Author Topic: Free version sandboxing while I'm trying to game  (Read 2592 times)

Eggi

Free version sandboxing while I'm trying to game
« on: June 27, 2012, 05:42:02 PM »
 :-[ I work in IT and have for years recommended both the free and paid versions of Avast, free for home users and paid for business users. I swore by it, said it wouldn't hog system resources and that it would do a great job protecting their computers. I used it on all my computers and have loved it, UNTIL the latest update. I have uber fast internet because both my son and I game, we usually have multiple browser windows open, and most of the time he is streaming some of his games. But after the latest update of Avasts free version I have been experiencing major lag, at first I thought it was something else I checked speeds and stability of my connection and that was fine, did a check of my system well everything there seemed to be running ok and then when I went to open up a new game I had started playing (Tera) Avast blocked it and said it was running it in sandbox mode. Well I have the free version on my home computer and when I checked sand boxing was supposed to be a paid option yet here I was being trapped by this. I tried shutting off every option I could each time I ticked a box to shut something off I would try again, so now not only was I experiencing major game lag but one game it wouldn't even let me get into, even after I added the game its file location its website everything to the safe applications web sites to be allowed. After pretty much shutting everything off in Avast and still having trouble getting the game to run smoothly including the other online MMO's I try to play I uninstalled Avast as my last test. The games then loaded fine played fine, no lag no hic ups no delayed 5 minute response times (yes that is a bit of an exaggeration)