Author Topic: Unable to register  (Read 27240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Precious

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • I am not a llama I'm a very fluffy bunny
Unable to register
« on: January 01, 2005, 02:53:05 AM »
 :) A very happy new year to you!

Hello I am new to the forum.  I have just downloaded avast home and everything was going smoothly until I came to register the product.  The email was sent and I pasted the code into the appropriate box but was told that it was invalid.

I would be grateful for some help please

Precious x
Lurve Precious

Offline niko

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Petit lézard
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2005, 03:02:26 AM »
Hi Precious, happy new year 2005 !
You should try to enter your license key manualy :-\
When you check AV you choose Avast!

Offline Precious

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • I am not a llama I'm a very fluffy bunny
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2005, 03:04:28 AM »
I tried that and it didn't make any difference  :(


btw I'm not really a llama
Lurve Precious

Offline niko

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 448
  • Petit lézard
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2005, 03:17:15 AM »
Sorry Precious but your pb is...amazing
The better way I think is to reload Avast! home edition and re-install it...with a new license key :o
When you check AV you choose Avast!

Offline Precious

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • I am not a llama I'm a very fluffy bunny
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2005, 04:15:16 AM »

I have tried that as well I'm afraid
Sorry what is my pb and why is it amazing?

Lurve Precious

Offline Vlad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2005, 04:37:41 AM »
Hi,

I could not register my key too. I got licence key is invalid.
Any help?
 ???

Offline pallbear

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2005, 07:08:38 AM »
I'm having the same problem too. I have tried everything including cutting and pasting the key, manually typing in the key, registering, uninstalling and reinstalling and asking for a license again (three times from one email address and once from a different one). This resulted in two different keys but neither one works and after I installed the program the second time I can't even use it in demo mode it just closes.

I'm going to write to support.

Offline StellarStu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2005, 07:23:02 AM »
I am having the same problem.  Registration number sent via email is invalid.

Using XP Home SP 2.  AMD 3100, 160GB, 512MB, AVast 4.5 Home

WIll wait for tech support to reply.

Offline darkcat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2005, 11:37:52 AM »
I get the impression that the 'bot is not sending out valid registration codes/keys for those of us who downloaded and installed today, the first of January.

Will tech support proactively send out replacements or workarounds to those of us who attempted registration in, say, the last 9 and a half hours?

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2005, 11:48:00 AM »
Hi and welcome darkcat
as you san probably tell there`s a lot of validation issues at present
all i can say as a forum member is its unusual to see this sort of problem but given the fact that its new year we may well not see a remedy until tomorrow so i can only suggest you sit tight and stay in demo mode until the problem is fixed
your first notice would be in announcements forum probably
Hope this helps
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline DamienMcBain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2005, 12:03:37 PM »
Same problem here.

I was recommended this s/w, beginning to wonder why. What kind of a software company can't get something simple like this right. No wonder they give it away for free.

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2005, 12:10:20 PM »
The choice is as it should be all in your hands . if you feel you can do better elsewhere then so be it. As i said in previous post this is most unusual .
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline darkcat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2005, 12:33:18 PM »
How would I put avast home into demo mode?

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2005, 12:37:43 PM »
my understanding is that when asked for validation key, you also have the option to continue as demo for 60 days if you have not registered product. i hope this is the case
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline darkcat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:Unable to register
« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2005, 12:42:52 PM »
Well, the first time I tried to open the desktop object, and all subsequent, it has asked for the registration code.  I downloaded and installed today (post midnight, local time).  I did not get the 60 day opportunity.  Not sure why.  I would love to put the application through its paces, and since it is at 4.x and climbing, I get the impression this is a fairly decent product.  I am not a fan of either Symantec or Computer Associate's offerings any more, though I am a fan of what Trend has from my days as an Exchange admin.