Author Topic: I'm Clueless on this - help  (Read 31448 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #30 on: January 07, 2005, 02:31:55 AM »
In fact it was not that easy but we win togheter...
Patience wins ever  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline zeus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm lamma!
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #31 on: January 07, 2005, 02:37:05 AM »
tech I right cllicked on the ball and then left click on start anti avastvirus and that same stupid  messaged popped up !

Offline zeus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm lamma!
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #32 on: January 08, 2005, 01:22:40 AM »
Still have this same problem



Q: I have installed avast! 4 Home and everytime I try to open it, I get an "unknown error message", "Application cannot load skin. Function usiGetSkin Failed". How do I fix this?

A:

   1. Select START -> RUN...
   2. Enter the following command:
          * If you have Windows NT or 2000:
            C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
          * If you have Windows 95, 98 or ME:
            C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
          * If you have Windows XP:
            C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\REGSVR32.EXE ACTSKIN4.OCX
   3. Press OK (or Enter).
   4. A message saying that the file was successfully registered should appear.


this did not work for me a window popped up saying :

RegSvr32
DllRegisterserver in ACTSKIN4.OCX failed.
Return Code was :  0x80020009


Offline zeus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm lamma!
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #33 on: January 10, 2005, 04:25:42 PM »
Should I UNISTALL and then INSTALL this program again.......

Offline Gillie2tat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.
    • Tatting at Bella Online
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #34 on: January 10, 2005, 05:00:03 PM »
No you've already tried that, and it didn't work.  Wait for Technical, he'll come back to you as soon as he can.  Best to leave things as they are and follow his advice when he posts.

Offline zeus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm lamma!
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #35 on: January 10, 2005, 05:05:14 PM »
Okay.
Just a lil unease at the moment since I unistalled Norton outta my system
and am not even sure if avast is actually running .

Offline Gillie2tat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.
    • Tatting at Bella Online
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #36 on: January 10, 2005, 08:51:21 PM »
Are you seeing a blue ball or are you seeing the blue ball with a little X in a white circle over it?  Your earlier postings suggest you're seeing the blue ball.  If it's got the X in a circle over it, then it's not working.

Try clicking the right mouse button on the blue ball, then click the left mouse button on On Access Protection Control.  Click on each icon on the left hand side and check to see if it says "the provider is currently running" at the top of the dialogue box.  If not which ones are not working and what messages does the dialogue box give?
« Last Edit: January 10, 2005, 08:55:05 PM by Gillie2tat »

Offline zeus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm lamma!
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #37 on: January 10, 2005, 09:01:22 PM »
when I click on them I see the run time is running
I see that the "stantard shield" has
a "scanned count" of 19186 with a
"infected count" as 6.
Provider Configuration : should I change that to a high ?

I'm going through my programs here and I have
Liveupdate 2.5 (symantec corporation) in the list of programs along with LivReg (symantec corporation),
was I or am I suppose to delete these also?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #38 on: January 10, 2005, 09:11:20 PM »
I'm going through my programs here and I have
Liveupdate 2.5 (symantec corporation) in the list of programs along with LivReg (symantec corporation),
was I or am I suppose to delete these also?

If you don't have any other Symantec product anymore you should uninstall (not delete) the LiveUpdate feature...
It will be good a Registry cleaning afterwards...  ::) :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline zeus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm lamma!
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #39 on: January 10, 2005, 09:17:27 PM »
the only option that  it s giving me is to remove it from my computer

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #40 on: January 10, 2005, 09:31:20 PM »
the only option that  it s giving me is to remove it from my computer

LiveUpdate?
Ok, if you don't have other Symantec product anymore you could remove it...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Gillie2tat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.
    • Tatting at Bella Online
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #41 on: January 10, 2005, 11:34:36 PM »
One thing before we go any further with setting the on access protection control, we need to check your computer's RAM and speed.

I am assuming you have Windows XP, so can you go to Start, and click your right mouse button on My Computer, then in the menu that comes up please click your left mouse button on the Properties link at the bottom, and tell us exactly what text you see in the dialogue box.  We need to know everything it says next to Manufactured and supported by.

Sorry Technical if I'm butting in here, it just occurred to me that I read somewhere on the forum quite recently that some of the less powerful computers/operating systems are not happy if you set On Access Protection Control to High as it uses up too many resources.

Also which Service Pack does it say you have, Service Pack 1 or Service Pack 2.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2005, 11:37:13 PM by Gillie2tat »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #42 on: January 11, 2005, 02:57:01 AM »
Sorry Technical if I'm butting in here

You never have to be sorry while helping...
You're right, the system resources are important too  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Gillie2tat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.
    • Tatting at Bella Online
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #43 on: January 11, 2005, 10:05:14 AM »
Thanks Technical!

And yes I agree with Technical, if you don't have any Symantec products running (such as Norton Firewall) then you can uninstall both LiveUpdate and LiveReg.

Go to Start-Control Panel, click on Add/Remove Programs and Hardware, click on the one you want to remove and uninstall through the removal process.

Offline zeus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • I'm lamma!
Re: I'm Clueless on this - help
« Reply #44 on: January 11, 2005, 03:23:57 PM »
I have Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 2
I have a E machine

Also When I goto the programs - the only option it gives me is to remove from my computer not uninstall .  Should I remove it?
Thanks you Guys
I know you s must be thinking what a Pain In the Butt I am.      lol