Author Topic: Avast 7 - Webrep installed without my permission  (Read 4117 times)

DorkKnight

Avast 7 - Webrep installed without my permission
« on: April 12, 2012, 10:25:57 PM »
Hello,

I just upgraded from Avast 6 to Avast 7 using the Avast interface. I am not a complainer, particularly when I get a free software product, but this really does irk me... so much so that I had to sign-up here.

I ran through the steps to install Avast 7 today, and specifically chose the option to NOT install Webrep. Unfortunately, Avast 7 seems to think my opinion doesn't count, so it has installed Webrep in ALL MY BROWSERS - even Chrome Canary.

I am a web application developer, and I have to be very careful about what plugins or addons I install in my browsers. I watch plugins and extensions carefully because I often run web performance / diagnostic tests in all browsers on websites and web applications, and I don't want any plugins installed which could adversely affect my browser's performance.

This is a serious problem for the product IMO. Installing software and browser addons against my wishes is a nasty and deceptive behavior for a software company. I'm fairly sure this is the result of a bug in Avast 7 or in the installer, but it needs to be addressed nonetheless.

Avast 7 installed from Avast 6, Win XP SP3, Chrome, Firefox, IE and Safari were affected.

Offline pk

• Avast team
  • Super Poster
Re: Avast 7 - Webrep installed without my permission
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 10:42:06 PM »
Hello,
I also don't like the fact a software installs some components/plugins without my knowing it. If it happened, then it wasn't done on purpose. Webrep was a separated component which you could choose in avast6 setup and it was renamed to "Browser Protection" in avast7 and this feature includes "WebRep + browsers autosandboxing + phising filter". So, did you really unchecked "Browser Protection" in avast7 setup? If not, WebRep was installed on your computer.