Author Topic: Widows firewall on Avast IS?  (Read 2618 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tommytinkroom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • The Dirty Boys
Widows firewall on Avast IS?
« on: July 06, 2012, 02:28:33 PM »
Hi,
Is it ok to have Windows firewall on and have Avast IS firewall on at the same time,
or should i disable the Windows firewall.
My os is Windows 7 home premium 64bit sp1.
Thanks in advance for any info.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2012, 06:36:01 PM by tommytinkroom »
Widows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit/i5 intel processor/8gb Ram/640 harddrive/Graphics intel HD3000/

Offline True Indian

  • Malware Hunter
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 710
  • A Good Old Indian!
Re: Widows firewall on Avast IS?hI
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2012, 02:30:30 PM »
my recommendation is to turn off win firewall..as it may conflict :)

Online CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11096
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Widows firewall on Avast IS?hI
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2012, 02:40:26 PM »
my recommendation is to turn off win firewall..as it may conflict :)
Actually the avast firewall is designed to work with the windows firewall, avast firewall does not support ipv6.

Offline tommytinkroom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • The Dirty Boys
Re: Widows firewall on Avast IS?
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2012, 06:38:07 PM »
Thanks for the info. ;)
Widows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit/i5 intel processor/8gb Ram/640 harddrive/Graphics intel HD3000/

Offline guta89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Widows firewall on Avast IS?
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2012, 06:38:43 PM »
Turn off Windows firewall.

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Widows firewall on Avast IS?
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2012, 06:50:11 PM »
Turn off Windows firewall.

No need to.  AIS firewall is designed to work with Windows 7 firewall.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Online CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11096
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Widows firewall on Avast IS?
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2012, 07:03:25 PM »