Author Topic: shall i get rid of ONE NOTE  (Read 2393 times)

agentstar

shall i get rid of ONE NOTE
« on: June 26, 2012, 11:37:06 AM »
I WENT IN MSCONFIG  startup  and unticked  groove monitor so as to get rid of it from  task manager

i also want to get rid of one note (i think its part of OFFICE thing  ..shall i do that, to get rid of it? because i am not a computer expert i only use word to write letters etc  i am not using forms etc....

i am thinking of getting rid of it because if a hacker gets into my computer he can use the command things to type in and access things there ? is it a security risk item for me ?

SafeSurf

Re: shall i get rid of ONE NOTE
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 11:05:15 AM »
The proper way to uninstall Groove Monitor, which is part of Office, is to go to Add/Remove Programs, and remove it that way.  By going to start up, you only removed it from Start up, which it automatically does anyway.  Reboot.

To uninistall One Note, which is also part of Office, https://office.microsoft.com/en-us/onenote-help/install-or-remove-individual-office-programs-and-components-HA010354261.aspx. Reboot.

Keep in mind that unless you have another program similar to Word or Office, you will not be able to write things.

is it a security risk item for me ?
Anything is a security risk.  Browse the forums to learn more and feel free to ask questions.  We are here to help you learn and help those with problems.  Having Avast as an Antivirus (AV) or AIS (Antivirus with Firewall) is a start.  But there are many other things you can do to keep yourself safer like having a good firewall.  Start learning by browsing the forum and doing searches here on the forum.

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
Re: shall i get rid of ONE NOTE
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 11:40:06 AM »
Hi agentstar,