you uninstalled it THEN it ran slow.
Right?

I can only get onto the internet after about five minutes of waiting